SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8595 (MISSES' TUNIC)

Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:beanchor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About beanchor
TX USA
Member since: 10/7/10
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 104
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/14 1:47 PM
Last Updated:3/3/14 1:51 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8595 by beanchor

Vogue Patterns: 8595 by beanchor  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8595
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
A detailed blog post can be read here.

Pattern Description: Easy to sew loose-fitting pullover tunic top has front neckline slit, optional collar and patch pockets, and your choice of sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: 6-8-10-12 (I made a 12 when I made this between kids about 3 years ago. I will make the 8 when I make it again.)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? This is a Very Easy Vogue pattern and it lived up to its name.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked slanted patch pockets and the over-sized collar.

Fabric Used: A Ralph Lauren chambray sheet. I took advantage of white contrast twin stitches and positioned the wrist and pockets so they would show.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did not make any.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew this again. And recommend it to others. I am surprised that this is the first review of this pattern.
Conclusion: Quick and easy tunic.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barebear said...
Oh, gorgeous tunic. I love that collar!
3/3/14 1:55 PM
madbadger said...
Very nice! I just love your work!
3/3/14 2:14 PM
madbadger said...
Ha, just looked at the pattern...the pictures on the package make it look like a frumpy painting smock not the stylish tunic you created! That's probably why it's not reviewed more lol - I never would've looked twice at this and now I want it.
3/3/14 2:17 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I was also going to say the pattern illustration looked frumpy and madbadger took the words out of my mouth. So fantastic in chambray!
3/3/14 2:43 PM
prttynpnk said...
You elevated this pattern- seriously- your version is adorable and the envelope doesn't even make me pause to look at it. Vogue owes you a check.
3/3/14 2:49 PM
STARG said...
Gorgeous top. I wouldn't have looked twice at this either in the pattern catalog. This is super cute and it's on the list now! Thanks for the review.
3/3/14 3:40 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
This is SOOO cute! And that 'Fro! Love it!
3/3/14 3:56 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
very, very cute!
3/3/14 6:16 PM
beanchor said...
Aww Thanks everyone! Wait a minute...You all make me question my style eye :) I always saw my version when I looked at this pattern. Lol!
3/3/14 10:33 PM
Danmar said...
I love the collar too! Looks great!
3/4/14 7:03 AM
knitsewmuch said...
Love your version. Much better than the pattern pic.
3/4/14 7:39 AM
VivianZ said...
Very cute top, much more so than the pattern cover.
3/4/14 8:28 AM
comocosews said...
I didn't like this pattern until I saw the top you made. Very nice
3/4/14 12:26 PM
kathlabath said...
Really cute! This tunic looks amazing on you!
3/5/14 8:02 AM
TJSEWS said...
You look great in your comfy tunic. Beautiful.
3/5/14 10:06 PM
Nana27 said...
Nice tunic
3/7/14 7:47 AM
jaeng said...
Wow, I love it.
3/9/14 4:30 PM
Sheenagh said...
This is SO pretty ... love that collar! And I really like your hair also!
3/10/14 8:31 PM
Melwyk said...
I've never even noticed this pattern before -- your version is so cute!! Love how you've incorporated the details on the sheet to add a little something to this top. Love it.
3/22/14 6:54 PM
MissyBelle said...
You look fantastic. I will be getting this pattern and hoping mine turns out just like yours!
3/25/14 10:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Burda 7493

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7739

photo
by: Julia Bobb...

Review