Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Coco Jacket (Coco Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 553 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:mlclements
photo
Friend of PR
About mlclementsstar
TX USA
Member since: 10/8/12
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/13 10:53 PM
Last Updated:10/30/13 11:11 PM
Project Photo:StyleArc: Coco Jacket by mlclements

StyleArc: Coco Jacket by mlclements  StyleArc: Coco Jacket by mlclements  
Pattern Photo:StyleArc Coco Jacket
StyleArc Pattern Info

More Info provided by mlclements

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Boucle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Fully lined semi fitted jacket in the Chanel style. Features fray trimmed hems. StyleArc also provides a sample of the type of fabric one can use for the shell and the lining.

Pattern Sizing: StyleArc patterns are not multisized. Sizes available are 6 to 30, but you get only one size in an envelope. I made a size 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? For the most part, yes. This pattern comes with written step by step instructions, and includes detailed illustrations on attaching the lining. I couldn't understand StyleArc's method for attaching the lining so I followed my own method. There is some unfamiliar jargon in the instructions, but StyleArc has a glossary of terms used on their website.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I found that this pattern fits very well. I did not have to make any adjustments. Although, the next time I make this pattern, I plan to play around with fitting the back bodice some more with princess seams. The yokes are well drafted. I have made the classic French jacket with Susan Khalje before this, and while that process is labor intensive (albeit thoroughly enjoyable) this jacket in comparison is a quick sew. I spent a couple of weeks to construct it (about 2 hours a day), but I went slow since I did not follow StyleArc's instructions exactly, and did my own thing with the lining and sleeves.

Fabric Used: A black and white cotton Chanel boucle for the shell. Solid black Italian linen for the trim. The lining is solid black silk crepe de chine.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1-I serged all the shell pieces before assembling the jacket. This really helped keep the boucle in check.
2-I omitted the buttons on the front opening and the cuffs because I liked the simplistic look of the solid black outline for the jacket. I also omitted the frayed trim.
3-I also sewed on a chain to the inside of the jacket so that it hangs closer to the body. It does add a bit of luxury to the jacket.
4-The sleeves are hand sewed in. I also used “cigarette” to shape the sleeve heads.
5-The trim pieces are interfaced with a medium-weight fusible interfacing to give the linen added stability.
6-This is what I did different for attaching the lining. Accomplished in two stages:
a.The shell: I first attached the trim to each of the center fronts. Then I constructed the bottom trim by attaching both front bottom trims to the back trim piece. I had to make sure that the seaming of the bottom trim pieces matched the seaming of the shell before attaching the bottom trim to the body. Lastly I attached the neck trim pieces to the body.
b.The lining: The body of the lining was sewn according to the instructions provided. Then I attached the inner trim pieces to the lining just like I did with the shell, and I left an opening where the lining and the bottom back trim meet. I then lined up the lining and the shell RST and sewed up the edges in one fell swoop. The jacket was then turned right side out through the opening which was fell-stitched shut in the end. Make sure you clip and grade the seam allowance as needed before turning the jacket right side out.


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes! It took me a bit longer because I mixed it up with some hand sewing, but end result was worth it.

Conclusion: I highly recommend the pattern. Although this is my first review on patternreview.com, I have made many a StyleArc patterns and I find them to be well drafted just as long as you are comfortable with the minimal sewing instructions.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
This is exquisite! Very high end and it looks beautiful on you. Great contest entry and thanks again for participating!
10/30/13 11:32 PM
madbadger said...
Niceliy done - beautiful jacket!
10/30/13 11:41 PM
Lynmarie said...
Absolutely beautiful, what amazing work and thanks for your detailed review , very helpful
10/30/13 11:49 PM
PattyE said...
I like StyleArc too and I love your jacket. Congrats on your first review.
10/30/13 11:59 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket!
10/31/13 1:01 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous jacket!
10/31/13 1:02 AM
margy.64 said...
Beautiful jacket.
10/31/13 3:04 AM
Sarsez said...
Very classy jacket. I agree with leaving the buttons off.
10/31/13 3:49 AM
Quickie said...
This year we have the minoru's and the Coco 'Yours suits you well
10/31/13 4:10 AM
mnitts said...
Beautiful work looks gorgeous on you.
10/31/13 4:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous jacket. Excellent job with this pattern and fabric.
10/31/13 5:29 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Simply stunning! I'm very excited to see your helpful review of this pattern. I've had it for so long and am eager to make it but was a bit intimidated by the skimpy instructions. Your tips will be very handy. Congratulations on your first review.
10/31/13 5:53 AM
trinicity said...
Gorgeous jacket, well done!
10/31/13 7:11 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Incredible!
10/31/13 9:09 AM
grays08 said...
So classic and chic! Wonderful job and helpful review. I've wondered how Style Arc's jackets fit/sized as I've had my eye on one so this helps. Outstanding job!
10/31/13 9:10 AM
wimmie said...
Beautiful Jacket.
10/31/13 10:18 AM
canei said...
Stunning!!!
10/31/13 12:02 PM
NEMDF said...
WOW. GREAT JOB! It is GORGEOUS!
10/31/13 12:29 PM
Lizzie11 said...
You look fabulous - what a great jacket! Thanks for the great review
10/31/13 5:09 PM
slmstyle said...
Gorgeous jacket and very well written and detailed review. We look forward to more great reviews and very nice sewing projects from you here on PR!
10/31/13 6:23 PM
Opals Passions said...
Fabulous jacket!
10/31/13 9:14 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow! It's beautiful!
10/31/13 9:14 PM
wexford said...
Really phenomenal jacket. It looks fabulous on yo too.
10/31/13 9:23 PM
marec said...
Lovely and chic.
11/1/13 11:43 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Fabulous jacket - very tailored and very chic!
11/2/13 7:55 AM
becca a said...
This is a stunning jacket! I love the contrast edges. Thank you for reviewing this jacket pattern, as I have been wondering about it.
11/2/13 11:52 PM
petro said...
Ultra elegant jacket, with all the right touches.
11/4/13 8:10 AM
Annie P said...
Beautiful jacket, beautifully finished. I'd love to see your other Style Arc creations reviewed (I've got a stash of their patterns to sew once I get fit issues resolved).
11/4/13 7:55 PM
Pats Designs said...
Great photos. Thanks and the jacket is stunning. For anyone who adores Coco Channel, this is a definite inspiration. Your write-up teaches us all that what we know can be applied to everything we decide to create.
11/5/13 8:48 AM
poppykettle said...
It's beautiful! I've been eyeing off this pattern for some time now, it translates wonderfully. Love this jacket.
11/6/13 4:00 PM
Margaret said...
Very classic -- great work! Love the details!
11/8/13 8:45 AM
Wianno Girl said...
wonderful jacket on you with terrific details. I too have this pattern and with long winter nights coming on, it is tops on the pile of projects. Thank you for your tips.
11/10/13 1:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by atymonw on 1/21/14
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3938 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3938 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1429 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1429 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2634
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 9/11/05
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us