SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Named Clothing> 05-011 (Jamie Jeans)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 665 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/14 9:30 AM
Last Updated:3/11/14 8:16 AM
Project Photo:Named Clothing: 05-011 by squirrellypoo

Named Clothing: 05-011 by squirrellypoo  Named Clothing: 05-011 by squirrellypoo  
Pattern Photo:Named Clothing 05-011
Named Clothing Pattern Info

More Info provided by squirrellypoo

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Stretch Bengaline  [See other projects in this fabric]
New to me pattern company contest questions:
1. Why did you choose this Pattern Company?
I always like to seek out new pattern companies and I instantly loved the design lines of these jeans - totally unlike any I'd seen before. I like that it's a small company founded by two Finnish sisters, and I admire the scale and breadth of the patterns they're releasing, too.

2. How did you obtain this pattern? (bricks and mortar store, online, downloaded)I bought this pdf pattern directly from Named.

3. Did the pattern meet up with your expectations- ie if a PDF was it easy to print. In general was the fit as described, was the pattern a success, company easy to work with?
I answered most of these in my full review below, but the pattern was definitely a success. The only thing that might throw some people is that the pattern sizes are only nested two sizes at a time, so if your measurements span more than two sizes, you might have issues.

4. Was sewing this pattern more or less difficult than other pattern companies? If so, why?Sewing this was comparable to other pattern companies - the instructions were well written and fully illustrated, and easy to understand. All the pieces matched up nicely, and were well drafted.

5. Would you buy another pattern from this company? Why or why not.Yes, I would definitely buy from Named again - not all of their styles appeal to me, but for the ones that do, I know I'll get a quality pattern.

6. Would you recommend this Pattern Company?
Yes, I'd definitely recommend them, especially since they overhauled their first collection patterns to make them even easier to use!

I now return you to your regularly scheduled Pattern Review, already in progress... ;)



Pattern Description:
This pattern is for trousers with centre front leg seams, banded front pockets, jeans-style patch back pockets, fly front, and curved waistband.

Pattern Sizing:
34-44. I've recently become more... compact in my legs due to marathon training so I made a 40 based on my current measurements. The fit is very close, so make sure your fabric is stretchy!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, my version looks a lot like the photos, tech drawing, and other versions I've seen around the web.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes - Named have recently revamped their first collection patterns. The instructions are now illustrated (though with some mistakes - I noticed they forget to say to close the pocket bags!), and you get all the sizes when you buy them, though they're still split into different pdfs (two sizes per file). There are 1cm seam allowances included, but the stitching lines are also marked, which is helpful.

Apart from a few mistakes, the instructions were absolutely fine, and the illustrations were very good.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I absolutely love the front leg seams and the way the front pocket integrates into them and you can use the reverse of the fabric for the top of the pocket. Such a great detail!

The only thing I would change in future is that these are just a tad more low-rise than I'm used to in my trousers, so I'd increase this a bit in my next pair.

Fabric Used:
The fabric is from Minerva (now sold out) and is a silver-coated stretch "denim", but which I'm fairly certain is actually a bengaline based on feel and the fact that it only stretches lengthwise. I learned this the hard way after cutting out my first pair according to the fabric layout (for the standard cross-wise stretch) and not being able to get them on past my calves! Luckily, I had a second length of the fabric that I'd not pre-washed (as pre-washing made most of the silver come off, so Minerva sent me more), so I was super careful cutting them out the second time!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I didn't make any fit changes to these, but I omitted the seaming on the back pocket, as I saw from my muslin that the detail is lost in my fabric anyway.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I will totally sew these again as I really need some jeans that aren't too baggy on me now, and I've got some stretch denim in my stash. I'd totally recommend them, too - it's a great skinny jeans pattern with great details.

See more photos and read about my tip over at FehrTrade.com!
Available for sale on PR: $20.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewiing Sue said...
I like the front pocket detail. I have come to think that skinnier clothes make one look thinner than roomier clothes, counter intuitive for me. I enjoyed your marathon video. Good luck there.
3/7/14 11:49 AM
Quickie said...
You did a good job persevering on the pattern
3/7/14 1:00 PM
CissieW said...
Looks like a great fitting pair of skinny jeans!
3/7/14 1:25 PM
marjieco said...
Looking good, I love skinny jeans, nice job, great pattern.
3/7/14 1:45 PM
Akino said...
The pants look really good on you. The details look very neat. When are running the marathon, and where? I did one too. With my husband. Was one of the best experiences in my life.
3/7/14 4:07 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Thanks guys!! Akino - I'm running London marathon in precisely 5 weeks' time. :) It'll be my 3rd marathon but I've been training like crazy to get a really good time on home turf!
3/7/14 5:29 PM
velosewer said...
Love the fabric you chose for these - very bad ass!
3/8/14 1:06 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Like the detail.
3/8/14 1:19 AM
Dilliander said...
These are great Melissa! All the best in your training and the marathon too.
3/8/14 2:58 AM
JNE4SL said...
Wow, looks great. Love this pattern, every version makes me want to make more.
3/8/14 7:47 AM
ColorFiberTexture said...
Nice job on these! Your photos show the pattern detail very well - thank you!
3/8/14 8:40 AM
becca a said...
These are gorgeous jeans and fit you beautifully! Your fabric is fantastic.
3/8/14 10:47 AM
AndreaSews said...
You're looking great in those new jeans! I like fit, always a challenge with jeans.
3/8/14 11:23 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Looking good!
3/8/14 10:13 PM
Akino said...
Thanks for letting me know about the marathon. Have fun with it. The pants look really good on you!!!!!
3/10/14 4:06 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jeans!
3/10/14 4:08 PM
SewWil said...
Your jeans turned out great!
3/11/14 10:42 AM
chenille said...
That's a great fit for no alterations!
3/11/14 3:04 PM
meadowclark said...
These are gorgeous!
3/13/14 7:15 PM
jenleeC said...
Great jeans! You are not the only one to have cut your bengaline the wrong way! My pants fit but they just kept getting longer and longer!!
3/15/14 3:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 4286

photo
by: Thomasina4...

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now