SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 0585 (Snug fitting jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 287 times 
Reviewed by:Manuela HK
photo

 
 
About Manuela HKstar
HONG KONG
Member since: 7/18/13
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/14 6:01 AM
Last Updated:3/10/14 2:59 AM
Project Photo:Marfy: 0585 by Manuela HK

Marfy: 0585 by Manuela HK  Marfy: 0585 by Manuela HK  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Manuela HK

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Snug fitting jeans
Pattern Sizing:
italian 42 - 46 (I cut the 46)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The drawing isn't that great, half of the jeans are covered by a jacket

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Marfy patterns don't come with instructions

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I didn't like that the pattern has no back pocket.
I liked that the front rise isn't too low, it ends just below the belly button

Fabric Used:
100% Cotton Denim (non-stretch)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- added 2" length (I am 5'8")
- added back pocket
- nipped waist at the centre back about 1/2"
- changed shape of back yoke (made it less pointed)
- added 1/2" length at centre back
- made front pockets 1/2" wider
- did contour waistband with side seams, instead of centre back seam

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I love the fit and finally have a TNT jeans pattern.

Conclusion:
I'd highly recommend this pattern to anyone looking for slim fitting jeans - it's somewhere between skinny jeans and straight legged jeans, exactly what I was looking for.
I just wish that Marfy would have been considered enough to add back pockets - I copied shape and positions of my favourite jeans' back pockets and it works well.

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Those look awesome! That really isn't many fit alterations for jeans. I like where the waistband hits.
3/6/14 7:12 AM
nothy lane said...
Your jeans look amazing. I agree back pockets are essential for authentic jeans.
3/6/14 1:15 PM
CissieW said...
Great addition with the back pockets. Looks like the fit is perfect.
3/6/14 10:45 PM
Fictionfan said...
Very Very Nice! Very Nice. I Love the top stitching detail and the embroidery --or is it applique?-- on the back pocket. I'm confused about the side front above the pocket openings: coin pocket? on left, right, or both? One photo looks like there is on the left side, the other looks like the stitching is on the right. I only see one in each photo. Very Very Very Nice. Great job!
3/6/14 11:39 PM
Manuela HK said...
Fictionfan, the phoenix at the back pocket is an appliqu�. I made a coin pocket on the wearer's right side only. The picture of me wearing the jeans is a selfie in front of the mirror, sorry for the confusion... More pictures here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/108322972@N04/sets/
3/7/14 1:13 AM
Dilliander said...
These look like a lovely style and fit, thanks for the review.
3/7/14 1:46 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very nice jeans!
3/7/14 2:17 AM
Nana27 said...
great looking jeans
3/7/14 7:37 AM
SewLibra said...
Great fitting jeans! I am in awe of anyone sewing their own jeans. Inspiring!
3/8/14 1:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now