SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7587 (Vogue Classic Blouse)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Fitted Blouse - Skill Level INTERMEDIATE Contest
Viewed 889 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Australia
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/29/14 1:06 AM
Last Updated:3/29/14 1:14 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 7587 by acmena

Vogue Patterns: 7587 by acmena  Vogue Patterns: 7587 by acmena  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by acmena

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Fitted shirt has collar, collar band, princess seams, shaped hemline, mock front bands, side slits and narrow hem. View A has puffed sleeves. View B has long sleeves with placket and french buttoned cuffs. View C is sleeveless
I made View B but shortened the sleeves

Pattern Sizing: 8,10,12 I cut my usual 8 for the neck and shoulders, 10 for bust and waist transitioning to 12 at the hip. As it fitted as usual, I'd say it is true to size

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for the sleeves

Were the instructions easy to follow? Straightforward

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Princess seams from the shoulder - my favourite method of shaping. Short enough that I didn't have to remove any length for a change. Nothing to dislike

Fabric Used: White, heavy, italian cotton pique that I purchased eons ago from the old Gardams store in Brisbane. Luckily it wasn't showing signs of aging

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
The short sleeved version of the pattern has puffed sleeves. For me, not age appropriate, so I shortened the long sleeve to my preferred length and tapered them in about 1cm. The sleeve head had more fullness that I liked, but as I didn't make a muslin it was a bit too late to change after I had sewed them in.
I changed the method of collar and stand attachment. As I never fasten the top button of a shirt, I prefer to have the interfaced side of the collar stand on the inside where it shows, rather than the usual method of putting it on the outside. I also left off the top button and buttonhole, for a neater finish.
I omitted the rather dinky little pocket. Apart from the hems, I edgestitched rather than topstitched, my preferred method of finishing

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? This is number 3, so Yes, probably. I particularly like the sleeveless version and have made it in broderie anglais and Liberty print

