SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> House of Pinheiro (Brasilia Dress)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 387 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:3/7/14 7:28 AM
Last Updated:3/11/14 8:09 AM
Project Photo:Other: House of Pinheiro by squirrellypoo

Other: House of Pinheiro by squirrellypoo  Other: House of Pinheiro by squirrellypoo  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by squirrellypoo

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
New to me pattern company contest questions:
1. Why did you choose this Pattern Company?
Rachel is a fellow London sewing blogger and I totally admire her style and sewing skills. She drafted this dress for herself last year, then released it as a free pattern at Christmas and I'd been wanting to sew it and support her since!

2. How did you obtain this pattern? (bricks and mortar store, online, downloaded)
This is a free pdf download through the Kollabora site - I believe you have to be a (free) member, but it's easy to do.

3. Did the pattern meet up with your expectations- ie if a PDF was it easy to print. In general was the fit as described, was the pattern a success, company easy to work with?
I answer most of these questions in my main review below, but yes, the pattern was definitely a success, and the pattern pieces were very easy to fit together thanks to a 1cm grid in the background.

4. Was sewing this pattern more or less difficult than other pattern companies? If so, why?
This one was more difficult than most just because there were no instructions and only one size offered, but Rachel said it's because it's a free pattern, so I'd not assume that others she'd produce would be this way, too.

5. Would you buy another pattern from this company? Why or why not.At the moment, this is her only pattern, but I'd definitely buy from her in future if I like the designs - the pattern was easy to put together, everything matched up, and adjusting the length was easy to do, too.

6. Would you recommend this Pattern Company?
Yes, I would, especially if you're also close to the size provided.

I now return you to your regularly scheduled Pattern Review, already in progress... ;)


Pattern Description:
This is a pattern for a 60s-style sleeveless sheath dress with triangular waist panels, centre front seam, and diagonal bust darts.

Pattern Sizing:
It comes in only one size, which happened to correspond almost exactly to my Bust/Waist/Hip measurements (94/76/102), but the lengths were way off my own!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, it looks so much like Rachel's version, and the tech drawing!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
There are no instructions included, but I found it fairly straightforward to sew - you just create the front, create the back, and attach.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I utterly love the unique seaming! All the diagonals really draw the eye towards the waist and the shaping is very flattering indeed. It's a great classic sheath silhouette with great details.

Fabric Used:
Cherry red stretch cotton sateen (originally from Fabric.com I think?) that had been in my stash for years just waiting for the perfect pattern.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I measured and compared my lengthwise measurements to the flat pattern:
1. my bust point was exactly the same as the pattern
2. My B-W was shorter so I removed 5cm and smoothed the curves
3. My W-H was longer so I added 1cm

I made up a quick muslin and decided the neck was a bit too high for my taste so I lowered that my 7cm at the CF, too. The hem was just perfect as-is.

I also used the pattern pieces to create an all-in-one neckline and armhole facing, and I used an invisible zip in the CB instead of an exposed zip.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I totally totally would sew this again, and I'd recommend it even if you need to adjust for your size. Despite cotton's sateen's tendency to wrinkle in photos, this is probably the best-fitting sheath dress I own!

Conclusion:
I was asked to speak at the House of Commons about a proposed stem cell transplant bill with only ten days notice, so I made this up lickety-split! The red gave me confidence and is reminiscent of blood, and my speech went really, really well!

For more photos and construction tips, head over to FehrTrade.com!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Looks fab! That's sweet that you didn't have to make many adjustments:)
3/7/14 9:20 AM
Sew Good said...
It really is a lovely dress on you :)
3/7/14 9:39 AM
MichelleE said...
Now that is a confidence building dress!!! It looks fabulous on you!!
3/7/14 10:52 AM
CallMeSu said...
very cute!! great color!
3/7/14 11:41 AM
Quickie said...
Very nice stylelines in this dress congrats
3/7/14 12:55 PM
marjieco said...
You look great in your pretty red dress. Good job.
3/7/14 1:46 PM
Akino said...
Now, that's funny. I'm working on exactly the same dress for this contest. In my case the measurements are totally not my size what made it kind of labour intense, but I agree, the pattern is just very interesting. Hope my dress looks as good as your's does. Very becoming on you.
3/7/14 4:12 PM
jenleeC said...
Great dress!
3/7/14 10:58 PM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Lovely dress. The v dart is perfect.
3/8/14 0:46 AM
velosewer said...
You look fabulous.
3/8/14 1:04 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great fit and the fabric colour is very pretty on you.
3/8/14 1:53 AM
Levone said...
Nice looking dress!
3/10/14 4:11 PM
chenille said...
Looks great - I like that color on you!
3/11/14 3:04 PM
Jessica Dean said...
What a great dress. Wonderful fitting. :)
3/14/14 1:02 PM
Aafke said...
Great look!
3/14/14 4:59 PM
gaylee1949 said...
I have actually seen an identical pattern on the Marfy site.
3/16/14 5:58 PM
JEF said...
Great dress and love the detail about your House of Commons appearance!!
3/19/14 6:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: LizJaneB

Review
Jalie 2456

photo
by: TaylorMade...

Review
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now