SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 278320-1000 (Circle Polka dot Skirt)

Review submitted in Inspired By The Movies Contest
Viewed 286 times 
Reviewed by:pocen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pocen
MD USA
Member since: 11/27/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/14 3:32 PM
Last Updated:3/6/14 8:21 PM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: 278320-1000 by pocen

Self Drafted Pattern: 278320-1000 by pocen  Self Drafted Pattern: 278320-1000 by pocen  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by pocen

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Fabric was folded in two, self edge to self edge then cut in a semicircle at the waist line using my waist measurements:

I wear a size 44 (Italian) I am still trying to figure what size that in USA size, I think it's between a size 8 and a 10:

The pattern is the easiest thing to draft even for a beginner

It is a self made pattern and one I have done before so I knew what I was doing, till, it would be easy even for a beginner to make because the steps are very basic and few. I folded the fabric in two and cut from the corner of the folded angle, in a circular motion, half of my waist measurement, then measure from the top down for the length I wanted for the skirt and cut the same circular motion for the hemline too. And the open end of the fold served as the part with the seam and the zipper.

The inspiration for this was the big skirts Carrie Brashaw (SJP) wore in Sex and the city, of course I didn't use the extra lining to give it body like her skirts had, but that there was my inspiration for this one. I love the glide of the skirt over my hip and the roominess, it feels really comfortable.

I used a Rayon Crepe which I think is perfect for the flow of the design:

I have not made any changes at all. As I said, the patter in very easy and the steps are very basic and few:

I am certainly looking forward to making a couple more in other colours and I would recommend it to others as it is a style that works well on most body times and can be made in any length

I am glad took the challenge and I look forward to another one
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
What a fantastic fabric, and excellent use for it. You did a great job on your skirt, congratulations!
2/28/14 9:41 PM
regal80 said...
...that has got to be the happiest outfit I've ever seen...you did a great job and it looks great!!
2/28/14 11:56 PM
hopflower said...
This is a darling skirt both in pattern and fabric! It is one of the most cheerful outfits I have seen in a long time. Great job; and yes, I can see Carrie in one of these!
3/2/14 10:19 AM
pocen said...
Thank you all :-)
3/4/14 2:39 PM
Quickie said...
Veryjoyful skirt
3/6/14 10:53 PM
Margaret said...
Cute skirt, great print and fit!
3/8/14 7:38 AM
GloGlo said...
Cute skirt and very different! It's been a long time since I've seen a polka dotted garment for an adult. Keep up the joyful inspiration...
3/20/14 8:30 PM
sewingcanary said...
Love these ‘off-beat’ polka dots! Re sizing: I’m in Canada and sizes seem to be all over the map lately. RTW sizes seem to be radically changing. Some call it “Vanity Sizing” where a size 10 is now called a size 6. I recently purchased 2 new Simplicity shirt patterns and they vary 5” in the bust on a size 14. With many of today’s patterns being multi-sized, the best thing to do is always measure before cutting. Here’s a site that has size conversions for many countries: http://www.clothingisland.com/info.html
3/27/14 1:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6111

photo
by: ryan's mom

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now