Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5974 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 274 times 84 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Jupiter, FL
photo
About Jupiter, FL
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:11/5/13 10:48 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5974 by Jupiter, FL

McCall's: 5974 by Jupiter, FL  McCall's: 5974 by Jupiter, FL  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5974
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by Jupiter, FL

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Hopefully everyone can endure another review of this pattern -- I'll keep it short. I made View D -- wrap dress with long sleeves, in a wonderful soft, warm sweater knit from the bargain table at Joann's.

The pattern is pretty easy - I hand basted the pleats to keep them in place. Also, as another reviewer noted, be sure to clearly mark the Center Front on both bodice pieces -- important for when you attach to the midriff. I had a little difficulty understanding how they wanted you to finish the large end of the ties -- the photo posted by Kay Y (5-17-11) really helped here.

Perhaps I have one meaningful addition to the narrative on this pattern. As others have said, the ties could be longer. My sweater knit fabric doesn't have much weight, so that may cause the ties not to hang as long, but in addition, I cut the size 14 of the pattern that starts at size 8 and goes to 16. The length of the ties does not vary with the pattern size, although the bodice and midriff do. So if you are cutting the larger pattern sizes, definitely think about lengthening the ties a couple of inches. BTW, I had 2 1/2 yards of 57" wide fabric, which was plenty for the dress I made, and would have accommodated the longer ties.

To do it again, I also think I would have lengthened the bodice 1/2 - 1", as another reviewer suggested, since I did not do a FBA.

All in all, a versatile, practical, comfortable dress that doesn't wrinkle -- that's a Winner!
Front
Another View - Front
Back

BTW, one comment for those who wish Views A/B had a midriff piece for the back as well as the front -- I sewed up Simplicity 1801 in a knit, and it worked wonderfully -- could easily substitute for this look (although I did put a zipper in the Simplicity dress, and not the McCalls)

<
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lynne1nor said...
Lovely dress!
11/5/13 11:02 AM
caper81 said...
This dress is beautiful, never hurts to have another review of a great pattern;) Fits you perfectly & love the fabric!!:)
11/5/13 1:07 PM
WinterQueen said...
Beautiful! Great fit :) x
11/5/13 3:46 PM
rtrittel said...
Very nice! Thanks for the review.
11/6/13 12:31 PM
grays08 said...
Very pretty dress, especially next to the burning bush, always pretty this time of year too. : )
11/7/13 4:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's M5433
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 3/16/08
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-102
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7084 Pattern
Burda 7084 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6244 Pattern
New Look 6244 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us