SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 281988-1013 (Coco Cap)

Viewed 139 times 
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/22/14 0:06 AM
Last Updated:5/29/14 1:43 AM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: 281988-1013 by SavageCoco

Self Drafted Pattern: 281988-1013 by SavageCoco  Self Drafted Pattern: 281988-1013 by SavageCoco  
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:BarkCloth  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATED WITH PHOTOS
I jacked my neighbor as she was smugly strutting by wearing MY Coco Chapeau and made her stand still long enough for me to nab a few snaps. Here's the project pics. Enjoy!

Pattern Description: Brimmed Sun Cap
I TOLD you making hats is addictive.

Pattern Sizing: For Fat Heads. Like my neighbor.

Did it look like the cap you tore apart to make a new cap once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Did you make up the sewing instructions as you went along? Yes!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It was small. As in small pattern pieces. And I re-used the existing brim from the original cap.

Fabric Used: Scraps of Bark Cloth from a jacket I found in the back of my Mom's closet. (I think I may have made it for her about 20 years ago based on the size of the shoulders pads. No wonder she never wore it. Cool fabric though.) Here's a link for those of you who didn't see the first hat I made from this fabric. One jacket = two hats. Told you those shoulders were big.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I ix-nayed the floral embroidery trim on the original cap. And the tourist attraction embroidery on the brim as well.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will and I do! Everybody needs a sun cap, especially if you run about town like a mad badger in your convertible roadster. What? You don't have a convertible? Well, either go GET YOURSELF ONE RIGHT NOW or just make this hat and people will think you do. Which is sorta nearly as good.

Conclusion: I think this cap came out pretty cute. Apparently, so did my fat headed neighbor who put it on and exclaimed "Oh My Gosh, it fits!" then walked out the door with it on her head. WHY do I let That Woman in my house? I never learn.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cocosloft said...
I love this! I wear this style all the time, you did a great job and have inspired me!
5/23/14 9:00 AM
Sewingmi said...
That is so awesome! And your review was so funny - totally made my day!
5/23/14 12:01 PM
Dilliander said...
Really fun review and great cap!
5/29/14 1:46 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Thanks for the review! Cute cap. Fun fabric. List of things to do: must make hat!
5/29/14 9:04 AM
meggipeg said...
Who needs instructions right!? It looks gorgeous. Just one question: when can I move in next door to you?
5/29/14 10:08 PM
kv said...
So cute!
8/27/14 0:00 AM
kv said...
You up for sharing that pattern?
8/27/14 0:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Butterick 7933

photo
by: nosila

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6201

photo
by: DianaFF

Review