SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Victory Patterns> 2001 (Roxanne Top )

7 more reviews
Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 808 times 
Reviewed by:dollston
photo

 
 
About dollstonstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/11/12
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/14 4:08 AM
Last Updated:3/15/14 11:01 PM
Project Photo:Victory Patterns: 2001 by dollston

Victory Patterns: 2001 by dollston  Victory Patterns: 2001 by dollston  
Pattern Photo:Victory Patterns 2001
Victory Patterns Pattern Info
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Poplin  [See other projects in this fabric]
1.Why did you choose this Pattern Company?
*I mainly chose this company for this particular pattern.

2. How did you obtain this pattern? (bricks and mortar store, online, downloaded)
*I bought this online from an Australian re-seller.

3. Did the pattern meet up with your expectations- ie if a PDF was it easy to print. In general was the fit as described, was the pattern a success, company easy to work with?
* It was as I expected.

4. Was sewing this pattern more or less difficult than other pattern companies? If so, why?
*I probably found this pattern fairly easy to understand and sew, but it is a pretty basic item of clothing.

5. Would you buy another pattern from this company? Why or why not.
*I would probably buy the hazel pattern from this range.

6. Would you recommend this Pattern Company?
*I would recommend it, they are fun, feminine designs.

Pattern Description:
Roxanne features a single breast pocket and a back yoke that releases a cluster of deep pleats, which add fullness to the body. The asymmetrical hemline falls just below the hips at the front and takes a dramatic plunge at the back.

Two style versions allow you to choose between three quarter length sleeves or a sleeveless blouse.

Two neckline options offer a simple front opening with ties that form a little bow, or get a little edgy with a triple pleated collar.

Pattern Sizing:
2-16. I used an 8 because I wanted a more slim line fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I added sleeve detail, and I did find that I had a lot more fullness with my version than in the picture, but the structure is the same.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, up until I got to the section on attaching the collar and how to include the yoke binding. I have no idea what was going on with the binding at that point, so I just took a guess and did it the way I thought looked ok. Otherwise yes, the instructions are clear and logical.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love how clear the drawings are and that the glossary is comprehensive!
I didnt like how at the very start it had you serge the edges, that made them far to large in my opinion so I ended up serging them closer to the seam allowance.

Fabric Used:
A cotton poplin and a cotton homespun from my stash.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added the little caps on the sleeves. I added them before I did the sleeve binding.
I also topstitched the collar instead of understitched as I wanted the contrast on the blue.

I didnt add the pocket.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I plan to sew it again but take a lot of the fullness out to better compliment my frame.
I would recommend selecting your collar material and interfacing carefully as I had a lot of bulk to battle with.

Conclusion:
I adore the collar on this top and I am so glad I bought the pattern.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
I adore the work you did on this collar too.
3/15/14 6:18 AM
LTC said...
Great looking top and love the collar detail.
3/15/14 6:55 AM
nothy lane said...
I love the collar. What a great top.
3/15/14 7:51 AM
Quickie said...
Yes the collar is an outstabding feature. Very special
3/15/14 10:31 AM
Dynamo said...
This is a wonderful top. Very unique.
3/15/14 11:50 AM
Berniejh said...
Very cool details
3/15/14 3:03 PM
stonecutter17 said...
I am in love with this collar! You did a terrific job, and chose a fabulous color combination too!
3/15/14 3:09 PM
Aafke said...
Well done!
3/15/14 3:20 PM
material excess said...
I think it looks good on you with leggings and the current amount of fullness, but I can see that you'd want to take it in to wear with any other kind of bottom.
3/15/14 11:36 PM
lamstu said...
The collar is great, love the reversed colors. The whole top is very new and unusual!
3/16/14 5:30 AM
Patti B said...
What a stunning top. The collar is just delightful. Thanks for a helpful review.
3/16/14 9:09 AM
STARG said...
Love the reverse fabrics on the collar. Very creative!
3/16/14 11:43 AM
beanchor said...
Great collar!
3/16/14 3:04 PM
Chococat said...
I love that funky collar!
3/18/14 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-10

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now