Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8026 - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1044 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Shona
photo
Friend of PR
About Shonastar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/05 5:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
I can't believe they rated this as easy - - - that's absurd! I think the reason it doesn't look like you'd like is that the your bust apex is lateral to where the patten's apex is. Other than than, it looks just right.
7/16/05 5:51 PM
purpleseamstress said...
If you do make it again, try a light or med. blue. I bet that would look incredible with your complexion and hair color. The orange salmon sure is a pretty color, too. Very striking.
7/16/05 6:35 PM
Teri said...
I think the skirt looks great! I love the tab in the back, very cool looking. I don't think the top looks bad at all, but I know what you mean about feeling confining, I don't like it either:)
7/16/05 6:45 PM
jlg said...
Sorry that your top was disappointing, particularly after all of that work. Thanks for the review. By the way, your flowers are beautiful.
7/16/05 8:31 PM
CSY said...
Shona, I think the top looks really nice on you. The skirt looks a bit too big or too long or needs to be tapered in at the hem, or something. Not sure. I think this look is flattering on you. I like the retro look and you did a nice job on a pattern that really does not look like an EASY.
7/17/05 0:25 AM
CSY said...
Shona, I think the top looks really nice on you. The skirt looks a bit to big or too long or needs to be tapered in at the hem, or something. Not sure. I think this look is flattering on you. I like the retro look and you did a nice job on a pattern that really does not look like and EASY.
7/17/05 0:26 AM
PixieCat said...
When I saw the photo I thought Oh, how lovely. Then I read that it didn't work for you. I agree that confining clothes, especially in summer, are uncomfortable. But I do think your outfit looks nice and wouldn't rate wadder status. You did a beautiful job despite the vague instructions.
7/17/05 4:46 AM
ryan's mom said...
Despite your reservations with the pattern and the confining fit, it really does look great on you. I saw the pic and thought, "Wow! That's a lovely outfit."
7/17/05 8:16 AM
AnneM said...
Easy? Yeah, right. Love that back tab detail, though. Definitely wearable, even if not just what you wanted.
7/17/05 8:28 AM
Stilltheone said...
I think you did a great job and it looks beautiful! Thanks for telling us about the pattern.
7/17/05 8:41 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your outfit is lovely and definitely wearable. Just a few minor fit tweaks will have the next one perfect. Very nice back detail on the skirt.
7/17/05 8:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this outfit and though you are not crazy about it there are some flattering points about it on you. I think your skirt looks a little big in the hip area, but overall I think you look good in the suit. I love the back vent touch. Maybe put it aside and give it some time to "season" and maybe try it again. I understand your frustration when things don't come out exactly as planned or how you thought it would be. Most all of us had made up some of those. Thanks for reviewing.
7/17/05 8:50 AM
BjP said...
If Vogue rated this as Easy, I hate to think what I'm in for in a pattern I just bought that was Advanced! Yikes. Anyway, I agree with everyone else: top is lovely on you, skirt looks just a tad big through the hips and definitely saveable since it has that lovely back tab detail! Great color and a nice review.
7/17/05 10:09 AM
Shona said...
Thanks for the encourgement and helpful comments everyone. I think part of what bothered me was that usually a peplum makes the bottom look a little smaller, but this seemed to be the opposite. I'll try taking in the skirt a bit. I've heard a camera is better than a mirror, but lots of eyes are wonderful too.
7/17/05 12:02 PM
Skymom said...
I like this on you, aside from the wonky fit Vogue seems to have supplied. I'll bet it you take in the skirt, and taper it slightly toward the hem, you'll get more of the hourglass shape that the pattern promises. Meanwhile, I think the bold color with contrasting buttons is very smart and fresh.
7/17/05 1:54 PM
Chell said...
You're right - the pattern sketch doesn't look too much like the top you sewed. Guess you have to have a long thin torso ;~) Thank you, though, for your review because now I don't think I'll waste my time & money on this pattern. It's probably more suited to long thin bodies. (Not mine!)
7/17/05 1:57 PM
Nikoo said...
I think you look great!! Some of the details on the suit are nice. I agree about the taking in of the skirt will make your great looking suit even better.
7/17/05 9:53 PM
Joan Cramer said...
Honestly I think it looks nice--I opened the picture before I read a word of your review and I would never have guessed "wadder" from the photo. Maybe you could put it in the closet until fall--when it's cooler you won't mind the close fit, and the warm color will look great in autumn too.
7/19/05 10:50 PM
Berenices said...
I read the instructions last night, and was annoyed by the incomplete nature of them. So, I was glad to find your review, and verification that my feelings about the instructions were "not just me." Thank you for your detailed review.
10/24/06 3:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1051
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/29/08
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8087
photo
Review by Maree P on 10/18/09
Read Review

McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us