SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 8311 (E.T. Alien Costume Pattern)

Viewed 59 times 
Reviewed by:sk8rcruz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sk8rcruzstar
CA United States
Member since: 5/30/14
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/14 11:42 AM
Last Updated:8/24/14 6:45 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 8311 by sk8rcruz

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by sk8rcruz

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Fabric:Cotton Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
This is a kids costume that was very popular when the movie first came out.
Pattern Sizing:
I used a Small 6-8. My daughter was about 6 at the time I made this.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
They were very detailed. It helped that I had seen the movie, too.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Their are little elastic straps to hold the hands and feet pieces to the child. The face is really easy for a child to remove.
Fabric Used:
A cotton blend that felt like a lightweight fleece. More like a flannel.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened it in a few places, but it was still a little long on her.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
My daughter is now 35 and is expecting her first child in January 2015. I just purchased a copy to make for her son when he turns 4.

Conclusion:
This was a wonderful time in our lives and I am so glad we have this one picture! It does not do justice in showing the anticipation and excitement she felt over getting to wear this home made costume to school on Halloween!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
My oldest is 35 too and I do remember the joy my boys experienced wearing the costumes I made! Wonderful job on your costume!
10/21/14 11:58 AM
Claire Dolman said...
I have this pattern in my stash, and a nephew of 4..... I have no excuses really do I! This has inspired me to get this pattern out of the loft. Your costume was really cute, hope your grandbaby enjoys theirs.
9/12/14 5:16 AM
Jodi Lynn said...
Awesome!
8/28/14 7:37 PM
Sheenagh said...
Very sweet - reading this really made me smile :)
8/25/14 7:48 PM
sk8rcruz said...
Thanks to all of you for the wonderful comments! I will be sure to post a review of the grandchild wearing the remake in a few years!!!
8/25/14 8:15 AM
NhiHuynh said...
This costume is amazing. I love it. OMG if I were a kid I'd be bouncing off the walls with excitement.
8/25/14 1:44 AM
Mopsgirl89 said...
How precious and sweet to make this costume for both your daughter and grandchild. Love it!
8/24/14 6:59 PM
gmagina said...
So very cute!!
8/24/14 4:40 PM
frame said...
How cute is that! I remember this costume. I knew someone else who made it for their grandson. Thanks for sharing.
8/24/14 12:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

More Info