SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2406 (Misses Dresses)

63 more reviews
Viewed 292 times 
Reviewed by:HRigg
photo

 
 
About HRiggstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/21/10
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 83
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/14 4:43 PM
Last Updated:3/7/14 8:06 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2406 by HRigg

Simplicity: 2406 by HRigg  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2406
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses dress in three lengths with sleeve variations and self tie belt

Pattern Sizing: 6-22. I made size 12. Long version of sleeveless view D.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes more or less.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were quite straightforward for view D.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I chose the pattern because I wanted a full length dress without waist seams in order to capitalise on the continuos gradual shading of the fabric I was planning to use. As it was, the belt tended to hide the changeover in colour. I liked the idea of the slit in the back and the cut away shoulders. The pattern instructions have you interfacing the back facing down the slit and I did this but in reality it wasn't really necessary.

The bodice in the end however proved to be a problem for underwear. Whilst a bra with a low back fastener was ok for the slit back the bra shoulder straps were a problem with the cutaway shoulders. In the end I sewed the back slit up higher and wore a strapless bra. See photo.Back Slit I should have made a loop for the button but as I was running out of time just sewed the button on. I can go back to that!

There was very little shaping in the dress and with a belt it did look rather sack like. This may have been partly to do with the crinkly effect of the fabric which meant that whilst quite thin it was quite wide.

Fabric Used: A crinkly silk with shading from green to blue and with little sparkles.fabric
I had had this for a while, liked it a lot and waited till I could find the RIGHT pattern. Unfortunately this wasn't it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I fully lined the dress, essential as it was quite thin. I also had to "stabilise" the silk because of the stretchiness of the crinkles so the lining and top layer of silk were dealt with as one.

I made a self tie belt initially but then covered a 3" elastic RTW one which had a silver clasp. This worked quite well with the silk as the crinkle crepe stretched with the elastic. Belt
It did help define the waist, though the dress was still a bit too sack like for my liking. I may wear it loose!
Without a belt

Perhaps it would look better if it was short.

Even if the back had been sewn up completely it wouldn't have needed a zip. So you probably don't need to bother with one.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I'm not too sure about a dress but think I might make a top with the cold shoulder sleeves for summer. A short straight shift dress without a belt might also be OK.

Conclusion: An interesting pattern, lack of shape in the skirt being the only real problem. A suitable fabric would I think overcome this.

Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sheseams said...
Pretty, I like your fabric choices.
3/5/14 5:30 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
I think the dress worn with the belt is stunning!
3/5/14 7:38 PM
prttynpnk said...
I love this, you've made me want this version!!
3/5/14 7:39 PM
ISewedIt said...
Lovely fabric!
3/5/14 8:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
I love the colours, and I think the dress works well with or without the belt.
3/6/14 5:05 AM
Danmar said...
I like it both ways, with and without belt. The fabric is beautiful and I like the bodice style too
3/6/14 7:20 AM
VivianZ said...
I love the fabric and the dress is nice. Perhaps if you made a skinny belt the grading in the fabric would show up more. Or maybe just run and elastic at the waist with no belt. You could always make a blouse and skirt.
3/6/14 8:29 AM
grey ann said...
I think it is lovely, and a great use of a special fabric. I like it without the belt, but it is hard to tell how it looks from a side view. The belt is ok too. I agree with VivianZ about a skinny belt. how about a snake chain silver?? Great solution to the bra dilemma. Just a stunning dress with that fabric.
3/6/14 6:25 PM
HRigg said...
Many thanks all of you. I too liked the fabric a lot which was why I was a bit disappointed in the dress. Thanks for suggestions about a belt. I think the real problem is the fabric, because of the crinkles and because there is quite a lot of it (when it is stretched) it tends to "bunch up" around the waist.
3/7/14 8:05 AM
Baja Susana said...
You look lovely with and without the belt. Methinks you are on a cruise...
3/7/14 10:01 AM
wildberrymom said...
Great dress!
3/10/14 1:33 AM
Nina Johnston said...
beautiful dress :) would you be able to help me .. I am sewing this dress and I am stuck on #7 and #8 Thank you ahead od time :)
6/5/14 9:12 PM
Nina Johnston said...
beautiful dress :) would you be able to help me .. I am sewing this dress and I am stuck on #7 and #8 Thank you ahead od time :)
6/5/14 9:12 PM
MAD14kt said...
LOVELY :)
6/24/14 9:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
New Look 6115

photo
by: labbiegirl...

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now