SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6083 (Misses' Jumpsuit In 3 Lengths and Sash)

52 more reviews
Viewed 302 times 
Reviewed by:velosewer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About velosewerstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/14 9:15 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6083 by velosewer

McCall's: 6083 by velosewer  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6083
McCall's Pattern Info
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Interlock Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Jumpsuits A, B, C, D, E have side front pockets, elastic casings and stitched hem; jumpsuit B has shoulder straps; jumpsuit C has sash; jumpsuits D, E have bodice with gathered shoulders, narrow hemmed armholes; jumpsuits A, D are thigh length; jumpsuit B above ankle length; jumpsuits C, E are floor length; optional purchased belt.
Pattern Sizing:
4 - 12. I made the 10 this time.
Click Here for a look at my blog post.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes it did.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
They were. There's nothing I can add here.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like how this version looks like a top and trousers when you use different fabrics.
You can take the fullness out of this pattern very easily.
The gathers on the shoulders can be pleats if your fabric sits better with pleats.
Fabric Used:
Poly knit trousers with a cotton dot print top. This fabric was provided to me by Minerva Crafts UK
This version looks like a top and trousers.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened the bodice because the top fabric has a slight amount of drape.
The pants uses a light weight slinky knit and sit nicely as is.
The waistband casing is wider to accommodate using a wider elastic. This makes the top sit firmer on me.
Here's my Woman's Weekly pose.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes. I didn't like it when I first used it 4 years ago but I think that was 'user error' ie my lack of sewing experience with knits.
I surprised myself with this pattern.
Conclusion:
I think this pattern can be made as an evening or casual outfit. I can see that it's also useful if you travel and use knits that don't crush.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Wow! Why didn't I think of that? I love the two different fabrics together. I need to start thinking outside of the box. I never imagined using two fabrics. Thank you so much for the review. I have this pattern too. Now I can start imagining what I might do for mine :)
3/5/14 9:20 PM
TJSEWS said...
How clever to use different fabrics! You look fabulous.
3/5/14 9:50 PM
ISewedIt said...
Very nice!
3/5/14 10:43 PM
kajero said...
You look awesome. How creative to use two different fabrics. The thought of never having the blouse pull out from the pants is wonderful! You did a great job!
3/5/14 11:34 PM
ntpolite said...
you gave this jumpsuit a totally different look by using the different fabrics. Love it!
3/5/14 11:55 PM
ntpolite said...
you gave this jumpsuit a totally different look by using the different fabrics. Love it!
3/5/14 11:55 PM
jenleeC said...
Wow, hard to tell this is actually a jumpsuit due to the different fabrics. No tucking in required!
3/6/14 1:39 AM
Dilliander said...
Very smart, looks great in the coordinated fabrics.
3/6/14 5:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great idea of using two fabrics! This jumpsuit looks good on you!
3/6/14 5:09 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! How great! Love the polka dots and solid bottoms!
3/6/14 7:07 AM
HRigg said...
Another great outfit in black & white!
3/6/14 9:05 AM
SewLibra said...
What a cute jumpsuit! For getting it on and off, are there hooks or snaps in the top?
3/6/14 4:23 PM
marjenann said...
OMG!!! This outfit is awesome! What a great look!!!
3/6/14 6:18 PM
mary in FL said...
Wow! Your version beats all the versions on the envelope!
3/6/14 6:32 PM
slmstyle said...
So great!
3/6/14 7:06 PM
Ilonka said...
Great looking and so smart!!!
3/7/14 1:54 PM
Soday said...
I agree with the comments on using two different fabrics; that makes it look great. It looks like a nice, comfortable outfit to wear in warmer temperatures.
3/13/14 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now