SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8043 (Today's Fit by Sandra Betzina)

2 more reviews
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:ErikaK
photo

 
 
About ErikaKstar
NY
Member since: 11/10/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/14 2:04 PM
Last Updated:3/7/14 2:05 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8043 by ErikaK

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8043
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by ErikaK

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses' semi-fitted, fully interfaced lined jacket w/princess seams, welt pockets, front button closures and long mock-two piece sleeves. Optional collar and trim. I made the jewel neck version with trim


Pattern Sizing:Today's Fit size A (Bust 32") through J (Bust 55"). I cut a size D and then put this away. When I returned to the project, I had lost weight so I had to make a few adjustments along the princess seams and side seams.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I like this kind of casual jacket, easy to wear...

Fabric Used:A wool tweed.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:As I said earlier, I had to take in quite a bit along the princess seams in the front, back and sides. This is only because I cut a size D but didn't come back to the jacket until years later after I lost a bit of weight. Had I cut the pattern out now, I would probably have used a size C with little pattern adjustments needed. I removed the button facing and just had the jacket meet in the middle, no fastening and I added self fringe along front and neckline and sleeves. I prefer welt pocket instead of the single welt the pattern had, so I used a faux suede to make the welt. I did follow the pattern for the single welt at the chest but I used the faux suede again to accent the top of the single welt. Watching Angela Wolfs Comtemporary Couture jacket series here on Pattern review inspired me to finish this jacket and she has some very helpful ideas in her video.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Great jacket, unforturnately the pattern is no longer in print.

Conclusion: I think this turns out to be a very classic jacket. Instructions for pattern very helpful for tailoring and fitting techniques.

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
this is AMAZING. That fabric is just gorgeous!!!
3/7/14 2:28 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous jacket! Love your fabric.
3/7/14 2:49 PM
Sheseams said...
Cuteness!
3/7/14 3:52 PM
Meomyart said...
Love it!
3/7/14 5:35 PM
Manuela HK said...
Beautiful jacket, and well done matching the houndstooth at the sleeves/armhole.
3/7/14 7:47 PM
marjieco said...
I love it, beautiful jacket.
3/7/14 8:05 PM
Lori V said...
I love this jacket.
3/7/14 9:10 PM
Lori V said...
I love this jacket.
3/7/14 9:11 PM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Very trendy jacket! Nice work.
3/8/14 0:12 AM
Sharon48 said...
Classic design and beautiful work. Love it!!
3/8/14 0:45 AM
Legal.Dealer said...
Lovely!
3/8/14 8:41 AM
ASiverson said...
I am looking for a pattern for some couched wool I purchased which I love. TFS and your review is helpful! BTW, Jacket is gorgeous!
3/8/14 9:43 AM
becca a said...
This is a lovely jacket!
3/8/14 10:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 5319

photo
by: canyonlady...

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now