SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8186 (Men's Suit)

6 more reviews
Review submitted in 2013 Lined Jacket Contest Contest
Viewed 308 times 
Reviewed by:grays08
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About grays08starstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 9/13/11
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/13 11:39 PM
Last Updated:11/1/13 12:10 PM


Burda: 8186 by grays08  Burda: 8186 by grays08  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Shirts    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
Blown away and grateful for the level of review you've written. I really deeply appreciate this, as I head into murky tailoring waters I have no business being in.
3/29/14 9:26 PM
Margaret said...
Wow! Great fit and great work especially on those vents!
11/8/13 1:21 PM
Ashford said...
Thank you for the details on the pattern. You sound as if you gave yourself a personal Challenge beyond what the contest required. You succeeded. It is a wonderful example of a tailored structured garment. Your husband will walk with pride in his appearance and with pride in his wife's skills.
11/6/13 11:58 AM
Callastitch said...
Impressive, I thought of sewing a suit last year, but this definitely sounds like too much work, but you did a great job. you could sell them, it looks professsional
11/5/13 5:21 PM
Pj3g said...
You are quite the seamstress! Wow! Fantastic!
11/4/13 3:38 PM
KaSchu said...
Brilliant work! Fantastic review.
11/4/13 5:45 AM
petro said...
That is such a professional looking suit! Congratulations!
11/4/13 3:35 AM
Judy Kski said...
Your attention to detail is apparent on the entire jacket. Your DH is a lucky man.
11/3/13 11:14 PM
margy.64 said...
Wow, what a mammoth effort you have put into this jacket. Great result. Well done.
11/3/13 4:56 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow! And your review is amazing, too.
11/2/13 5:17 PM
KarlaB said...
Beautiful job! Great fit! Wow!
11/2/13 2:20 PM
PattyE said...
It's fabulous! Your DH is so lucky
11/2/13 0:06 AM
Christas said...
IMPRESSIVE...really nice work. It looks so wonderful! I know your husband will be so proud to wear it.
11/1/13 6:39 PM
grays08 said...
Thank you all for the very kind comments. cleverkitty - I don't know at this point if I could ever mark "Advanced" especially after a project like this. It is such a humbling experience to get through but thanks for your sweet suggestion. = ) InglesideBelle - I've updated the review with hopefully better pictures of the details. I had a hard time last night getting this done in time (<15 minutes to spare upon submitting) so was intending on getting better shots of the details, sorry about that. : (
11/1/13 12:29 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
My goodness...my husband's $700 overcoat from Jos A Bank doesn't look this good. Congratulations on this momentous accomplishment.
11/1/13 12:04 PM
liliv said...
One more wow and bravo!! Good luck!
11/1/13 11:51 AM
OlindaM said...
What lovely work, you must be so pleased with the way it has turned out and your DH must be chuffed too.
11/1/13 11:40 AM
marec said...
This is so far above what I am capable of...thank you for a detailed review so I can learn a bit more :-) Very wonderful suit coat!
11/1/13 11:17 AM
HRigg said...
Wow! this is fantastic. You must be very proud and I am in total awe of your achievement
11/1/13 11:00 AM
JetSetSewing said...
Excellent job on a very challenging project!
11/1/13 10:17 AM
SewWil said...
GREAT JOB on this jacket!!! I can see why it drained you. You can be very proud of this jacket. What an accomplishment!
11/1/13 10:10 AM
sunnysewing said...
Yay!! You got it done! And in time :D This looks fantastic! You really did a super job - very professional looking. He looks so sharp in it - the fitting is spot on! And Wow that is a lot of welt pockets; your back vent with the mitered corner looks perfect. Thanks for the tips on the instructions and buttonhole placement. DH should be very pleased with this. and yes, dog years should be added for your total count for him!!! Excellent job :)
11/1/13 9:08 AM
cleverkitty said...
WOW outstanding, I'm impressed‼️change your status to advanced ✔️ I can see your details clearly, expertly done, sounds like you did not even do a muslin. Something to be proud of :)
11/1/13 7:44 AM
Elona said...
Oh, what gorgeous work!
11/1/13 2:32 AM
InglesideBelle said...
Wow. Really impressive! I understand why you made it in a dark fabric, but I wish I could see more of the details in your photos. I like the look of the mitered corners myself. Kudos to you for completing such a challenging project! Hope your husband appreciates the fruit of your labors!
11/1/13 0:48 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFULLY TAILORED suit jacket. I know your husband will wear it with pride.
11/1/13 0:30 AM
ArtAttack said...
You did it! Wow, I'm blown away by this! You deserve to do some mindless sewing now. Good luck in the contest and thanks for participating.
11/1/13 0:05 AM
Quickie said...
This is stunning.... So cool...
10/31/13 11:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

HotPatterns Fringe Festival Knit Top

photo
by: Jessica De...

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

More Info