Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2057 (Misses coat or jacket with collar and sleeve variations) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 371 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:madbadger
photo
About madbadgerstar
DE USA
Member since: 12/26/12
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/13 3:02 PM
Last Updated:10/27/13 3:03 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2057 by madbadger

Simplicity: 2057 by madbadger  Simplicity: 2057 by madbadger  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2057
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Boucle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Women's coat or jacket with collar variations.

Pattern Sizing: I cut the size that corresponded to my measurements and it was slightly too big. I ended up taking it in about 1/2 inch on each side. The sleeves, however turned out to be a little on the short side - it worked out fine, but didn't leave me much room for hemming so may want to measure before cutting the sleeves.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. I tend to struggle a bit when doing linings but I found the instructions for this one to be the most straight forward that I've seen.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The simple, classic cut & collar were what drew me to this pattern & my coat turned out exactly as I imagined it. I especially love the top stitching, which really intimidated me at first (I'm not known for sewing a nice straight line) - but turned out really nice. There is A LOT of top stitching (if you choose to do it) - I can't believe how much thread I burned through. I swear I changed out that bobbin half a dozen times at least!

Fabric Used: A cotton boucle that is probably more appropriate for suiting than for a coat. The weave is on the looser side, which besides making it a nightmare to work with, also made for a not very warm winter coat. I ended up interlining it (another new thing for me!) with some light-weight plaid that I had left over from PJs I made for my son (it's green with frogs on it, but no one will ever see it, lol). The actual lining is a brocade that I found and immediately thought 'coat lining for that red cotton boucle I have'.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The coat length I was going for was longer than the pattern jacket and shorter than the pattern coat...so I cut about 4 inches of the coat length to get it just above the knee.

Front View

View of Liner

Front Unbuttoned

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will definitely sew this again though not right away (how many coats does a girl need?). This one is going in the stash as a TNT coat pattern. It is truly a joy to construct & has that classic cut that will make a lovely coat out of any fabric.

Conclusion: Great coat pattern, clear instructions with lots of tips. Really nice patterns for beginners wanting to take on a more challenging project. Very pleased with how this turned out.


thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Beautiful coat. I like the mid band on the bias.
10/27/13 3:16 PM
ArtAttack said...
Another great contest entry! You are set for jackets this season...this one is adorable! Thanks again for participating in the lined jacket contest and good luck to you!
10/27/13 3:20 PM
liliv said...
Good luck! The coat is fabulous! You used this gorgeous fabric in a perfect way!
10/27/13 3:47 PM
atymonw said...
I love how you used the bias. A beautiful coat -- great work!
10/27/13 5:02 PM
Immelu said...
I love how you used the bias on this coat! It looks fantastic!
10/27/13 5:35 PM
Quickie said...
this jacket is a beautiful style on you
10/27/13 5:40 PM
sunnysewing said...
what a great TNT for you! I love the colors of it. Thanks for the tips on the lining instructions - I'll have to look into this pattern :D
10/27/13 6:12 PM
caper81 said...
Beautiful coat!! I just love the brocade you used for lining, I never would've thought of that:)
10/27/13 8:59 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous coat! I love your use of the bias throughout the coat. Very unique!
10/28/13 0:07 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous coat! Your fabric and lining are fabulous.
10/28/13 7:47 AM
grays08 said...
I think this is so great - looks great on you too! Great job on it too. I appreciate all the work that goes into things like this and yes, you do burn through the bobbins like mad! = )
10/28/13 9:04 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely coat! Very peppy and cheery. Fitted so well!
10/28/13 10:11 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Just beautiful! I love your fabric choices and look forward to trying this pattern.
10/28/13 9:11 PM
cocosloft said...
So pretty! Really like the bias waistband.
10/29/13 5:01 AM
margy.64 said...
Beautiful coat. Well done.
10/29/13 7:55 AM
LM2HYD said...
Nicely done! Nice use of the bias for the waistband and button placket!
10/29/13 7:37 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Beautiful! Love the vavoom red lining hidden in the demure pink coat.
11/1/13 9:42 AM
marec said...
Love the additon of the bias band and your tips are super helpful. Beautiful coat.
11/1/13 11:35 AM
petro said...
Lovely coat in a pretty colour. I like your use of the bias, great job!
11/4/13 3:30 AM
waltzqueen said...
Lovely coat and it fits you beautifully. I really like the fabric you used and how it emphasizes various aspects of the coat. Well done!!
11/5/13 3:26 PM
Ashford said...
Lovely style and fit on you. With this project you should feel like you graduated to Intermediate level sewer. You did excellent on your new skills. I especially appreciate the notes you left for the Beginner Sewers as this style of coat has been on my sewing list for several years. I hope it is windy where you live so passers by can see that wonderful lining.
11/6/13 12:13 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice coat! Love the bias areas!
11/8/13 11:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3882
photo
Review by DebJ on 9/7/09
Read Review

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2614
photo
Review by lydianmode on 8/29/10
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2674 Pattern
Jalie 2674 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us