Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3276 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2273 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR
About Learn To Sewstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:10 AM
Last Updated:8/7/06 8:22 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I read your profile, and couldn't agree more: sewing is no fun at all if things don't fit. I'm glad you've found a pattern that works and earns you compliments.
7/18/05 8:54 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your skirt. The jacket on this pattern looks like it would be fairly straight-forward to try. Linen is nice to work with.
7/19/05 4:28 AM
ryan's mom said...
Any chance for some pics soon? I would love to see the result of your effort with this.
11/22/05 9:52 AM
Em's Summer said...
The print on your RTW shirt is really nice! Very summery! Good choice!
6/28/06 10:14 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I think shortening the top 4 -5 " (hard to tell from photo) would work. The top would then hit at high hip, which would divide your figure more attractively, more at mid-point so to speak. I agree with the other comments, the skirt is well done and flattering. You got the hem length right first try! It took me ages to find the right hem length for skirts, and you got it right from the get-go. Great job!
6/29/06 0:11 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I agree, a different top that fits you will flatter this skirt. The skirt is a canvas to show off a great top. This top is just too big for you, but I really like the fabric. Also, the skirt length is perfect.
6/29/06 0:12 AM
Debbie Cook said...
The skirt is great and the colors of the blouse are perfect with it. If you're up for a bit of redesign, I'd shorten the sleeves so they don't hit at bust level, shorten/shape the hem, and nip in the waist at the sideseams. These are all pretty easy alterations for RTW. You could try just basting them before committing, to see if you like the changes.
6/29/06 2:18 AM
wvsher said...
That is a nice length for the skirt on you. I don't think the RTW shirt looks boxy on. I think the length of it is nice with the shorter skirt.
6/29/06 11:32 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Ok, I need to baste my sewing by shortening the sleeves and taking in the sides a bit. If I do the sides, won't it make the hem wonky? I thought maybe I should take in the upper bust in the princess seams just a tad.
6/29/06 11:47 AM
PVA said...
Carol, thanks for the review. I like the length of your skirt alot, & I agree with Debbie's suggestions. The colors of the skirt & shirt really work well together.
6/29/06 5:36 PM
KimB said...
I agree that the skirt length is perfect...it shows off your nice shapely legs! THe color is also beautiful. I often find that with a straighter skirt, I feel "boxy"...something with some noteable flare at the bottom feels more proportionate to me.
6/29/06 10:13 PM
Vonnevo said...
The colours and style work well for you. I agree with the suggestions Debbie and Sherrill have given. I am thrilled to see your review and look forward to more now you have your new machine.
7/2/06 1:23 AM
Learn To Sew said...
I took this shirt into Liz, to be altered. I put it on and she told me I did not have to do the alterations I was planning on. I thought I would have to take in the princess seams and as they are a felled type, I was not sure how to do it. She pinched out an inch at the shoulder/armhole. Better! this also raises the sleeves up and they will not end at my bust anymore. Then she pinched out some under the sleeve at the side. I looked in the mirror and it looks so much better. She will do the changes, as I was not sure I had the skills for them yet. I'd hate to mess up one of my favorite blouses, when I am not sure I have the skills necessary to fix it.
7/2/06 2:44 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your skirt is very pretty on you! You have nice slim legs and the skirt shows off your legs! I agree with Sherril and Debbie- a more fitted top will make this a stunning outfit on you. I also like your haircut- it is very cute!
7/2/06 3:16 PM
AnneM said...
You are way too hard on yourself. The outfit is lovely. I often have to do that same type of alteration - bringing up the shoulders. I'm just figuring it out also! Take Shannon's Muslin class next time it is offered on-line here. It is very informative.
7/27/06 9:28 AM
PVA said...
Carol, I really like the updated version. I agree with whoever said you're way too hard on yourself! BTW, I think you've found the ideal skirt-length for you. Thanks for the update!
8/7/06 11:20 PM
shard said...
PVA's right about the skirt length. The skirt is really cute on you.
8/7/06 11:40 PM
Ronda Rae said...
I, also think it looks good. The fit may be a little too big- but NOT MUCH. You're too hard on yourself.
8/8/06 7:05 AM
ryan's mom said...
I really think your outfit looks lovely on you. In fact, maybe even going a little shorter with the skirt to show off your legs.
8/9/06 8:21 AM
Sewliz said...
I like the skirt length and new shape, I think it looks great on you. Love that color too. Just a couple of inches in one piece can throw off the proportions of the whole outfit. The new trimmer skirt might need a new trimmer blouse. Although I like the one you have on, the colors go so well together.
8/9/06 9:16 AM
Learn To Sew said...
I bought a cotton tee shirt to go with the skirt. I actually like it better than the blouse, which is still too big on me. I wore the blouse so I could see if the changes were enough or not. Sadly, no, they are not enough yet. Now I need to take in the waist and give it some shape.
8/9/06 11:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 3567 Tops
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/30/13
Read Review

McCalls 6659 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6659 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3744 Threads dress
photo
Review by MyMothersD... on 5/16/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us