SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Amy Knit Top (Amy Knit Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 323 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 201
Favored by: 91 people
patterns reviewed: 191
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/13 9:01 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Amy Knit Top by clothingengineer  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grays08 said...
It's cute and well done, but you are tiny and lost in there! : ( I'd hate to see what it would do on my build with fuller/athletic thighs. I definitely appreciate your review as the drawing is misleading somewhat, but I can tell with the hang that perhaps something with a thinner drape might show the waist a little better.
11/5/13 9:13 AM
sacjeanie said...
Does tying the garment side pieces help act like a dart to emphasize your waist? The color is lovely and I could see myself wearing something like this with leggings running around.
11/5/13 9:13 AM
clothingengineer said...
grays08 - that's exactly how I feel - comfortable, but lost!
sacjeanie - tying the sides made things worse. It was almost like a bubble skirt.
11/5/13 9:17 AM
marec said...
I think this is a great color on you, and the cowl is cute. What happens if you either reverse the angle or have a straight hem? You are little, and this is just too much going on... :-)
11/5/13 9:52 AM
marec said...
I want to add that I appreciate that you did this review (very helpful) because this is EXACTLY what happens to me when I try to do a similar style. Thank you clothingengineer.
11/5/13 9:55 AM
clothingengineer said...
Thanks marec, I know there's some people out there with a similar body type that follow my reviews, so I feel it is important to post the bad as well as the good so they can hopefully learn from my mistakes :)
11/5/13 10:47 AM
michellep74 said...
The color is great on you, but it looks like it's just too big on you--definitely too much ease. Thanks for sharing your review.
11/5/13 12:54 PM
evelynhughes said...
Thanks for reviewing. Agree that ad rapier fabric would work and that this top still isn't a total failure! Do you think making the arms a bit tighter would make the top less 'swampy'?
11/5/13 5:33 PM
JDpenelope said...
The good news: You look fabulous in this fabric, using the Style Arc Gail Top pattern. Thanks for the review � It seems to me that we must all avoid wearing tents, no matter what our size! That's the problem I see with so many of this voluminous tops. Thanks for reminding me that a pattern with so much fabric won't be a good look on me.
11/6/13 6:30 AM
becca a said...
I have shied away from this pattern for the reasons that you don't love it. It is pretty on you, but most of your other projects flatter your tiny waist better.
11/6/13 9:41 AM
sewinglinda said...
lovely top I love the colour, I had the same problem with the tent look in my size 10, on one of mine I curved the side seams in a lot at the waist, in another version I stitched three rows of shirring elastic about 1cm apart, in the centre front below the bust.
11/6/13 8:42 PM
VintageTempest said...
It would look cute belted and worn with a pencil skirt. The color is gorgeous on you and I like the cowl. I am a rectangle, so this is something I would wear. But that is because my waist is NOT my beast feature. haha!
3/15/14 7:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now