Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3618 (Misses Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 189 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:caper81
photo
Friend of PR
About caper81star
CANADA
Member since: 9/24/11
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/13 9:08 PM
Last Updated:11/3/13 6:45 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 3618 by caper81

Simplicity: 3618 by caper81  Simplicity: 3618 by caper81  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 3618
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by caper81

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Simplicity Costumes for Adults: **Red Riding Hood**, Nurse, Pirate, French Maid, etc.

Note: I'm having issues with my photos here. Trying to make me& the wolf the main photo, but this review is *not* cooperating

My corresponding blog post

Pattern Sizing: 6-12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, although I deviated some;)

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I've only sewn the Red Riding Hood version, which was pretty good, I'd imagine the other views would be just as easy.

Fabric Used: Cotton sateen for the cape, cotton for the blouse, a stretchy, "thinnish" dark wash denim for the vest (for the lining as well). Cotton for the skirt (yeah, looks like cotton all around!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I used a New Look pattern for the blouse, since I wanted it to be long-sleeved, although short-sleeved probably would've been more "authentic" looking.

I used a dark denim for the vest and lined it with the same fabric (as mentioned above).
Note: the pattern shows a slightly different looking vest than the pattern actually makes (as you will see in the illustration instructions, and my photos). It looks like where the front of the vest meets, there is an upside down "V" on the bottom where the tie is, but actually, there is not.

Also, on the pattern cover, the vests all shown have 8 grommets, but the pattern instructions call for 12! They don't tell you which size grommets to use either. I used 5/16" grommets and just eye-balled where I thought they should go.

I omitted the lace trim for the vertical vest seams.

I applied the gathered lace trim to the skirt instead of the petticoat.

I didn't sew the panties, I wore leggings instead.

I lined the hood of the cape, and made self-fabric ties instead of using ribbon.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would definitely recommend it, just don't start at the last minute! It's an easy enough pattern, but there are quite a few pieces (for Little Red at least) and it was starting to get to me after a while:/ For your sanity, start early!

I would definitely like to try other versions in the years to come

Conclusion: This was such a fun costume to wear! My husband dressed as the wolf, and we were a big hit at a costume party we went to I just love making my own costumes, looking forward to next year! My blog
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnycat said...
Mr Wolf makes me laugh with that nightgown and cap. You did a terrific job on it and your Little Red Riding Hood outfit. I love the cape, it looks warm. You look especially nice in red.
11/2/13 10:18 PM
SewLibra said...
Your Little Red Riding Hood costume is awesomely great! I'm getting a kick out your cat eyeing the wolf head - LOL.
11/3/13 0:40 AM
carolynw said...
Great costumes - wolf in a nightgown and bed cap is so funny and Red Riding Hood looks sexy! Hmmm
11/3/13 2:19 PM
westmoon said...
Love both the costumes! (And your cat looking alarmed in the background!)
11/3/13 2:59 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a lovely couple ;-) Your costume looks so nice and love your companion in his nightgown and cap.
11/3/13 3:00 PM
RadarRadiance said...
You both look fantastic!!! Great job and how fun! I love the expression on your cat....too funny!
11/3/13 3:20 PM
canei said...
Love it!
11/3/13 3:45 PM
DaisyA said...
Love the photo of Wolfie with the cat looking bemused in the background LOL! great work
11/3/13 5:42 PM
arianamaniacs said...
very cute partner costume!!!
11/3/13 6:21 PM
madbadger said...
So awesome! Love it!!!
11/3/13 7:29 PM
Pj3g said...
You look so cute! Great costume! Great idea with you Red Riding Hood and husband the wolf! His costume is fantastic too!
11/4/13 3:02 PM
caper81 said...
Thanks everyone for your wonderful comments!:) I had a lot of fun wearing it!
11/5/13 6:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Farbenmix Insa Insa
photo
Review by dakotasews on 7/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco
photo
Review by meggipeg on 2/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us