SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1028 (Moneta)

20 more reviews
Viewed 422 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/14 1:46 AM
Last Updated:4/26/14 1:51 AM
Project Photo:Colette Patterns: 1028 by chenille

Colette Patterns: 1028 by chenille  Colette Patterns: 1028 by chenille  
Pattern Photo:Colette Patterns 1028
Colette Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
"All three styles of Moneta dresses have a gently curved, wide neckline, a fitted bodice, and a shirred skirt with in-seam pockets. Version 1 is a sleeveless dress with a lined bodice and narrow round collar that laps at the center back. Version 2 has an unlined bodice and short sleeves, while version 3 has an unlined bodice and 3/4-length sleeves."
There is also a free download for 5 additional collars on the website
Pattern Sizing:
XS-3XL , I made the M and feel like it fits true to size
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes, I made Version 1 and omitted the collar.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. I did use the tip for gathering with elastic and it worked pretty well, although it does require a firm hand both in front of and behind the pressor foot. I tried the lining method again (it's the same one Named patterns use) and I just find it's easier to do the burrito method and sew the side seams last/
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love this pattern - well drafted, easy to adjust/adapt, love the lower neck in the back, and that the skirt is shaped and not just a gathered rectangle and it has pockets! The skirt has just the right amount of volume. It was nice to have extra notches to match the gathering of the skirt to the bodice. I also appreciate that fabric stretch ratio is given.
Dislikes - I want to see waist markers on patterns - some of us have high or low waistlines and personally, I find it helpful to know where that design line should be.
My version is actually sitting a couple of inches below my natural waist = 3 fingers above my navel on me.
Fabric Used:
cotton jersey from Girl Charlee
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
This was my muslin and I started with the M. Hyper erect back- I took out 1.5" from CB. I also need to remove a little length from the mid back area in the next version.
I think I figured out that I have posterior shoulder roll and I need to carve out a little bit more from the back armhole, and shorten + add width to the front AH curve. I had to take in an armsyce dart to stop some AH gaping, but if my arm was in a "normal" neutral position, the armhole curve would have been perfect.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I plan on sewing many more versions of this in various lengths and as separates. Some of the collar variations are really cute! Absolutely recommend this.
Conclusion:
I love this dress! It's a classic that's also quick and easy to sew.
I'm pretty sure my mom wore dresses like these when I was really young.
Never say never.... :D

Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
supizoo said...
Fabulous fabric made up into a really lovely dress. I wish I knew my fitting needs as well as you know yours!
4/26/14 3:44 AM
Speech girl said...
Very pretty!
4/26/14 7:18 AM
Quickie said...
Rour dress is very lovely
4/26/14 7:32 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
I so appreciate the sewing community's help with alterations. Lovely dress, belt is perfect.
4/26/14 9:44 AM
michellep74 said...
Lovely dress! I have yet to see a Moneta that doesn't look great on the wearer!
4/26/14 1:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks great on you. Review was most helpful.
4/27/14 9:20 AM
tlc246 said...
Super helpful review, very in depth. I think the dress and fabric choice are lovely. Can you explain more about taking out 1.5" from CB? I would appreciate it.
4/28/14 1:38 PM
Danmar said...
Very nice-well done!
4/28/14 7:57 PM
Clareew said...
I love your dress, it looks so comfy yet stylish
8/26/14 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now