Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 259 times 95 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:KaSchu
photo
About KaSchu
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/17/10
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:11/2/13 3:25 AM
Last Updated:11/2/13 3:36 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1247 by KaSchu

Vogue Patterns: 1247 by KaSchu  Vogue Patterns: 1247 by KaSchu  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1247
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Very loose-fitting top. Semi-fitted A-lined skirt has front in-seam pockets. I made the skirt.

AA (6-8-10-12) I made size 12 at the waist and 10 at the hips.

Yes, except for the length.

Quite straight-forward

Nothing to dislike really except for the length. It is very very short.

Panama mechanical stretch, a polyester woven fabric with a built in stretch. It frayed like mad! I bound the pocket/yoke seams with some quilting cotton and used it for the pocket linings too. The side and back seams and the hem finish were bound with a purchased bias binding.

I had never inserted an invisible zip before and didn't have an invisible zip foot so I used the instructions from an old Threads magazine #115 June/July 2005 using a regular zip foot. I am thrilled that it turned out perfectly.

I had a few other problems of my own making along the way. Added a little extra to the side seams then had to take it out again. Because of my high round tummy I also put a couple of tiny darts extra in the front.

Due to the fraying of the fabric the binding gave me some trouble. Using the suggested method of of binding meant that it kept pulling off the edge of the seams. I persevered for the pocket/yoke seams but pressed the side and back seams open and used the Hong Kong method of binding which worked well. I had also lengthened the skirt by 15cm (6") which still left me with a shortfall of the 5cm (2") needed for the hem. I ended up using the leftover scraps to make a false hem. This put the finished skirt at mid-knee level which is much more suited for my mature years.


All in all I am quite happy with this skirt. I haven't had much luck with A-line skirts before but I seem to have solved my usual fitting problems by using my straight skirt block to check the waist and hip sizing. I have no waist and very flat hips so finding an anchor isn't easy. The slightly high waistband sits above my tummy and is very comfortable for me. It's a nice pattern and I will probably make it again but with a few shortcuts. Overlocking (serging) instead of binding and adding some more to the length. Did I mention the pattern is very short!!

I enjoyed making this skirt even with the little hiccups I encountered.

Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnG said...
You did a great job. Looks very nice on you.
11/2/13 9:15 AM
madbadger said...
Very nicely done!
11/2/13 2:04 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love the skirt and whole outfit!
11/2/13 4:13 PM
grays08 said...
Such a pretty skirt (and outfit!) and love it at that length. You did a great job on it.
11/2/13 10:04 PM
KaSchu said...
Thank you for your kind comments.
11/3/13 2:12 AM
RedRockin said...
Lovely job! It looks great with the tee and cardigan.
11/3/13 8:17 AM
atymonw said...
It is very flattering on you. Thank you for good explanations.
11/3/13 8:52 AM
canei said...
Nice!
11/5/13 4:22 PM
Sew Good said...
Lovely! I like the pockets. Thanks for the close up
11/10/13 12:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 2925 Vogue Wardrobe
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 6/14/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6704 Misses Shirts
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/2/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us