Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-125 (Cocktail dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 280 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:liliv
photo
About lilivstar
GREECE
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/13 11:00 AM
Last Updated:11/6/13 10:47 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-125 by liliv

BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-125 by liliv  BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-125 by liliv  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Satin  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
This is vintage cocktail dress, a reproduction of an original pattern from Burda's October 1958 magazine. The off shoulder bodice is fitted and has kimono sleeves with underarm gussets. The skirt is tulip and has a petticoat to hold its puffy shape. The technical drawing of this pattern is here

Pattern Sizing: 34-42, I traced 36 and it was perfect when I made it. Now I am 38 at the waist area so it is a little tight, but the fabric is stretch so everything is ok

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes it is exactly as I was expecting.

My version: here

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn't read them. The only thing I could figure out on my own were the gussets. I found several tutorials about gussets on the web.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the vintage style of this pattern, it's my favourite style of dress. The fitted kimono sleeves with the gussets are very flattering and adorable. The bodice has a very cute pleat at the top and the neckline is sexy but not very nacked. I think that the whole bodice creates the illusion of a more hourglass figure. I also love the tulip skirt although I didn't add the petticoat so it isn't so voluminus.

Fabric Used:
stretchy satin

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the center front neckline 2cm higher, because it was too low. I didn't put the petticoat because I wanted a simpler style. I also put a side invisible zipper by hand.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I have already sewn again:P. I think that I will use it 3nd time but in a different way. I think that this pattern is very versatile and somebody can create lots of styles from it. Of course I recommend it, it's an adorable vintage piece. I recommend the whole 11/2007 issue if you can find it.

Conclusion: I love this pattern!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
beth5646 said...
Wow! Gorgeous.
11/4/13 11:22 AM
mnitts said...
Absolutely love it!
11/4/13 11:50 AM
Rhoda K said...
So beautiful!
11/4/13 1:10 PM
Marie-Claude said...
GORGEOUS! What a beautiful dress!
11/4/13 1:13 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Looks wonderful on you.
11/4/13 4:11 PM
madbadger said...
Perfectly fitted!
11/4/13 6:24 PM
marec said...
what a great LBD!
11/4/13 7:11 PM
Barbara V said...
Such a pretty dress and lovely style on you. All of your pictures look great too! I'm going to check to see if I have the 11/2007 issue...hope so!
11/4/13 8:40 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Beautiful!
11/4/13 10:06 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful dress and pictures!!!!
11/5/13 8:00 AM
liliv said...
Thank you all ladies for the kind comments!
11/5/13 12:23 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Beautiful as always!! It looks amazing!
11/5/13 1:52 PM
DebJ said...
What a beautiful dress and a beautiful woman. I love reading about your sewing adventures and you have such great taste for what fits you.
11/5/13 8:12 PM
HRigg said...
Lovely dress. Like the shape.
11/6/13 3:50 AM
1SewSweet said...
Really pretty on you!
11/6/13 5:08 AM
Nicole Bacon said...
Lovely dress!
11/6/13 7:37 AM
canei said...
Gorgeous!!!!!
11/6/13 8:33 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
So elegant and classic! I love this portrait neckline on you.
11/7/13 2:10 PM
grays08 said...
Not that's a cocktail dress! Love it!
11/7/13 4:16 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Beautiful dress!!
11/7/13 9:01 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, love this and is pretty on you!
11/8/13 9:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used Bags
photo
Review by BeckyMc on 1/19/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1092
photo
Review by Re Becca on 9/19/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us