SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5852 (Misses' Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 374 times 
Reviewed by:SewLuva
photo

 
 
About SewLuvastar
MD USA
Member since: 9/29/11
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/14 11:32 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5852 by SewLuva

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5852
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Fitted, lined dress has bias neck binding, yoke, seam detail, and back zipper.

Pattern Sizing:(6-8-10-12-14), (14-16-18-20-22) I made a Size 10.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes, it looked like the drawing on the pattern envelope.

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes, the instructions were easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?The color-blocking.

Fabric Used: I used polyester crepe.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I didn't make any alterations.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes, I would sew it again and recommend it to others.

Conclusion: It's my spring garment.
Blog
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
atymonw said...
I love your dress! The colors you chose are so flattering:)
3/4/14 11:46 PM
Sew Good said...
Isn't that nice!! I absolutely love your dress and it looks awesome on you!
3/5/14 0:06 AM
beanchor said...
Love the colors and the fit!
3/5/14 0:11 AM
Hauteaway said...
Why don't I have this pattern!?!? Great dress, and it looks wonderful!
3/5/14 1:03 AM
stonecutter17 said...
I love what you did with this dress! I tried the pattern and couldn't get it to fit very close, but it looks smashing on you! Maybe I need to try it again...
3/5/14 1:17 AM
SewLibra said...
Lovely dress and it fits you perfectly!
3/5/14 1:39 AM
sunnysewer said...
sharp!
3/5/14 1:40 AM
AntoinetteLynn said...
OMGosh. You and the dress are equally fantastic, really. I hopped on over to your blog (not easy for a 60-something y/o BTW) and perused what you did there. Our Lord has certainly blessed you with extraordinary talent as well as an eye for fashion. Thanx SEW much for sharing. I truly enjoyed your review and blog. May God continue to bless you.
3/5/14 2:00 AM
knitsewmuch said...
Very nice! You look marvelous.
3/5/14 2:23 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty! Looks good on you too!
3/5/14 5:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You make some very attractive dresses that accentuate your shape. Love this dress very flattering on you. Actually I like your version of this dress better than the models.
3/5/14 5:28 AM
QueenZ said...
You've done it justice!
3/5/14 5:30 AM
N_Vogue said...
Beautiful color blocking and they fit is perfect! The colors are gorgeous on you, great job. Thanks for reminding me to pull this pattern from the stash!
3/5/14 6:22 AM
sing201 said...
Beautiful dress love the colors
3/5/14 8:24 AM
Cathyaw said...
Just breathtaking! You and the dress are too beautiful...thank you.
3/5/14 8:55 AM
caroljeancarmichael said...
This is a great look for you.
3/5/14 9:47 AM
STARG said...
Gorgeous dress! Yet another one to add to my "need to buy" list.
3/5/14 9:59 AM
magoe6217 said...
This is stunning on you.
3/5/14 11:42 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Another hit! Just gorgeous!
3/5/14 12:40 PM
888pies said...
Stunning!
3/5/14 2:05 PM
HRigg said...
A really interesting style and beautiful colours.
3/5/14 4:11 PM
slmstyle said...
Amazing dress! It looks terrific on you! Nice work!
3/5/14 4:21 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So very pretty! Your colors are just beautiful!
3/5/14 5:58 PM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful! Stunning!
3/5/14 9:57 PM
Bonnie O said...
Beautiful!
3/6/14 11:41 AM
Onyee said...
Beautiful dress! Great job!
3/6/14 7:14 PM
CypGrl said...
Spectacular!
3/6/14 8:32 PM
Ilonka said...
Great dress! Perfect fit.
3/7/14 2:36 PM
cmarie12 said...
What a lovely dress!
3/8/14 4:20 PM
Lagolden2 said...
Your dress is smokin'- it looks like a dream- well made and well displayed-ready for the party?
3/9/14 6:53 PM
Someday2005 said...
Simply divine!
3/29/14 1:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6927

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
No Pattern Used none

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now