SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Papercut Patterns> 1018 (Ensis Tee)

Viewed 244 times 
Reviewed by:mrsbewley
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mrsbewleystarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/14/08
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/14 2:41 PM
Last Updated:3/7/14 6:36 PM
Project Photo:Papercut Patterns: 1018 by mrsbewley

Papercut Patterns: 1018 by mrsbewley  Papercut Patterns: 1018 by mrsbewley  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by mrsbewley

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: From the website: "A comfy colour block knit tee that can be made with sleeve and hem cuffs to make into a cute winter jersey or a slightly cropped sleeve and curved hemline perfect for the hotter months. The perfect tee to keep you covered for both Summer and Winter!" I made Variation 2, with the curved hem.

Pattern Sizing:XXS-XL. I made an XS on top blending to a Small for the bottom.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, though here and there they might be a little too vague for a beginner. The llustrations are helpful.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I really like the color-blocking layout on this - I hadn't seen quite the same style from other pattern companies, even though you see it alot in RTW now. I appreciated that the pattern is printed on a mid weight recycled paper - better than the crappy tissue paper used by the Big 4. Also, they provide a way to fold and tape the instructions into a little booklet - very cute as well as practical.

Fabric Used:I used a thin cotton knit for the top block and a medium weight rayon jersey for the bottom. The pattern recommends "Firm knit fabrics with not too much lycra. Merino Wool Knit, Wool Jersey, Cotton Jersey.", but my fabrics worked out fine. My tee might be more drapy than the designers intended though.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I lowered the neckline 1 inch since I don't like crewnecks on myself. This was intended to be a muslin, and it turned out to be wearable! The striped fabric was leftover from a skirt I made this summer. I didn't go overboard trying to make the stripes match, but I did cut the pieces out on a single layer of fabric, so that probably helped. In fact, the pattern recommends doing that for all fabrics, which is a little odd, but not necessarily a bad thing I guess. Next time I might go down a size on the lower section, but that will depend on the stretchiness of the fabric.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will definitely be sewing this again - the color blocking makes this pattern ideal for using up odd pieces of leftover fabric! I highly recommend this pattern!

Conclusion: A very nice, well-designed pattern. This is my first Papercut Pattern, but it won't be my last! Many of their styles are a bit too youthful for me, but there are a number that would suit any age. I also bought the bomber jacket pattern - can't wait to make it up!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Nanna said...
Very snazzy tee! I too love the youthful vibe of papercut patterns but am a little outside their demographic, age wise! But you seem to have very successfully turned this into a garment that could be worn by every age bracket.
3/7/14 4:06 PM
trudiz said...
I am currently waiting for this pattern to come in the mail, so thanks for the timely review! You have made a very trendy and stylish tee. Hope mine looks as good.
3/7/14 4:18 PM
KathleenS said...
I think I'll have to get this. I do like the stripe/plain colour blocking.
3/7/14 5:57 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Thanks for the intro to a new for me pattern company. Nice selection of fabrics.
3/7/14 6:59 PM
SewLibra said...
Love this look and just added it to my wish list. Thank you for the review!
3/8/14 0:47 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
I've never used Papercut Patterns, but love what I see. Thanks for the review, you have a very wearable muslin.
3/8/14 1:23 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great top and review. You've given me ideas. The stripes match nicely; at least they look quite good to me.
3/8/14 6:51 AM
Danmar said...
Cute top! Love the color blocking
3/8/14 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Simplicity 5695

photo
by: Fairworthy

Review
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 4610

photo
by: Lisa Gaska...

Review