Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8626 (OUTERWEAR) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 303 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Marie-Claude
photo
About Marie-Claudestarstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 6/29/05
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/13 6:50 AM
Last Updated:11/4/13 6:52 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8626 by Marie-Claude

Vogue Patterns: 8626 by Marie-Claude  Vogue Patterns: 8626 by Marie-Claude  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8626
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
  • Tip: Tailor tacks made easier
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Wool Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Related Links  
    Click on to add a link
    Pattern Description:
    Lined coats A, B, C in two lengths, A-line, with or without collar, close-fitting with princess seams, back pleats, long sleeves with elbow dart and topstitching trim. C: stand-up collar. A: length is above mid-knee. B, C: length is mid-knee.

    I chose for view C, with stand-up collar.

    Pattern Sizing:
    8-24. I cut a size 16 and used the C-cup pattern pieces, based on my upper bust and full bust measurements.

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
    Yes, pretty much. However my finished length is somewhere in-between view A and views B/C. More on this below.

    Front view
    Back view

    Were the instructions easy to follow?
    This pattern is part of the Very Easy Vogue collection. Making a lined coat or jacket can be daunting, but the instructions were very clear and this pattern would be a good choice for an advanced beginner or intermediate sewist looking to make their first coat.

    Of course I had to make a mistake! I somehow completely ignored the fact I had to cut 4 front pieces and only cut 2. When I reached the part where I had to join the front facing to the lining, I thought: "Facing? What facing? OMG! I forgot to cut the facings!" *facepalm* Unfortunately for me, I only had small bits of fabric remnants, none were nowhere near long enough to allow me to cut the 2 missing front pieces. I first considered tossing the coat in a corner and forget it ever existed, but instead I basically joined 2 remnant pieces together and ended up with a piece long enough to cut my facings. Halleluia! Lucky for me, the facings are on the inside, so no one will ever know I made a mistake...

    Facings, pieced together

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
    It's easy to put together, after making sure all markings are transferred properly. I used tailor tacks, as a marking pencil was useless with my fabric.

    The overall design of the coat appealed to me. The A-line gives it a bit of a vintage feel. I like the top-stitching, the crisp back pleat and the stand-up collar, which can also be worn open.

    Close-up front
    Close-up back, with top-stitching and pleats

    Fabric Used:
    A wool tweed in teal/black. The lining is plain black poly satin.

    Lining

    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
    I wanted the coat to hit me precisely at the knee. Not above, not below. So I ended up lenghtening view A by 5 cm. I also shortened the sleeves of 4 cm.

    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
    I definitely recommend this pattern, however I'm not sure if I'll sew it again. I have several other coats patterns in my stash, ready to be used.

    Conclusion:
    Great pattern if you are looking to make your first coat or jacket. Can be appropriate for summer or winter, depending on your fabric.
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    Budo Bear Designs
    Asian Designs
    Web site
    Patterns from the Past
    vintage sewing patterns
    Deals!
    Elliott Berman Textiles
    Fabrics for Greater Ideas
    Deals!
    << Previous      Next >>
    8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    MrsCharisma said...
    Gorgeous coat!! And a nice save on your facings :) Doesn't change the beauty of it at all!
    11/4/13 8:37 AM
    SavageCoco said...
    Very Well Done. Am VERY familiar with the Face-Palm "doh" sewing moments. Excellent facing save!
    11/4/13 9:34 AM
    SewWil said...
    Great looking coat! Nice job recovering from the facing incident.
    11/4/13 9:50 AM
    Guelphgurl said...
    Beautiful coat! I love reading about other people's mistakes...it makes me feel so much better about my own!
    11/4/13 9:59 AM
    carolynw said...
    WOW! Gorgeous coat - terrific sewing skills are very evident. Love the colour. Great save on the facing - have been there :(
    11/4/13 10:15 AM
    madbadger said...
    Great savevon the facings! The coat is wonderful!
    11/4/13 6:28 PM
    marec said...
    The facings are a design feature :-) What a great coat-especially all the cool details on the back and the collar.
    11/4/13 7:15 PM
    Rhoda K said...
    Great looking coat - love the syle and fabric.
    11/5/13 7:40 AM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    Put it on the Bias
    Fee: $49.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Put it on the Bias

    Online Sewing Classes
    Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
    Fee: $29.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

    Butterick 5421 MISSES' SKIRT
    photo
    Review by tiadia on 9/24/10
    Read Review

    Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
    Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

    Details
    Price: $9.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
    Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $7.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Vogue Patterns 8546
    photo
    Review by Janiki on 3/20/11
    Read Review

    Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
    Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

    Details
    Price: $18.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    JSM-Pant 1
    JSM-Pant 1

    Details
    Price: $20.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )
    Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )

    Details
    Price: $17.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Burda 7183 Pattern
    Burda 7183 Pattern

    Details
    Price: $8.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us