SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Named Clothing> 05-011 (Jamie Jean)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 382 times 
Reviewed by:sacmabell
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sacmabellstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/13/08
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/14 2:51 PM
Last Updated:3/11/14 3:51 PM
Project Photo:Named Clothing: 05-011 by sacmabell

Named Clothing: 05-011 by sacmabell  Named Clothing: 05-011 by sacmabell  
Pattern Photo:Named Clothing 05-011
Named Clothing Pattern Info

More Info provided by sacmabell

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Stretch Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
I made these for the New To Me Contest and these are the additional questions specifically for the contest.

1. Why did you choose this Pattern Company?
I choose this company because I had seen a couple reviews of the jeans, which lead me to the company.

2. How did you obtain this pattern? (bricks and mortar store, online, downloaded)
This is an online order that came through email links.

3. Did the pattern meet up with your expectations- ie if a PDF was it easy to print. In general was the fit as described, was the pattern a success, company easy to work with?
The pattern was a PDF and was easily and quickly put together. It was only 16 pages! The fit was great, but I will need to downsize because these were a little big in the end because I lost weight and cannot figure out what size I am. I had a download error and needed to have the company resend. They were great and resent quickly.

4. Was sewing this pattern more or less difficult than other pattern companies? If so, why?
I am going to compare to Jalie, which seems unfair, but it is my TNT for jeans. Jalie goes into great detail for each step in illustrations. Named doesn't have as many. I do know that they revised the instructions just before I purchased. I did have an issue that is mentioned further in the review.
One think I really appreciate is that the seam allowances are on the pattern. It was distracting at first, but it turned out to be helpful. Even more helpful for those who are planning to make a muslin first.

5. Would you buy another pattern from this company? Why or why not.
I am sure I will buy another pattern from Named. Unfortunately, it will be a while because I am attempting to use the patterns I have before buying another.

6. Would you recommend this Pattern Company?
I would definitely recommend this company.

Pattern Description:
Skinny jeans with regular waist and slimming front seams
Nice and unusual front pockets. The thin pocket panel can be made of back side of denim or any other contrasting material
Choose an elastic denim or other medium weight, elastic material

Pattern Sizing:
The pattern includes sizes from EUR 34 to 44 (US 2 – 12, UK 6 – 16).
I made a 38, but I think I might need to make a 36 next time.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
For the most part. I think I may have made a larger size than I should have.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were pretty good, but the zipper instructions were a bit odd and not very detailed. I have sewn many zippers and this didn't say were to place the zipper. I had to rip it out and do it again. However, their version wasn't too bad once I figured out and guessed at the missing parts.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I really like the pocket in the front. I also like the curved waist. This actually sits well in my back. The front seam does take some getting used to because it goes right across the center of my knee--right where it should, but it is an odd feeling.

Fabric Used:
I used a black zebra striped tone-on-tone stretch twill jacquard on sale from Joann's. I spent less than $15! I actually bough extra and could have bought 1/2 yard less. This really doesn't have much stretch and made me nervous when I was sewing.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I didn't make any changes to the pattern. I did sew in a little different order to speed things up at the serger, ironing board, sewing machine, ironing board, routine. I did go on autopilot and sewed the back pockets on differently and didn't want to change them. I haven't hemmed them yet, but I like to wash jeans a few times before hemming.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will be sewing this again, but in a smaller size. After wearing them, I think they need to be smaller. I would definitely recommend this, but would warn of the zipper instructions.

Conclusion:
I will be sewing this again, unless I miraculously find something better first. It was an easy sew--only took 4-5 hours with many breaks and serger cleaning and set up, and a few mistakes requiring some ripping and resewing.

For more pictures and detail see post on my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $20.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
The seam down the front looks interesting! I see what you mean about going down a size. But it is always hard to tell with a new pattern company and fabric that doesn't stretch much.
3/1/14 5:16 PM
jenleeC said...
Great fabric! While this pair has a lovely relaxed fit it does appear you could easily go down a size.
3/1/14 6:17 PM
sacmabell said...
After a wearing these for a day, I need to drop a size. I cannot imagine these with a stretchy fabric. Hopefully, I didn'shrink them enough and they will shrink when I wash them.
3/2/14 11:25 AM
Sharonspils said...
Perfect fabric and interesting about the comfort of the seam over the knee. A great pair of jeans.
3/4/14 9:19 PM
Quickie said...
They look nice on you.
3/7/14 1:05 PM
LTC said...
Lovely fabric, they look very good on too!
3/12/14 4:08 AM
Jessica Dean said...
Wow! I am so intimidated by pants of any kind. You did a fab job! :)
3/14/14 12:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 6032

photo
by: tinflutter...

Review