Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Tosca Dress (Tosca Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 212 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:kkkkaty
photo
Friend of PR
About kkkkatystarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 12/7/05
Reviews written: 127
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/13 11:34 AM
Last Updated:11/4/13 10:49 AM
Project Photo:Sewing Workshop: Tosca Dress by kkkkaty

Sewing Workshop: Tosca Dress by kkkkaty  
Pattern Photo:Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Challis  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Edited to add some pictures showing details of the armhole, neckline and pockets

Pattern Description: From the website: Loose, sleeveless, pullover dress with funnel neck and deep exaggerated armholes. Topstitched chest pockets and bagged hip pockets. Soft-fold offset 5" hem. Optional front tucks.

This, as others have mentioned, strictly a jumper, since the armholes come almost to your waist. here's a closeup of the armhole area, the end of which is about 4 inches below my physical armhole:

armhole/armscye

Pattern Sizing: xs-xxl; I made a medium. Based on my measurements a large would have been fine, but the dress has lots of ease, and sizing down resulted in a good fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes, although as others noted the pockets are fiddly. Carry over the markings, primarily dots, match carefully, and you'll be fine.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It's an unusual design, pretty hem, interesting pockets, like the armhole and neckline finish, nice drape at neck. No dislikes.

detail of pockets

detail of neckline and upper pocket (sorry, a little out of focus)

Fabric Used: A rayon, probably a challis, lots of drape, a bit too light for winter, but I like it a lot, and will wear it with a long sleeved top underneath.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No changes. I didn't do the tucks.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? yes, already planning to make it again, and would recommend it if you enjoy kind of a funky dress. Which apparently I do. Use a fabric with some drape.

Conclusion: If it appeals to you, go crazy!

Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
I love this pattern and your version is wonderful. I must make one... :-) Do the armholes really go that low? Your fabric is really cute, and this dress as a jumper is just right for colder weather.
11/2/13 0:39 AM
kkkkaty said...
that's a good question, I'll take another pic that shows the armholes in more of a close-up. it is a very comfy and cute winter jumper
11/2/13 12:07 PM
lamstu said...
I'd love to make this for my tall DD, but so far she's not biting. Anyway, love yours!
11/3/13 8:28 AM
marec said...
The photos are wonderful-thanks so much for the closeups, especially of the armhole. Gosh, it really is low. The pattern illustration is rather misleading. I love the rayon challis you used. Very pretty dress/jumper!
11/4/13 6:58 PM
caper81 said...
Nice dress on you:) I like your fluffy kitty too!;)
11/5/13 1:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1001 Designer Slip
photo
Review by pegsewer on 2/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4047
photo
Review by Anabolina on 7/1/08
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us