SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> Chanel style jacket (Chanel style jacket)

Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:Manuela HK
photo

 
 
About Manuela HKstar
Hong Kong
Member since: 7/18/13
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/14 7:18 PM
Last Updated:3/17/14 3:12 AM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: Chanel style jacket by Manuela HK

Self Drafted Pattern: Chanel style jacket by Manuela HK  Self Drafted Pattern: Chanel style jacket by Manuela HK  
Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by Manuela HK

Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Chanel style jacket pattern specified for fabrics with obvious checks

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I initially wanted to use Vogue 8804 to make this jacket, but I don't like what princess seams do to checks (or oversized houndstooth in this case), especially at the chest area. Thus I used a self drafted pattern that has darts instead of princess seams

Fabric Used:
Linton silk/cotton tweed, lightweight cotton sateen for the trim

Would you sew it again?
This is now my TNT pattern for fabrics with checks or stripes, as it doesn't break them up in the chest area. I am planning the same jacket in black and white houndstooth with the same trim and a black and white striped lining.

Construction Details:
This fabric is soft, loosely woven and luxurious, but it frays and ravels the minute one looks at it, so it was either fully interfacing it, or do the Chanel approach of quilting it to the lining. I did the latter and used China silk as lining.
The original design is a Moschino I had a clipping of, and have lusted after ever since. At first I thought the trim is pulled through loops, looking closely at the picture, I realised that it is actually pulled through buttonholes - so buttonholes I made, 48 of them...

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bobbi B said...
Freaking amazing. Love. Attention getter. Well done.
3/6/14 8:04 PM
meggipeg said...
Wow, what a striking jacket. You've done an amazing job. Wear with pride!
3/6/14 8:20 PM
msladyj said...
Love your jacket. The detail is amazing.
3/6/14 8:44 PM
blondieinparis said...
Gorgeous! What are you planning to wear it with?
3/6/14 8:55 PM
Manuela HK said...
Blondieinparis, I'm wearing is either with dark jeans and plain shirts or a simple fitted black shift dress.
3/6/14 9:05 PM
Manuela HK said...
Double post, deleted
3/6/14 9:05 PM
chenille said...
Stunning - and 48 buttonholes??? Amazing jacket and thanks for sharing!
3/6/14 10:10 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Oh my gosh you must love this because I do! :) such creativity! Gorgeous!!!
3/6/14 10:13 PM
CissieW said...
OMG. I don't say that often, but this jacket is stunning and amazing. A work of art!
3/6/14 10:38 PM
Lori V said...
Simply stunning, every detail is amazing. Just fabulous.
3/7/14 0:13 AM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful.
3/7/14 0:23 AM
Adventurer said...
What a knockout! Just fabulous. I would love to see a photo of it on you, with the jeans or black dress.
3/7/14 0:25 AM
Sharonspils said...
Absolutely stunning jacket and 48 buttonholes and I imagine they are bound buttonholes, I am speechless.
3/7/14 2:30 AM
Manuela HK said...
Sharon, no they are machine made buttonholes, the fabric would not allow much else. Even then had to I use fusible interfacing and silk underlining under the buttonholes... I promise to wear the jacket when you and your sister come to Hong Kong :D
3/7/14 3:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
That is a gorgeous jacket. I love the stripe fabric used as the trim! Amazing!
3/7/14 5:24 AM
HRigg said...
Really inspired! Look forward to seeing it in black and white
3/7/14 8:22 AM
Danmar said...
This is outstanding in every aspect. Colors and design and workmanship. Would love more pictures
3/7/14 8:43 AM
dresscode said...
One of PR's best use of fabric. Thanks for showing.
3/7/14 8:53 AM
Manuela HK said...
Sadly, I can only post three pictures here. I have more on Flickr, I added the link in the review for those interested.
3/7/14 9:08 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
It's inspiring to see your creation. I've never seen the original, but when I first saw yours I thought it should be on a model on a runway. Beautiful execution. Thank you for sharing.
3/7/14 2:50 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! This is incredible work. What a show-stopper. The fabric and contrast are sublime. Your work is impeccable. Bravo!
3/7/14 2:54 PM
becca a said...
Amazing jacket! The fabric looks wonderful and the trim is a real attention getter against this fabric.
3/7/14 5:56 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous = a real stand out for all the right reasons. Great work
3/7/14 11:28 PM
STARG said...
Gorgeous jacket. I love your mix of fabrics.
3/8/14 0:33 AM
Ineedaname said...
Oh My! That is the prettiest jacket I've seen in a long time! I love it!!!
3/9/14 12:39 PM
NJcowgirl said...
OMG 48 buttonholes. It is absolutely fabulous!
3/10/14 10:28 AM
Lagolden2 said...
OMG -the emperor has too many clothes!!
3/18/14 9:21 AM
Manuela HK said...
Lagolden2, what a strange comment..., looking forward to see what you have been sewing.
3/21/14 6:14 PM
dkauf46552 said...
Truly amazing and gorgeous! Looks lovely on you.
3/22/14 7:58 AM
mudcat said...
I'm not a fan of the Channel style jackets but this one is gorgeous with the contrast between the two fabrics.
3/31/14 11:07 PM
Maureen Hole said...
So cool!! Very sassy! Great quality.
4/23/14 1:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5423

photo
by: sarahark

Review
New Look 6901

photo
by: CurlyCraft...

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now