SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2103 (Vogue Couturier Design Sybil C)

1 more reviews
Viewed 399 times 
Reviewed by:Graca
photo

 
 
About Gracastarstar
Member since: 7/25/11
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/14 7:26 PM
Last Updated:3/6/14 7:33 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2103 by Graca

Vogue Patterns: 2103 by Graca  Vogue Patterns: 2103 by Graca  
Pattern Photo: Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description:
From the pattern envelope: "Misses' One-Piece Dress: Semi-fitted A-lined dress has front yoke gathered to shaped inset band. Short sleeves and jewel neckline."

Pattern Sizing:
The pattern is a size 14, bust 36, hip 38.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, I would say so.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, the pattern and illustrations were easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I won't lie, this pattern was a challenge and at one point I swore I would never sew this pattern up ever again. Now that it is done, I'm thinking about another version of this dress.

I love the details, the gathered yoke, the underlining, the darted yoke lining. It really is a beautiful dress pattern that has a lot of attention to the details that you don't find now-a-days.

Fabric Used:
There are three fabrics that I used for this pattern. I used a polyester suiting fabric for the main dress fabric. The sleeves and front yoke pieces were cut in a cotton blend. I also used the same fabric as the yoke and sleeves as my lining fabric (only the upper back and yoke pieces were used for lining. For the underlining fabric I used a nylon organza and it turned out not to be a wise decision. I wish I went with a silk organza. I know better for next time.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I forgot that I have womanly hips and did not adjust the hip area. I managed to save the dress by letting out the seam allowance as much as I could. My bad.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Absolutely, I would make better fabric choices next time. And yes, I would recommend it to others.

Conclusion:
It really was a challenge to my sewing skills and patience. All is good, I'm quite pleased with how it turned out in the end.

For more details, Click Here.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dinagideon said...
Congratulations!!! It is really pretty. I understand the desire to sew up these vintage patterns, and Sybil Connolly has some very beautiful designs. So sneaky, aren't they, though, with all those hidden details that seem deceptively simple in design, but are really so difficult to sew up? ;) What is the plan for the next version?
3/6/14 8:22 PM
Elona said...
Aren't these old couturier patterns wonderful? Congratulations on a beautiful outcome.
3/6/14 8:25 PM
mmcp said...
Beautiful dress--I actually own a 60's dress that has these lines, and it is gorgeous. I'll look out for this one!
3/7/14 6:15 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
What a nice job on the zipper, good chose. The details are very nice. Thanks for bringing this old pattern and designer to my attention.
3/7/14 3:49 PM
Graca said...
Thanks, the plan for the next on is a small check, light-weight 100% wool I would love to sew a black leather piece at the yoke band. We'll see if I can find a soft leather piece. But I think I will wait until my summer break to work on it when I have time to focus on all the little details.
4/1/14 10:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Alice Top

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review