SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5759 (Misses Lined Jacket)

13 more reviews
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest
Viewed 434 times 
Reviewed by:PattyE
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PattyEstarstarstar
Member since: 9/7/10
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 85
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/13 5:36 PM
Last Updated:10/28/13 5:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
Well you certainly haven't lost your touch for gorgeous jackets. This is truly exceptional in every way from the color palette to the gorgeous fabrics (in your stash?!) and wonderful construction techniques. And I absolutely love your frustration factor rating system!
10/28/13 5:50 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, Patty, this is GORGEOUS! I've never seen an inseam buttonhole either and it gives it a very couture look. Fabulous colors on you. Great entry and thank you so much participating in the contest!
10/28/13 6:06 PM
madbadger said...
Beautiful!!! I really like the idea of top stitching the lining seams - will have to give that a try next time I make a jacket!
10/28/13 6:32 PM
Barbara V said...
This looks fantastic on you. I love those inseam buttonholes! Too sad about the independent fabric shop closing, but glad you could enjoy the two fabrics now from that source.
10/28/13 7:33 PM
slmstyle said...
Great looking jacket! Nice job!
10/28/13 7:36 PM
estikoen said...
beautiful jacket and it looks amazing on you! thanks for all the great sewing tips !
10/28/13 7:40 PM
cleverkitty said...
Exceptional sewing on this beautiful jacket, love the colors, buttons even your lining is over and beyond, excellent review with lots of pics :)
10/28/13 9:41 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love everything about it. GREAT JOB!!!
10/28/13 10:27 PM
cmcarr said...
Another winner. This is beautiful.
10/29/13 2:25 AM
Quickie said...
Good style on you
10/29/13 3:15 AM
grays08 said...
I honestly don't think you can achieve a better fit or finish on this, done to perfection! Absolutely fabulous, and you have completely sold me on this pattern. I very much appreciate all of the details and hardwork you put into this and am inspired by your work. Wonderful tip as well on the needle, I wish I had done that when backstitching my collar by hand as I kept catching threads. Beautiful fabric combo as well...just fantastic!
10/29/13 9:57 AM
STARG said...
Fabulous jacket! Time to pull this pattern out of the stash and sew it up! Love the contrasting sleeves and collar.
10/29/13 10:00 AM
JOshiro said...
Love this! The collar is awesome, and the finishing details are top notch. Beautifully done.
10/29/13 10:47 AM
SewLibra said...
All your work on this jacket really paid off. Beautiful, professional, and the fit is perfect!
10/29/13 2:13 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Adorable! Great jacket!
10/29/13 2:54 PM
PattyE said...
My goodness, thank you all for such lovely comments. What a wonderful supportive group we have! Jstarr - I have found treasures in there that even surprise me!! That's bad, isn't it?! LOL BarbaraV - Yes, isn't it sad when we lose the independent shops. And it was a gooood one too! grays - you are always so kind...thank you. STARG - Yes, make it up...I think you will like it!
10/29/13 4:15 PM
mnitts said...
Wow absolutely beautiful work!
10/29/13 5:35 PM
CraftAddict said...
LOVE!
10/29/13 10:08 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautifully handcrafted, your jacket is so lovely. Great buttons/inseam button holes and beautiful fabric. Thanks for all the construction tips.
10/30/13 12:28 PM
JetSetSewing said...
Lovely job on this! Love the contrasting fabric and perfect fit.
11/1/13 9:39 AM
marec said...
Patty, I love your choice of fabrics, and the many fine details you used to make this jacket a work of art. Truly lovely, and you look marvelous in it. This was fun, wasn't it?
11/1/13 11:09 AM
liliv said...
Oh my God this is gorgeous! I hadn't seen this type of buttonholes and I love them!
11/2/13 8:27 AM
petro said...
Super jacket!
11/4/13 8:55 AM
ggf2005 said...
Awesome!
11/5/13 2:44 PM
PattyE said...
Thank you so much, ladies! I appreciate the awesome comments.
11/5/13 4:11 PM
froggiegirl said...
This look so cute on you and I love your fabric combinations.
11/7/13 7:51 PM
Margaret said...
Beautiful and very original-looking jacket! Great fit and great review... nice to hear about your design decisions!
11/8/13 12:49 PM
ceejayem said...
Love your version and thankyou for all the wonderful details within your review, particularly regarding interfacing. The end result is fantastic... sometimes the stash knows best!
3/22/14 8:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now