SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2723 (Pants, Top and shorts)

8 more reviews
Review submitted in Inspired By The Movies Contest
Viewed 436 times 
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ssssdebstar
UT United States
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/14 11:37 AM
Last Updated:2/26/14 11:55 AM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 2723 by ssssdeb

Kwik Sew: 2723 by ssssdeb  Kwik Sew: 2723 by ssssdeb  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 2723
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Nylon-Lycra  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Very close fitting top typically for working out. Has scoop neckline, racing back, and shelf bra.

Pattern Sizing: XS-XL, I made XS

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, with modifications

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very easy instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked this pattern as a foundation - a starting point. I made a lot of adjustments. I didn't like the way the side seams are toward the back. I didn't like how low the neckline is in front. I really like the racer back.

Fabric Used: Nylon Lycra Active Wear Fabric

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I raised the neckline 1", lowered the hem 3", lengthened the shelf bra 2" (and I'm an A!), moved the side seams toward the actual side by 1", and trimmed off the seam allowances to sew my elastic on the wrong side and bind the edges without the bulk of turning it in on a fold. I added fake piping down the side seams and the binding, as well as the little front silver enhancement pieces.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew this again but I retraced the pattern with all the changes and it's quite different. I will also add a second piece to the shelf bra for removable cup inserts like my RTW workout tops have for shaping. I'd recommend this top but be careful with the length especially - I think it's way too short unless you like a little tummy showing.

Conclusion: This was a good starting point for what I wanted to do. It's not a bad pattern but it definitely needed adjustments.

Main View of Top
Back of Top
Hunger Games Inspiration
Storyboard
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Very cute pattern.
2/26/14 11:53 AM
Quickie said...
good for a workout, even without hunger
2/26/14 1:03 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Looks like you have come up with a good fit for you. Nice top.
2/26/14 5:04 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the tips esp raising the neckline, lengthening the shelf bra and lowering the hem. What is fake piping? I see it and it's a nice touch. Very nice result from all of your changes.
2/27/14 5:54 AM
ssssdeb said...
By fake piping, I meant that I took a strip of the sparkle fabric 3/4" wide, folded that in half, and inserted it in the side seam. There is nothing filling that little strip - just a piece of fabric folded in half and very skinny (barely more than the serged seam width).
2/27/14 9:38 AM
AnneM said...
I think I like your version of the exercise top more than the movie version. :) Good review of the pattern itself, also. And I still love the feather top as well.
2/27/14 12:33 PM
sewcrazee said...
like the exercise top..and i like anything with feathers lol
2/28/14 2:14 PM
Margaret said...
Great-looking top! Thanks for the very helpful review, too.
3/7/14 11:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

New Look 6675

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now