SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 0585 (Snug fitting jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:Manuela HK
photo

 
 
About Manuela HKstar
HONG KONG
Member since: 7/18/13
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/14 6:01 AM
Last Updated:3/10/14 2:59 AM
Project Photo:Marfy: 0585 by Manuela HK

Marfy: 0585 by Manuela HK  Marfy: 0585 by Manuela HK  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Manuela HK

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Snug fitting jeans
Pattern Sizing:
italian 42 - 46 (I cut the 46)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The drawing isn't that great, half of the jeans are covered by a jacket

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Marfy patterns don't come with instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I didn't like that the pattern has no back pocket.
I liked that the front rise isn't too low, it ends just below the belly button

Fabric Used:
100% Cotton Denim (non-stretch)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- added 2" length (I am 5'8")
- added back pocket
- nipped waist at the centre back about 1/2"
- changed shape of back yoke (made it less pointed)
- added 1/2" length at centre back
- made front pockets 1/2" wider
- did contour waistband with side seams, instead of centre back seam

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I love the fit and finally have a TNT jeans pattern.

Conclusion:
I'd highly recommend this pattern to anyone looking for slim fitting jeans - it's somewhere between skinny jeans and straight legged jeans, exactly what I was looking for.
I just wish that Marfy would have been considered enough to add back pockets - I copied shape and positions of my favourite jeans' back pockets and it works well.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Those look awesome! That really isn't many fit alterations for jeans. I like where the waistband hits.
3/6/14 7:12 AM
nothy lane said...
Your jeans look amazing. I agree back pockets are essential for authentic jeans.
3/6/14 1:15 PM
CissieW said...
Great addition with the back pockets. Looks like the fit is perfect.
3/6/14 10:45 PM
Fictionfan said...
Very Very Nice! Very Nice. I Love the top stitching detail and the embroidery --or is it applique?-- on the back pocket. I'm confused about the side front above the pocket openings: coin pocket? on left, right, or both? One photo looks like there is on the left side, the other looks like the stitching is on the right. I only see one in each photo. Very Very Very Nice. Great job!
3/6/14 11:39 PM
Manuela HK said...
Fictionfan, the phoenix at the back pocket is an appliqu�. I made a coin pocket on the wearer's right side only. The picture of me wearing the jeans is a selfie in front of the mirror, sorry for the confusion... More pictures here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/108322972@N04/sets/
3/7/14 1:13 AM
Dilliander said...
These look like a lovely style and fit, thanks for the review.
3/7/14 1:46 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very nice jeans!
3/7/14 2:17 AM
Nana27 said...
great looking jeans
3/7/14 7:37 AM
SewLibra said...
Great fitting jeans! I am in awe of anyone sewing their own jeans. Inspiring!
3/8/14 1:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6525

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now