Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2325 (Misses' Chemise, Robe& Panties) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie
Review submitted in Lingerie Challenge Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 220 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Judy Kski
photo
Friend of PR
About Judy Kskistar
FL USA
Member since: 10/26/08
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/13 7:52 PM
Last Updated:10/31/13 10:12 PM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 2325 by Judy Kski

Kwik Sew: 2325 by Judy Kski  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 2325
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Loungewear    Sleepwear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Tricot  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
This is my entry for the 2013 Lingerie Contest.

Pattern Description: Misses' robe, chemise and panties. Wrap robe has dropped shoulders, front and neckline band, pockets in side seams and tie belt. Bottom edge of sleeves have sleeve bands from lace or sheer finished with lace and optional lace covering seam.

Bias cut princess line chemise has front yoke and flared skirt. Neckline armholes and bottom edge are finished with narrow lace and yoke seam has optional lace covering seam. View A chemise has front yoke from lace or sheer. Bias cut panties have very high cut leg openings, and panel seams have optional lace covering seams. Leg openings and waist have stitched elastic. View A side panels are from lace or sheer.

Front View

Side View

Back View

Pattern Sizing: Sizes: XS - S - M - L - XL. I made Size XL.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, very much like it.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The normal explicite KS instructions. Great as usual.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

LIKES:

- Finishing options with lace. I love working with lace and the femininity that it adds to a garment. This pattern offered an option to replace the front seamline "V" with lace. Since I was working with a pretty stretch lace and a print tricot, I wanted the focus to be on those fabrics. I did finish the rest of the edges with lace though.

DISLIKES:

- This one doesn't apply to the pattern. It's just something I discovered in the process of making the chemise. I don't like the scratchy feel of the lace against my skin. It's 100% polyester so I guess cotton lace would've worked a lot better. Lesson learned.

Fabric Used: The white floral tricot in the main part of the chemise came from a Flea Market in North Carolina. The stretch lace in the yoke is from Denver Fabrics. The underlining for the yoke is tricot from The Sewing Studio in Washington state. I also used this tricot to make a muslin before cutting into the "good" tricot.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

- The addition of underlining to the yoke to help make the flowers on the stretch lace "pop". The tricot fabric was also added because it is a more stable knit than stretch lace. This provided a solid base for the heavier 5/8" Venetian lace that was applied to the neckline and armholes. This lace is made with rayon thread that shines which makes it much prettier than regular lace. The pattern called for narrow lace, but I wanted a very feminine look.

Finished Bodice Close-up
Inside of bodice

- Used SSI Knit Stay Tape (extra lightweight) to stabilize the shoulder seams even though the pattern did call for it. I always stabilize the shoulder seams in knit garments, no matter how stable the knit.

- In order to "tame the lace", I had to hand stitch 26 small darts in the curved sections of the neckline and armholes. Luckily, the hemline required no darts. The following photos show BEFORE and AFTER photos of neckline preparation:

Lace pinned to back of neckline with bumps (BEFORE)
Lace once darts have been added (AFTER)

Lace pinned to front neckline with bumps (BEFORE)
Lace once darts have been added (AFTER)

TIP:

Tricot seamlines get all bunchy when I try to serge them so I wanted a way to stiffen them. I tested these three products for seamline stabilization:

1. Water Soluble Stabilizer - I didn't like having to hold or pin it into the seamline while I was serging.
2. 1/4" Wash Away Wonder Tape - This worked great on straight seams, but not so much when I was trying to work around the curve of the princess seams.
3. Perfect Sew from Palmer/Pletsch - I brushed this thick liquid onto the seam edgess with a 1/2" Artist's flat brush and let it dry. Then I steam pressed the stabilized edges before serging them. It's only necessary to "paint" one edge to get the necessary "stiffness" needed for serging.

Of the three, the Perfect Sew worked best for the purpose of stabilizing the tricot seams. Once I finished making the chemise, I simply hand washed it in Woolite to get rid of the residue.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? It's a great pattern for comfortable sleepwear so I'm sure I'll use it again. With the right fabric, it would make a nice bridal gift. If you like to sew lingerie, this pattern is a keeper.

Conclusion: I bought this 3 1/2 yard piece of tricot at a flea market in North Carolina back in 2001. Prior to the chemise, all I'd made with it was a pair of panties. I wanted to do something more substantial because I love the pastel floral print. It was a joy to work with. As I was hand sewing the lace to the neckline, armholes and hemline, I'd catch the shine of the fabric and the play of color from the flowers out of the corner of my eye and it made me feel happy. What a wonderful hobby this is to evoke such feelings.

Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
That's a fantastic little nightie!!!!
10/31/13 9:50 PM
Baja Susana said...
Pert nightie. Nice review, thanks.
10/31/13 10:46 PM
Quickie said...
So cute and sweet.... I never thaught that this was such a lovely pattern Congrats!
10/31/13 10:56 PM
wendyrb said...
Thank you for your beautiful review- as beautiful as your nightie! I admire your attention to every detail and your clarity in sharing with us. I'm sure you will be loving this creation a long time. Well done!
11/1/13 2:08 AM
clothingengineer said...
Very pretty. It looks like it was a lot of work taming that lace, but you got very good results! Maybe next time you can take a shortcut with stretch lace :)
11/1/13 8:34 AM
JDpenelope said...
Judy What a great chemise: Beautiful and it fits beautifully. Thanks for your many helpful tips, too. Like clothingengineer said, stretch lace could make your set more comfortable against your skin, while eliminating the need to hand stitch those many little darts. Your determination paid off!
11/2/13 10:06 AM
ryan's mom said...
This looks so soft and sexy! I want to make a little nightie just like this as soon as I get my leg veins zapped :) . What a great, little number!
11/2/13 12:38 PM
annakeeton said...
Your use of the lace looks outstanding! Great job on this chemise.
11/3/13 4:22 PM
Danmar said...
Very pretty!
11/3/13 6:38 PM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks so much to everyone for their comments. This was a fun project, but very time consuming. My fingertips hurt from all the hand sewing!
11/4/13 12:07 PM
Callastitch said...
Beautiful and sexy, you look beautiful, that's what is all about, and thank you for your detailed tips on stabalizing the tricot for serging, your tips are a keeper.
11/5/13 4:51 PM
Uncreative said...
Your reviews are incredibly detailed. You must spend hours preparing your input! Great job on the nightie!
11/6/13 4:02 PM
lacroise1 said...
Wow that's a great nightie... your review was really helpful... thanks so much!... I think I need this pattern too... :) since this contest I "discovered" a lot of patterns I need
11/7/13 0:22 AM
waltzqueen said...
Lovely, lovely nighty. I enjoyed your review very much because you had such pleasure creating your gown. The result is beautiful and I am sure you will enjoy wearing it.
11/7/13 2:02 PM
leoniep said...
Lovely work!
11/7/13 5:37 PM
AnneM said...
What a fantastic chemise! And it looks fabulous on you. Thanks for the tricot sewing tip also; I have some and haven't tried tackling it yet.
11/12/13 10:54 AM
buckarina said...
Lovely nightie, looks great on you. Thank you for your helpful detailed review!
2/11/14 10:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-102
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 1/12/10
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5050
photo
Review by velosewer on 11/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us