SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8595 (MISSES' TUNIC)

Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:beanchor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About beanchor
TX USA
Member since: 10/7/10
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/14 1:47 PM
Last Updated:3/3/14 1:51 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8595 by beanchor

Vogue Patterns: 8595 by beanchor  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8595
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
A detailed blog post can be read here.

Pattern Description: Easy to sew loose-fitting pullover tunic top has front neckline slit, optional collar and patch pockets, and your choice of sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: 6-8-10-12 (I made a 12 when I made this between kids about 3 years ago. I will make the 8 when I make it again.)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? This is a Very Easy Vogue pattern and it lived up to its name.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked slanted patch pockets and the over-sized collar.

Fabric Used: A Ralph Lauren chambray sheet. I took advantage of white contrast twin stitches and positioned the wrist and pockets so they would show.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did not make any.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew this again. And recommend it to others. I am surprised that this is the first review of this pattern.
Conclusion: Quick and easy tunic.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barebear said...
Oh, gorgeous tunic. I love that collar!
3/3/14 1:55 PM
madbadger said...
Very nice! I just love your work!
3/3/14 2:14 PM
madbadger said...
Ha, just looked at the pattern...the pictures on the package make it look like a frumpy painting smock not the stylish tunic you created! That's probably why it's not reviewed more lol - I never would've looked twice at this and now I want it.
3/3/14 2:17 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I was also going to say the pattern illustration looked frumpy and madbadger took the words out of my mouth. So fantastic in chambray!
3/3/14 2:43 PM
prttynpnk said...
You elevated this pattern- seriously- your version is adorable and the envelope doesn't even make me pause to look at it. Vogue owes you a check.
3/3/14 2:49 PM
STARG said...
Gorgeous top. I wouldn't have looked twice at this either in the pattern catalog. This is super cute and it's on the list now! Thanks for the review.
3/3/14 3:40 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
This is SOOO cute! And that 'Fro! Love it!
3/3/14 3:56 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
very, very cute!
3/3/14 6:16 PM
beanchor said...
Aww Thanks everyone! Wait a minute...You all make me question my style eye :) I always saw my version when I looked at this pattern. Lol!
3/3/14 10:33 PM
Danmar said...
I love the collar too! Looks great!
3/4/14 7:03 AM
knitsewmuch said...
Love your version. Much better than the pattern pic.
3/4/14 7:39 AM
VivianZ said...
Very cute top, much more so than the pattern cover.
3/4/14 8:28 AM
comocosews said...
I didn't like this pattern until I saw the top you made. Very nice
3/4/14 12:26 PM
kathlabath said...
Really cute! This tunic looks amazing on you!
3/5/14 8:02 AM
TJSEWS said...
You look great in your comfy tunic. Beautiful.
3/5/14 10:06 PM
Nana27 said...
Nice tunic
3/7/14 7:47 AM
jaeng said...
Wow, I love it.
3/9/14 4:30 PM
Sheenagh said...
This is SO pretty ... love that collar! And I really like your hair also!
3/10/14 8:31 PM
Melwyk said...
I've never even noticed this pattern before -- your version is so cute!! Love how you've incorporated the details on the sheet to add a little something to this top. Love it.
3/22/14 6:54 PM
MissyBelle said...
You look fantastic. I will be getting this pattern and hoping mine turns out just like yours!
3/25/14 10:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2011-128

photo
by: Irene Bull...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1003

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now