SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Lekala Patterns> 4122 (Jacket Sewing Pattern 4122)

Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 861 times 
Reviewed by:marjieco
photo

 
 
About marjiecostar
CA USA
Member since: 10/31/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/14 4:29 PM
Last Updated:3/25/14 6:14 AM
Project Photo:Lekala Patterns: 4122 by marjieco

Lekala Patterns: 4122 by marjieco  Lekala Patterns: 4122 by marjieco  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by marjieco

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]

  1. I choose this Pattern Company because I read about them on Pattern Review and became curious.
    I have since ordered several patterns and have not been disappointed.
  2. I bought this pattern online
    It came in a PDF format in email.
  3. The pattern met and exceeded my expectations
    The PDF was very easy to print
    The fit was perfect
    The pattern was a great success
  4. The sewing was a bit more difficult because of the translation.
  5. I have bought several more patterns from this company.
    I love that Lekala does not use a sewn garment and a model for their patterns.
  6. I highly recommend Lekala Pattern Company.
    Their prices are very reasonable
    Their designs are fun
    I like that you can custom order your size
Pattern Description:

A cardigan with princess seams and a gathered band around front and neck edges. Designed for stretchy knits


Pattern Sizing :

Custom sizing done by Lekala

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Line Drawing

Yes, I looked at the line drawing a lot and it looked exactly like them with the exception of my additions of piping and contrast lower sleeves.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

No
, the basic cardigan is very easy to put together even with the instructions but, some of the wording was very hard to understand. After writing them in my own words I had an easier time understanding the translation. Some of the translated words made no sense to me. I understand Lekala is in the process of rewriting their instructions with better English.

Lekala provided 8 instructions, poorly translated, with no images.

When it came to the band the instructions were pretty much useless, either that or I just don't understand the wording. I tackled the band before I cut the cardigan out. If this didn't work I was going to stop right there.

I ended up making the band using the long pattern piece, gathered it to fit a lightweight woven sew-in interfacing. After I had the two pieces gathered and fitted I sewed the back neck seam. It was then ready to sew onto the cardigan. Gathered Band

I gathered over crochet thread and pulled it to make the gathers. You can read more about this on my blog Review

The instructions say to top stitch the band in place. I couldn't do that because of my band fabric fiber. These are decisions I feel are necessary instead of blinding following pattern instructions.

I corrected a small pattern design error, the band marking and band facing were drafted too small. The band is 2" wide so I made the stitching line and facing the same size. I marked the stitching line on the wrong side and tread traced it so I could use it from the front. It looks like the measurments were used from the facing not the band. I corrected both the facing and the stitching lines so I could thread trace my stitching lines. My fabric won't show marking, it barely shows the thread.

I laid the facing right side up matching it to the outer edge. Match outer edge

I then gently flipped it right sides together and pinned then basted it along the inner seam line. This assured the front curve would match when sewn.

I sewed it in place then turned it out so all the edges matched and basted them.

It worked perfectly. I didn't have to contend with a gathered band that would be out of control. Using the interfacing to back the band would be a good instruction addition to the pattern. Without the interfaced band this would be almost impossible for me to do. I had control over the band, it didn't control me.

I checked the band pattern piece for the button placement and couldn't see them clearly, so I looked at the line drawing for suggestions. I can see where they go but would suggest putting them where they fit your body best to avoid gaposis.



What did you particularly like about this pattern?

I like everything about this pattern. The length, the band, the princess seams and that it is a sweater. Although I doubt it would look good in a print. I am hooked on learning more about sewing sweater knits.


Fabric Used:

I have no clue what the fabric is. It is very soft, stretchy, and loopy. I searched for a name and found poodle or bouclette, to me it is a novelty sweater knit.

My fabric came from Fabric.com, it was on clearance, under $3.00. It came in 3 pieces. I didn't have enough big pieces to make the sleeves so I added the black to the lower edge. This is after I cut the top part in the black and didn't like the look. The black is a very stretchy snake skin print from Joanne's. It is very lightweight. I bought it for yoga pants. Bad idea, it is way to thin.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I didn't alter the pattern body, I did take about an inch from the width of the sleeves.

