SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5982 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:tanyamaile
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tanyamaile
CA USA
Member since: 9/20/10
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/14 5:16 PM
Last Updated:3/4/14 5:22 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5982 by tanyamaile

Butterick: 5982 by tanyamaile  Butterick: 5982 by tanyamaile  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5982
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by tanyamaile

Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Linen Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS AND BELT: Dress has close-fitting, lined bodice, side front seams, pleated and gathered skirt, back zipper, and belt with bow, knot and Velcro® closing. A/B, C D cup sizes.

Pattern Sizing:
16-24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Pretty much so!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, they seemed pretty straight forward, but I didn't follow the directions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the silhouette and the ease of putting this dress together. I finished this dress in a day from cutting to hemming.

Fabric Used:
Red rayon/linen blend

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I didn't put the gathers on the skirt and instead continued on with uniform pleats. I added some gathers to the sleeve and puffed it up a little as that's my personal preference. I also didn't make the bow belt and added a RTW one.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
YES!!! In fact, I already have! I made a sleeveless version with the boat neck in an eyelet and have plans for a cotton sateen one as well.

Conclusion:
This is a classic and simplistic pattern with an early 1960's feel. The silhouette is befitting of many body types and it's comfortable and easy to wear. The dress went together easily and quickly with few pattern pieces to mess around with. It seems well drafted and is one that I will be making more versions of as it's versatile and can be dressed up or dressed down. The dress with contrast color skirt is one that I'm really looking forward to making as well!

For more info, check out my blog post: Mrs Hughes
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renee' S said...
Love your dress, it looks fabulous. This pattern just went on my wish list. Thanks for the review & pictures.
3/4/14 5:30 PM
tanyamaile said...
Thanks! I definitely recommend it!
3/4/14 5:38 PM
madbadger said...
Very nice! Love the pleats you did!
3/4/14 6:25 PM
JennyQNY said...
Cute dress!
3/4/14 6:36 PM
Tindi said...
Lovely your dress and you look wonderful in it. I'm going to add this pattern to my collection.
3/4/14 6:37 PM
sewtime said...
Cute dress!
3/4/14 7:22 PM
Cristinagf said...
Very cute! Thanks for the inspiration to try this pattern.
3/4/14 9:14 PM
spankachutoo said...
Very pretty! Red is a great color on you.
3/5/14 4:45 AM
SandiMacD said...
This really is a great look for you! Thanks for posting.
3/5/14 6:45 AM
Dellia45 said...
You look so !HOT! in this dress. Well done.
3/5/14 8:53 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Very nice dress! Looks very cute on you.
3/5/14 12:44 PM
annie1129 said...
Love it! And red is definitely your color!
3/6/14 1:47 AM
Living Beauty said...
Great dress! And the color looks fantastic on you!
3/7/14 0:41 AM
Ms. McCall said...
Wow, what a fab dress, love the neckline and the skirt has just the right amount of flare. The color is just fantastic too!
3/7/14 10:55 AM
Ljwhite31 said...
I absolutely love your dress!!! I love the color you selected and the way it looks on you!!!
3/9/14 4:37 AM
Sheenagh said...
Love the colour and the style - you look really great!
3/25/14 5:44 PM
nothy lane said...
I missed this review when you posted it...am finally getting around to catching up on my patternreview reading. I love your dress. Nice work
6/27/14 8:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2512

photo
by: brandywine

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Butterick 5246

photo
by: cahmad

Review