Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8943 (Misses' Dress and Slip) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Cocktail Outfit Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 1206 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:sewin
photo
Friend of PR
About sewinstar
MS
Member since: 5/13/10
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/13 6:16 PM
Last Updated:12/29/13 3:05 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8943 by sewin

Vogue Patterns: 8943 by sewin  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8943
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by sewin

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Lace  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Dress and slip: Dress has bias shoulder and armhole binding, fitted bodice, yokes, and purchased ribbon belt. Fitted slip has shoulder straps and side slits.

Pattern Sizing:Misses 8-16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Exactly. I loved the look on the envelope and kept everything the same.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were good instructions for the most part. I haven't done any couture sewing in a long time so some concepts were new to me such as encasing the seams in bias tape.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I found evening out the hem challenging. I didn't sew the lace and the organza skirt together. This was an option on the pattern. I think if I made the dress again, I would sew them together. Evening out the lace and the organza was difficult. I guess I'm not used to doing big full skirts. I finally put a hand on the inside and outside of the skirt and smoothed down and pinned the both layers together at the bottom all around and then flipped the scallop up and cut the organza. I'm sure there are easier ways, but I couldn't think of any at the time. I haven't hemmed the organza yet. I am getting a serger for Christmas and will use it to do a rolled hem.

Oh, I also pulled a real lulu. I was working late one night and put a hot iron on the back of the lace skirt. A big hole melted. I called myself stupid about 10 times, but after I calmed down, I was able to sew a lace patch over the hole by hand and it was invisible for the most part.

I love the finished product. It is everything I imagined. I probably didn't realize how much work I was in for at the outset but I don't regret it at all.

Fabric Used: A black lace from Hancock fabric's underlined with organza. I used a poly silk for the underslip which I lined with itself.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made a muslin to fit my daughter. I haven't sewn for anyone else in a long time and am determined to master fitting my daughter, daughter in law and granddaughter. The muslin helped tremendously. I now have a pretty good idea how to fit my daughter in the future. I had to tweak the pattern for my daughter but it wasn't anything too difficult.

I modified the suggested way to finish the lace skirt hem and the neckline and sleeves. The scallop on my lace fabric was very wide so I purchased a narrow black lace trim. The lace was gathered onto a narrow band. I carefully cut the band off and cut close to the scallops on the lace. Then I sewed the lace scallops onto the edges of the lace skirt, neck and sleeves as suggested in the instructions, trimming off the dress lace that protruded past the lace scallop. This made a pretty finish and it was actually very easy to do.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind spending a good bit of time making something you really love. This is definitely not for beginners, although I don't think it is as hard as tailoring a suit. The construction was pretty straightforward. There was just a lot of fabric to work with and fine finishing such as hand sewing the zipper in. Putting the scallop on the hem and neck and sleeve edges turned out to be a really easy way to finish those edges.