After it was sewn I raised the shoulder seam 1/2" and took in the bust in the side seam about 1/2".

I doubt I needed to do this because the measurements on the pattern were correct, the fabric is very loose.


I did add design details by adding the piping to the band and the princess seams.

Would you sew it again?

Yes, I will sew it again, it is easy to sew. The only issue was the fabric and figuring out the best way to approach the band issue.



Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, most certainly. It is a very nice sweater to wear and very comfortable. Once others sew the band to the interfacing they will enjoy making
it. The possibilities are endless with this band. I see it with lots of studs and gems.

Conclusion:

I am very happy with the pattern and my new cardigan.

I now have several Lekala patterns to put together. The fit, style, and price of these patterns can't be beat.

For more information you can visit my blog Finished Cardigan

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
Wow. It is beautiful. Great job.
3/4/14 5:05 PM
michellep74 said...
Great job! Your cardigan looks fabulous!
3/4/14 5:12 PM
crazygrad said...
That is super cute!
3/4/14 5:27 PM
Sew Whatever said...
I like the way you have solved the issue with the gathered band. Great colour on you!
3/4/14 6:18 PM
Danmar said...
Unique and attractive!
3/4/14 6:26 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
Lovely cardigan, such a pretty color! I've been wanting to make a Lekala pattern but keep hearing the same, that the directions aren't the best. But it's so nice to read a review that shows such great success.
3/4/14 7:14 PM
Judy Kski said...
What a great looking cardigan. I can tell by the photos that you really like how it turned out.
3/4/14 9:03 PM
sewing for fun said...
This was a very creative use of the wonderful fuzzy fabric mixed with leather trim. You did a great job and the colors are wonderful on you... I am suffering from jacket-envy! :)
3/4/14 9:07 PM
Sharonspils said...
Lovely cardigan, the band and piping certainly takes it up a notch.
3/4/14 9:29 PM
SewLibra said...
Great job and the detailing really makes it pop! Love the thumbs up photo. :-)
3/5/14 1:28 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like your cardigan and I like the gathered neckband idea. Great job!
3/5/14 5:23 AM
degnancy said...
I'm going to have to try sewing a cardigan! Yours is lovely. Thanks for the helpful review - I've been curious about lekala patterns.
3/5/14 9:43 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Love it!
3/5/14 12:35 PM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous colour on you! This is a really lovely cardigan. Thank you for the really helpful review.
3/5/14 1:26 PM
TJSEWS said...
Beautfiul. And I love the fun colors. You look fabulous!
3/5/14 10:00 PM
mangoflavor said...
That color looks great on you!
3/5/14 10:38 PM
Akino said...
You look beautiful with this colour. Congrats!
3/6/14 4:02 PM
runmyworld said...
Beautiful cardigan. Love the color.
3/6/14 5:14 PM
Quickie said...
Beautiful cardi. Good job . I like the gathered band
3/7/14 1:02 PM
SewWil said...
Great looking cardigan! Love the color.
3/10/14 0:11 AM
chenille said...
I love this! You look beautiful in that color :)
3/11/14 2:58 PM
frame said...
Your cardigan is beautiful. Nice job. Great review.
3/11/14 3:05 PM
Batik said...
Love this on you, great color and texture, bet it would translate into many different looks also. Good review.
3/11/14 7:04 PM
KathySews said...
I LOVE IT. The addition of the sleeve bands is a great "fix" Your instructions of the band is really helpful. I just learned that one of the English translators is a PR member. WooHoo
3/12/14 9:39 AM
jenleeC said...
Your cardigan looks lovely!
3/15/14 3:04 AM
MaryMacTree said...
This so Cute ! Love it!
3/20/14 10:21 PM
marjieco said...
Thank you all for the great comments and the votes. I had fun participating in the contest. The sweater is my third completed garment and first pattern review. I am honored it came in second. Thanks so much. Marjie
3/25/14 6:13 AM
VivianZ said...
Wow! Lovely sweater. After doing all that, I doubt seriously you are a beginner sewist!
3/25/14 6:44 AM
supizoo said...
Lovely and colour suits you so well. A very helpful review as well, thanks!
3/25/14 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated yoga pants

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now