SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6884 (Misses' Dresses)

16 more reviews
Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:Ilonka
photo

 
 
About Ilonka
Hungary
Member since: 12/14/13
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/14 2:18 PM
Last Updated:3/6/14 3:29 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6884 by Ilonka

McCall's: 6884 by Ilonka  McCall's: 6884 by Ilonka  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6884
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Soon after I bought this pattern, the first review came out. That talked about all the disappointment this pattern caused. Plunging neckline and too much excess fabric by the tie. At the end she created a very nice dress but was put off by all the changes to get to that result. Lots of readers decided not to buy the pattern or just try the one with no gathers.
But by that time I found the perfect fabric for it and had the need to try it.
But I learnt from the review. I chose a very thin fabric, probably pretty similar to the one on the pattern photo and cut one size smaller than usual. The result is a perfect fit, super dress! I love the color and I love that no alteration was needed.
I only lengthened the upper part a bit so the tie sits on my waist. (The only thing I forgot to do is to lower the position of the tie on the left end of the right front, so I had to fix it later).

Pattern Description: Close-fitting, pullover, mock wrap dress with gathered right front

Pattern Sizing: 6-14

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, very much so!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Love the gathering and the fit

Fabric Used: Purple rayon spandex

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Lengthened the upper part by 1.5 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and yes

Conclusion: Love the dress. I expected it to come out nice but it is beyond my expectations! The fit is perfect. I really didn't make any changes to it at all! Love the fabric I used. It is so light and soft, hugging me like a dream!

Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Gorgeous! I have this on my list of weekend projects. I was deciding between two fabrics but one is heavier jersey...maybe I'll use the lighter ITY knit for this :)
3/6/14 2:57 PM
slmstyle said...
Great dress! The fit is perfect for you and I love the color you chose! I'm glad you had good results with this pattern as I hope to make it someday too!
3/6/14 4:10 PM
mnitts said...
Looks fab!
3/6/14 4:39 PM
WinterQueen said...
Another great dress from you! :)x
3/6/14 5:08 PM
SewLuva said...
I love it!
3/6/14 6:54 PM
jorth said...
It's perfect! You must be well pleased!
3/6/14 7:46 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Okay, I love it. I've been staring at my copy of the pattern, trying to talk myself out of trying it because the first review was cautionary. Thank you for forging ahead with it. I'll drop down a size and hope my results are as great as yours.
3/6/14 7:49 PM
Sew Good said...
I love your dress too! Perfect fit. I was scared of this pattern until I saw your review. :) Thank you
3/6/14 9:15 PM
chenille said...
looks great on you, thanks for the fit tip!
3/6/14 10:13 PM
caper81 said...
Smashing dress!!:) Helpful review also!
3/6/14 10:15 PM
JennyQNY said...
This is a gorgeous dress!
3/6/14 10:38 PM
portercs said...
Beautiful color. Looks great on you.
3/7/14 7:53 AM
HRigg said...
Lovely dress. Can see why you are so pleased.
3/7/14 8:25 AM
Renren said...
Great lines! Really perfect for you.
3/7/14 11:57 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Beautiful dress, perfect fit.
3/7/14 2:55 PM
becca a said...
Great dress! It fits you perfectly and the color is lovely on you.
3/7/14 5:53 PM
KathleenS said...
Looks great. I love the colour. I think you've persuaded a lot of people to try this pattern after all.
3/7/14 5:53 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very pretty! Congratulations for finding the key to success with this pattern. Sizing down seems to have made all the difference.
3/8/14 5:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3318

photo
by: slanden99

Review
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Simplicity 2994

photo
by: Bootzey

Review