Conclusion: My daughter and I don't always have the same taste but we both fell in love at first sight with this pattern. I call it the Audrey Hepburn dress. I wanted to make a dress that made my daughter who is a hardworking mother of two boys feel like a princess when she put it on. I think I succeeded. I'm more in love with sewing than ever and can't wait to learn the next thing. Love the inspiration I get from all you pattern reviewers out there.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
This dress made up just as amazingly as I thought it would! It's BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!! Good save on the hole. I think we've all put a hole or two in accidentally :)
12/21/13 7:05 PM
chenille said...
Just beautiful and she does look like a princess!
12/21/13 9:01 PM
SewLibra said...
Absolutely gorgeous and well worth the time you spent! Your daughter looks so pretty in it. I also have had accidental holes and cuts in my work and it makes me crazy! ;-) All you can do is what you did, and fix it to the best of your ability.
12/21/13 9:15 PM
Amanda S. said...
Just plain beautiful!
12/21/13 9:50 PM
AdaF said...
Just gorgeous! I'm sure your daughter is ecstatic about the dress. You did a wonderful job!
12/21/13 11:37 PM
Scheri said...
Your daughter looks absolutely glowing. Great work.
12/22/13 0:13 AM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! This is gorgeous! She looks beautiful in it...and happy!
12/22/13 2:11 AM
Quickie said...
You made your daughter very happy with this dress, I can see it in her face. Dress is gorgeous
12/22/13 3:14 AM
Sherry440 said...
So beautiful on you!! How did you know it would look so good on you?! Red carpet perfect! Does the lace itch?? I wonder.
12/22/13 3:57 AM
jlg said...
Lovely! So glad that you reviewed this pattern.
12/22/13 6:44 AM
mmcp said...
I think the fit you got on this dress is amazing--and she looks really beautiful in it! So glad it was a patchable lace hole--I once did that to a satin skirt and the dress was unsalvageable.
12/22/13 7:26 AM
Woolygal said...
I congratulate you. This is one beautiful piece of work. It's the reason we sew. Perfect fit.
12/22/13 7:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
So glad you were able to fix the lace melt! Very pretty dress!
12/22/13 8:40 AM
LlanoGirl said...
Very, very beautiful, great job! I wish my Mom had sewn something like that when my three kids were small!
12/22/13 9:10 AM
mnitts said...
What a great mom you are making this for your beautiful daughter. Great job!
12/22/13 9:22 AM
caper81 said...
Gorgeous dress on your very beautiful daughter! And yes, good save on that hole! I've scorched some fabric on one project and had to cut a new pattern piece:( Glad you didn't have to with this one! Very "Audrey Hepburn";)
12/22/13 9:54 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, it is just beautiful!!!
12/22/13 10:20 AM
cmarie12 said...
Stunning! Simply stunning!
12/22/13 12:16 PM
slmstyle said...
Gorgeous! Not only did you make a beautiful dress, but you got to learn about couture sewing techniques. That's a win-win kind of pattern to sew!
12/22/13 1:33 PM
sewin said...
Thank you all for the lovely comments. That's one of the things I love about pattern review, the wonderful support the members show for one another. It's just the icing on the cake of creating a garment.
12/22/13 4:35 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress - your daughter looks so elegant in it. Great work
12/22/13 7:31 PM
DJWa said...
Gorgeous! I would think your daughter should feel like a princess in that dress! Audrey Hepburn dress - how appropriate!
12/22/13 10:47 PM
ggf2005 said...
sensational!
12/23/13 12:55 PM
mesewlot said...
This dress is absolutely beautiful and very elegant!
12/23/13 11:29 PM
wexford said...
Wow, what a stunning dress!
12/24/13 1:45 AM
Sindy in PA said...
You created such a lovely fit - it looks like an A+ quality garment. Fantastic!
12/27/13 11:03 AM
JanElise said...
Beautiful labor of love! It looks very RTW and perfect fit.
12/28/13 9:48 AM
3kids1036 said...
This is gorgeous!
12/29/13 3:07 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!!!
12/29/13 7:44 PM
Melwyk said...
Really stunning! It's a perfect fit, and looks beautiful and natural on your daughter. Thank goodness you could fix the lace and continue on!
12/29/13 10:43 PM
MamaSewing said...
Simply gorgeous!
12/30/13 10:17 AM
Aroura said...
Such a professional and amazing dress, what a lucky daughter! She looks stunning!
1/1/14 3:52 AM
Baja Susana said...
lovely dress, and your daughter looks wonderful. Haven't we all done something like melting the fabric? You saved it and made a perfectly beautiful dress for your daughter.
1/2/14 4:16 PM
madbadger said...
Beautiful - well worth all your effort!
1/3/14 11:36 AM
butterflyfly said...
Just stunning! Your daughter does look like a princess indeed!
1/4/14 10:30 AM
Margaret said...
Very elegant! Looks great on your daughter!
1/5/14 7:59 AM
sewin said...
Thanks for the kind comments ladies. Your encouragement means so much to me. My daughter loves the dress and she said she did feel like a princess wearing it. Mission accomplished!
1/6/14 3:22 PM
mcbrow said...
Congratulations! You are an inspiration!
1/10/14 11:24 AM
wildberrymom said...
What a fabulous dress! Great job and great review.
1/10/14 11:49 AM
Cosso said...
Your dress looks beautiful. Think I would be inclined to attache the hip yoke to the waist and make the skirt one piece as the join in the front is markedly obvious in this Vogue pattern, esp if the underskirt is lighter than the top lace.
1/21/14 5:22 AM
Lenarciak said...
Wonderful! Great job!
1/28/14 7:50 AM
missdin said...
I love it! I just bought this pattern and plan to make it in white for the spring/summer.
2/11/14 5:02 PM
sewin said...
Can't wait to see your version Msdinn.
2/12/14 9:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123B
photo
Review by dillyo on 1/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2559
photo
Review by cegehin on 10/31/12
Read Review

New Look 6932 Pattern
New Look 6932 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us