Conclusion: A basic princess seamed shirt, perfect size for me as it comes. Taller and bigger busted gals would need to make adjustments
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjieco said...
amazing pressing, sewing, and fit. beautiful job.
3/29/14 1:14 AM
sewingcanary said...
Ah… finally… someone who does their interfacing the way I do. I’ve never understood why traditionally interfaced pieces are the hidden pieces (undercollar, outer stand, facing etc.). It never made sense to me unless you used iron-on interfacing that risks puckering and the like. I prefer sew-in for most things. I like to put it on the side that shows on collar, band, or whatever. It provides a stable underlay of the top layer and keeps it taut and smooth. It also hides seam allowances which can be a real blessing on lighter weight fabrics. Beautiful blouse – lovely, rich fabric and perfect fit. A WINNER!
3/29/14 2:08 AM
brandywine said...
That blouse is so sharp it could cut someone! Amazing! Ps. Gardams fabric is just the loveliest.
3/29/14 2:13 AM
Quickie said...
Fresh and crisp for summer ., you did a great job with this blouse
3/29/14 4:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A cool, crisp perfectly fitting blouse, beautifully made.
3/29/14 5:03 AM
acmena said...
Thanks for the kind comments. I agree whole heartedly with sewingcanary re the use of interfacing. I note also that the other review for this pattern number is not the same pattern. Although an OOP, its definitely classed as a shirt and is much more recent.
3/29/14 7:38 AM
mending maven said...
Wonderful workmanship! Impeccable!
3/29/14 8:00 AM
jannw said...
Beautiful blouse!!
3/29/14 9:20 AM
clumsyFingers said...
Very impressive. I'll have to try your method of interfacing, too. The results are so beautiful.
3/29/14 9:20 AM
sophronia said...
Another of many gorgeous blouses you've sewn.
3/29/14 10:34 AM
carolynw said...
Perfectly sewn - a real treat for the eyes! Great work
3/29/14 11:20 AM
Barbara3 said...
Just perfect on you. So skillfully done too.
3/29/14 11:44 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful work! Your new blouse fits you so perfectly, too!
3/29/14 12:36 PM
marec said...
My gosh, that's beautiful!
3/29/14 1:13 PM
bes said...
Beautiful blouse, beautiful work.
3/29/14 2:34 PM
AndreaSews said...
Perfect white shirt, beautiful.
3/29/14 3:24 PM
Danmar said...
This is so well made! And so well- pressed! I'm impressed!
3/29/14 3:34 PM
MrsCharisma said...
WOW. This is seriously perfect!!!!
3/29/14 4:15 PM
Sheseams said...
ooohhhh! :-)
3/29/14 5:02 PM
Judy Kski said...
This blouse fits perfectly. Nice job all around.
3/29/14 5:11 PM
Sew Whatever said...
This is a very classy blouse. Lovely
3/29/14 5:18 PM
portercs said...
What a beautifully sewn blouse!!!! Congrats.
3/29/14 5:50 PM
CallMeSu said...
very very sharp! a cleanness to aspire to! lovely shirt.
3/29/14 10:00 PM
Baja Susana said...
Like everyone else said, perfect, well-fitting, crisp, beautifully sewn. Good job!
3/29/14 10:46 PM
TJSEWS said...
Great fit. Love it!
3/29/14 11:15 PM
JuliN said...
Perfect fit and perfectly sewn. Thanks for sharing.
3/30/14 0:20 AM
SewLibra said...
Like everyone else says, it's perfect! The seams, collar, sleeves, fit...everything! Awesome.
3/30/14 0:48 AM
SusiM said...
Absolutely perfect fit achieved.
3/30/14 0:54 AM
Mary Nanna said...
the fit on that is just amazing - what a great looking blouse!
3/30/14 1:17 AM
wildberrymom said...
Stunning shirt--great fit and construction!
3/30/14 2:48 AM
Ginger S. said...
Beautiful blouse!!! The link to the pattern does not work. I'd love to see which one it is, the one I found online does not match the lines of your blouse. I need this pattern... :)
3/30/14 9:34 AM
canei said...
AWESOME!!!! AWESOME!!!! AWESOME!!!! I am a sucker for a white blouse/shirt...:-)
3/30/14 10:03 AM
threaddy said...
Looks far superior than any RTW I've seen. Bravo...standing ovation.
3/30/14 11:19 AM
ASiverson said...
Wonderful job! Gorgeous shirt. TFS!
3/30/14 11:19 AM
GrammaSewn said...
You NAILED it!
3/30/14 4:56 PM
linda 75142 said...
Perfect fit! Beautiful sewing!
3/30/14 5:40 PM
Ms. Monica G said...
Your results are truly amazing!
3/30/14 8:31 PM
hopflower said...
This project is just pristine! Absolutely sharp and gorgeous. Great job!
3/31/14 10:08 AM
annem54 said...
Lovely blouse. I aspire towards such perfection!
3/31/14 11:09 AM
materialgirl1950 said...
Excellent job! Shows precision sewing.
4/1/14 12:47 PM
tiadia said...
What a perfect fit on this shirt!
4/3/14 12:22 PM
j Renee Design said...
What a lovely, perfect looking blouse. Better than RTW!
4/4/14 2:58 PM
acmena said...
Thankyou everyone for your kind comments. I've scanned the pattern envelope and added it for those interested. A couple of comments referred to my pressing. I do take particular care with it. I always press a seam flat as sewn first, to set the stitches and I NEVER sew across an unpressed seam. It does make a difference.
4/4/14 7:34 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely work and great fit!
4/6/14 11:47 AM
Mimi O said...
Turned out very nice!
4/8/14 8:50 AM
tputsche said...
Beautiful job!
4/9/14 0:26 AM
mrsdoc said...
Inspiring! You did beautiful work on a nice "classic"! Thank you for all the detailed information and the pattern envelope to see - very helpful. I'm surprised you didn't make a muslin first, it's such a nice fitting job! Congratulations and thank you for the inspiration...
4/23/14 11:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Burda 7495

photo
by: highCsopra...

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6110

photo
by: zaffu

Review