SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> sleeveless top (sleeveless top)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in Inspired By The Movies Contest
Viewed 239 times 
Reviewed by:maria 6705
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About maria 6705
ON CANADA
Member since: 7/21/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/28/14 0:26 AM
Last Updated:2/28/14 0:46 AM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: sleeveless top by maria 6705

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by maria 6705

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Shirting - Rayon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
A self-drafted pattern for a sleeveless top with collar featuring centre front and underam bust darts. It was inspired by the wedding dress worn by Lucy (Sandra Bullock) in the movie, While You Were Sleeping.
Pattern Sizing:
n/a
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The collar and neckline are not exactly like the dress in the movie but there is a similarity. click here
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I put it together with a view to adjusting for a fit while going along, so the construction steps were not always done in the conventional order. For example, completing the centre back seam was one of the last things done.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I really like the way this project turned out, although it isn't a close copy of the inspiration garment, which is what I had originally hoped to make.
I would have liked the fabric flower at the centre front neckline to have been more like the original, but despite several attempts, I couldn't recreate it in the time allowed.
Fabric Used:
I used a piece from my stash of unknown fibre content. It looks and feels like rayon.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Changes from the inspiration garment include omitting sleeves, notches and trim on the collar, high yoke seam and princess seams on the front. And of course, shortening it from dress-length to a top.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might make it again with variations: sleeves, perhaps.
Conclusion:
Although this top isn't what I originally envisioned, I really like it and expect to wear it often.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
I think you have reached a nice top
2/28/14 0:56 AM
AnneM said...
I think your top looks perfect, just the way it came out. I like the less structured flower you ended up with. Congratulations on not only making but drafting your top.
2/28/14 7:50 AM
sewcrazee said...
Love the collar and the flower..very vintage looking...good job
2/28/14 1:57 PM
grey ann said...
Well done!
3/1/14 11:35 AM
KathleenS said...
Oh I remember this dress from the movie. I always thought it was a shame she wore something more "normal" for her second wedding. I think you did well capturing the look.
3/1/14 3:46 PM
lyndle said...
Pretty top! This looks lovly on you.
3/2/14 2:15 PM
ASiverson said...
This is a great top. Love the rosette center. TFS!
3/4/14 2:47 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Looks like a great wearable piece.
3/7/14 11:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6193

photo
by: nosila

Review
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now