SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6700 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

35 more reviews
Viewed 294 times 
Reviewed by:HRigg
photo

 
 
About HRiggstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/21/10
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 83
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/14 4:44 PM
Last Updated:3/7/14 7:58 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6700 by HRigg

McCall's: 6700 by HRigg  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6700
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Pullover dress has fitted, mock wrap bodice,shoulder ties,elasticized shoulders and raised waist, fitted and self tie belt.

Pattern Sizing: 8 - 24 I sewed size 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I made a short version but yes , more or less.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the style of the casual look and low back. No real dislikes.

Fabric Used:Initially I chose this pattern for some shaded crinkle silk that I had in my stash but decided to test it and make a short "wearable muslin" in some jersey fabric.

The wrong side of the jersey had a rather nice sheen to it so I decided that I would make this the right side. You know what they say, if you cannot decide which is supposed to be the right or wrong side, go for the one that you like best. I made the wrong decision!. Once it was made up the nice sheen didn't look so good, in fact it looked like a cheap nightdress fabric. The right side was more dull but looked correct. So I decided that I would turn it inside out! I turned the side seams and made them into French seams. I left the neckline and sleeve hems are as they were. Fortunately they were quite neat, just tuned onto the outside. In fact I don't think anyone would notice that they had been sewn the wrong way. They could have been bound edges. The waistline casing which had elastic in wasn't a problem as it was covered by the belt. The shoulder seams were a bit more difficult. For these I used a narrow strip to cover over the little elasticated shoulder seam.I hadn't sewn the bottom hem so that wasn't a problem. I left the belt as it was the wrong way round.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Apart from the ones mentioned to turn it around, the only other design change that happened rather than being planned was that I didn't have a raised waist. It may have been because of the stretch in the fabric or because I am small but the waist ended up by being on my waist. I prefer this and I if I was to sew it again would check the sizing out and lengthen the bodice if the fabric didn't have the stretch that this one did. Some people have mentioned not using the shoulder ties. I find these quite helpful for keeping the dress in shape and on my shoulders. When I make very narrow ties like this which have to be turned inside out I attach a narrow piece of cord or tape to one end and sew it inside the folded tie, being careful not to catch it in the seam. I then simply pull it through the tie to turn it the right side out. The tape can then be cut off and the end suitable neatened. Turning the ties

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I didn't in the end use the shaded crinkle silk fabric that I had intended to use for this pattern, the reason for this was because I decided I wanted a pattern without a waist seam in order to show the gradual shading of the fabric. I used simplicity 2406 which I will be reviewing. (It wasn't in fact the best choice - all in all a bit frustrating).
I will however probably use this pattern to make another maxi dress and although it says it is for knits, I will probably use a woven cotton fabric.

Conclusion: Quite an easy pattern


Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tanyamaile said...
Looks great! I love the back!
3/5/14 6:48 PM
happytobehere said...
That was a great save! Don't think many of us would have the patience to turn a dress inside out. Love it, hope you enjoyed the cruise.
3/6/14 10:35 AM
SewLibra said...
Nice dress, I like the back a lot. And yes, great save on the fabric wrong side issue!
3/6/14 4:33 PM
caper81 said...
Very nice! Yes, great save, turning the dress inside out, and doing french seams no less! Looks great on you:)
3/7/14 9:05 AM
Ms. McCall said...
Great dress, really classy and flattering!
3/7/14 10:47 AM
marjieco said...
Beautiful dress, looks great on you.
3/7/14 1:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5824

photo
by: Pamaro

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: dillyo

Review