SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kitschy Coo> Lady Skater Dress (Lady Skater Dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 298 times 
Reviewed by:wingamajig
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About wingamajigstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/27/11
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/14 4:12 PM
Last Updated:3/9/14 11:14 AM
Project Photo:Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by wingamajig

Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by wingamajig  Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by wingamajig  
Pattern Photo: Kitschy Coo Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
The lady skater knit dress.
Pattern Sizing:
I made a size 5, with alterations listed below.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
YES! My version 2 looks just like the photos.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
This is the easiest, and fastest dress I have ever made. The instructions are great. I sewed it in 1 DAY ladies. And I am a slow seamstress. Let's just call this a modern-day walkaway dress.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like how fast this makes up, and how great it looks on. I also like that it seems to work in a range of knits. Did I mention how comfy it is?

Fabric Used:
I have made two versions, version 1 is in a green/blue/black/coral printed rayon spandex knit, version 2 is in a solid grey ponte de roma. Both fabrics were purchased on a whim at Joann Fabrics.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
On version 1 I made the neckline 3/4" higher due to a high bustline, and also dropped the hem on the back panel by 1", due to a big butt.

On version 2, I skipped the back hem alteration, as it was not necessary. My hem is even without it. I increased the neck height adjustment to a full 1" higher at center front. I altered the bodice to shorten by 2". I am 5'7" tall, but because I am an A cup version 1 was drop-waisted without this alteration. I also took 1/4" off the sides of each bodice piece, for an overall 1" shrinking of the waistline. I graded the skirt pieces back out very quickly - so really just trimming them for about 4" at the top to match the bodice.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I think I'll make a few more. This is a great pattern, everyone should sew it!

More on my blog:
Version 1
Version 2

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
Both your dresses are nice
3/7/14 4:19 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Thanks for the review. I am impressed with the even hem, my personal bugaboo. Very nice.
3/7/14 7:35 PM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
I'm glad it's comfy...cause it looks like it is. It fits you well and looks to be a very versatile piece.
3/8/14 0:34 AM
chenille said...
Looks great - I love this pattern too!
3/8/14 11:42 AM
ISewedIt said...
They both look lovely on you. I love that green fabric!
3/9/14 11:48 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Love. Especially the grey with bright tights!
3/9/14 4:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now