SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1802 (Misses Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 395 times 
Reviewed by:erinkraten
photo

 
 
About erinkratenstar
TN United States
Member since: 7/22/14
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/14 6:56 PM
Last Updated:9/8/14 2:36 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1802 by erinkraten

Simplicity: 1802 by erinkraten  Simplicity: 1802 by erinkraten  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1802
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by erinkraten

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: piping  
Fabric:Pique  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' dresses with sleeve variations and seaming details. Cynthia Rowley Pattern Collection.
Pattern Sizing:
14-22 I cut a straight 18
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
For the most part, yes. I encountered things I have never done before, so that was challenging, but the instructions and drawings helped to walk me through it.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is the most complicated dress I have ever made. I have never used piping before (and I used a LOT of it here!) or the inner tailoring details, but the instructions were clear so I accomplished it with very few problems. I made some mistakes along the way, but just undid them and started again. I really dislike the placement of the zipper, however. It is in a place where a LOT of piping comes together, and that made it very difficult to open and close, even when I was not in the dress. My husband could not even zip me into the dress to try it on, once he got the zip tab up to the point where the piping comes together he could not make it budge. He even gave himself blisters trying to zip it up, and at one point the zipper started coming undone from the bottom-up, so he hurt himself and destroyed the zipper after I had removed so much bulk from the seams and piping in the zipper area to try to help the zipper get moving that I had no fabric with which to put another zipper in! In the end I had to take it to a tailor and they had to put an exposed zipper in place of the invisible one, but at least I can zip it up now! Also, it was very hard for me to install the godets evenly into the skirt for some reason (I tried my best! I lined all the markings up), so that made the hem impossible for me to do on my own so I had the tailor do that as well. I know, I cheated. I just had no clue how to hem such an uneven skirt.
Fabric Used:
I used black cotton Pique and turquoise piping
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added piping to the bottom of the sleeves, it turned out perfect! I love how it looks too.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would sew this again in a slinkier fabric without the stiff piping, the shape of the dress I feel is flattering to my chubby voluptuousness.
Conclusion:
All in all a good learning experience, and quite a challenge.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
This is gorgeous!!!!!!! It looks fantastic on you!!
9/2/14 8:01 PM
Speech girl said...
Love it!
9/2/14 8:45 PM
sewfie65 said...
I say Great Job! It is really challenging to try several new techniques on a garment and rose to the challenge and it turned out great! I love your entire look, from hair to shoes, adorable. And I think it was a great solution to take it to a tailor, as some machines really don't allow you to go over several layers very successfully. Carry on!
9/2/14 9:02 PM
sewfie65 said...
that is--you rose to the challenge!
9/2/14 9:03 PM
AmandaRenea said...
I *love* the piping contrast! Makes me want to do similar if I ever make this!
9/3/14 0:12 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That looks great!!!
9/3/14 0:50 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Thats not cheating, its saving an awesome dress! Love the blue piping, very cool!
9/3/14 4:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a great job with a truly hard pattern to work with. The great part was you truly learned a great deal more about sewing a very detailed garment. Your dress looks good on you.
9/3/14 5:22 AM
Rebecca D said...
Good for you, love this. Gorgeous with the bright piping.
9/3/14 6:59 AM
Danmar said...
This looks like a difficult pattern and kudos to you for taking it on and knowing when to get help! It looks great!
9/3/14 7:03 AM
Samantha82 said...
I like this! Very flattering on you.
9/3/14 8:58 AM
sosat said...
You did great, the dress looks good.
9/3/14 10:07 AM
chucklehead said...
I love it! Well done on such a challenge!
9/3/14 10:38 AM
Tee Jones Actie said...
Great job!!! Getting help with those minor things is so minor compared to the work you put in!!!
9/3/14 10:48 AM
sewbehind said...
It's gorgoeous. Sometimes everyone needs a little help. Well done.
9/3/14 10:58 AM
Plays with Fire said...
No shame in asking for help! It looks lovely. Nice job!
9/3/14 12:14 PM
madssews said...
What an amazing result!! Your dress makes me want to buy this pattern, which is saying something, because I'd heard tell of how tough it is to sew and have avoided it. You look smashing in your dress, and should be proud of it!
9/3/14 4:13 PM
Debbie Dabbles said...
Very impressive and a beautiful result!
9/3/14 6:03 PM
prttynpnk said...
Nicely done- I love your color choices.
9/4/14 8:29 AM
beanchor said...
Great dress! I would have "cheated" the way you did to save such a beauty!
9/6/14 3:22 PM
chenille said...
Gorgeous!!!
9/8/14 2:49 PM
loti said...
Beautiful Job!!
9/8/14 5:56 PM
ntpolite said...
The trouble was worth it because the dress is gorgeous!
9/9/14 0:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now