Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8440 (HATS) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 226 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo
About Kellie R.starstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/13 2:26 PM
Last Updated:11/5/13 4:22 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8440 by Kellie R.

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8440
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Hats in four style options

Pattern Sizing: Small, Medium, Large.

I sewed a Small and the sizing was spot on. But note that SEAMS ARE 1/4" (except bottom which are 1/2").

Another reviewer commented that her hat/pattern was small. So I double checked my head measurements (though I was certain my head has not grown recently. :p) My head measures 21" and a Small is 21 1/2. It fits me perfectly. Not loose and not too tight. I love the fit of this hat.

To check how to measure your head for hat size, check out this page:

How to measure head size

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, but I made a style change.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very Easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Easy to follow instructions, good sizing and a basic design that looks good as is or gives the foundation for creative embellishment.

Fabric Used: Hat: 100% VINTAGE Wool Tweed (approx c 1950's). Band: dupioni silk underlined in silk organza

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made View A, a basic cloche. However, I was inspired by the vast ways the cloche has been stylized, embellished and shaped.

I turned the hat placing the back slit to the side and turned up the forward flap to create an elegant curve that angles across the top of the head to the side.

I added a dupioni silk band, salvaged and partially reworked, from a dress I made several years ago that was damaged from moving (dress torn by wire hanger)... See my review here for how I made the silk band (originally a cumberbund)

I added a button on the upturned flap.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely YES on both accounts!

Conclusion:

Several years ago, I acquired remnants of this GORGEOUS 1950's wool from the estate auction of a lady named Louise. It was a massive stash of fabric and patterns from the late 40's - 80's, but most from the 50's. She was a stylish lady and a hot tamale!! (lots of sheath dresses).

I'd had the wool washed and prepared for a couple of years specifically for this pattern since there wasn't enough for a garment. Finally with the change of seasons, I grabbed it and began sewing it up.

With autumn in the air, I'm looking forward to wearing my new hat that I know not only will keep me warm, but looks chic!! Thanks Louise!

WEAR HATS!!

Additional Close Ups

Side Flap

Front

Side Ruching

Back
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Love it!
11/5/13 3:28 PM
RoseE said...
Love it!
11/5/13 3:35 PM
velosewer said...
Very stylish.
11/5/13 3:57 PM
Knitz said...
Very nice!
11/5/13 4:17 PM
Pamaro said...
Lovely hat, and you look great in a hat. I like your version much better than the pattern envelope. Very stylish!
11/5/13 5:17 PM
Christas said...
Kellie, your hat looks FANTABULOUS!!! I love it! Excellent review, too.
11/5/13 5:37 PM
SewLibra said...
Very cool hat, I love it! I wish more women would wear hats. Here in the Sacramento valley the only hats I see are the occasional knitted pull-on caps in winter. I shouldn't be so self-conscious and go for it anyway! Thanks for a great review.
11/6/13 0:16 AM
Danmar said...
Very nice!
11/6/13 6:29 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you all so much! I enjoyed wearing it last night to a meeting; I received several compliments!
11/6/13 8:15 AM
JOshiro said...
Adorable - very chic!
11/6/13 12:38 PM
KarlaB said...
Beautiful hat! Lovely details!
11/6/13 3:58 PM
AngieSelf said...
Very chic!
11/6/13 5:32 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, really pretty!! Love your new hat!
11/6/13 6:45 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
fantastic!
11/7/13 8:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 8691 Misses' Top
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 10/16/11
Read Review

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8604
photo
Review by Miss-Dandy on 9/19/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7400 Pattern
Burda 7400 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us