Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2005-103 (Pleated V-neck Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2048 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/05 10:57 AM
Last Updated:6/6/11 6:43 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty. Your top looks lovely on Bertha. I love the color. Thank you for this review. I'm "delicately endowed" as well and I had thoughts of making this top. Now I know better.
8/9/05 11:55 AM
kethry said...
This is lovely. The rolled hem sleeves look really great. I also like the retro look of the top. Too bad it is too drapey.
8/9/05 12:38 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Very pretty! Leslie, I don't think you could have a muffin top if you tried. I too was drawn to this top - I'm hopeful it will camouflage my tummy.
8/9/05 12:49 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I agree...it looks good on Bertha! The droop factor may be partly due to the fabric; the crossover style t I made from this (same color, even!) rayon/cotton blend wants to droop at the neckline...I gotta be careful how I set the neckline when I put it on. ;)
8/9/05 12:57 PM
Hilary said...
LOL-you don't have the ingredients to make a muffin top, Leslie! It does look good on your model! Maybe you could post a pic on you? I had a sixth grade teacher w/ the pendulous breast problem, and boy, I know that could be bad...but I can't imagine anything could look bad on you!
8/9/05 1:18 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Thanks for the review. I have traced the pattern, but haven't found the right fabric. I'm like you, not busty, so I'll be looking for super drapey! thanks again, I found your review very helpful!
8/9/05 1:25 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This top looks fabulous. I can't imagine anyone lambasting you about any of your creations. They are all lovely.
8/9/05 1:37 PM
touran said...
Every time I see that shade of green in the picture, I know it's your review!! I like how it turned it - very pretty. I didn't occur to me that the ease in the top that I filled up to the max, maybe would be too baggy for a smaller cup size. The pictures don't really show much. Any chance to see the top on you? I bet it looks quite lovely.
8/9/05 2:41 PM
PhyllisC said...
I see what you mean about the long pendulous drape - but if you raised the inverted V of the bodice to a point just under your bust I'll bet it would look terrific.
8/9/05 2:53 PM
Ann Smith said...
Very cool. Bertha and I love it.
8/9/05 4:52 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Really nice vintage feel to it. Thanks for the early morning laugh!
8/9/05 5:29 PM
Vonnevo said...
Great review Leslie :) I like the vintage look to this one too. Love to see a pic of you wearing it too. I am sure it looks wonderful on you.
8/9/05 6:09 PM
Jill Giard said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I am considering making this top - I will definately be referencing your experience! I do love the retro look of it.
8/9/05 6:25 PM
SewTabby said...
So THAT'S what this top really looks like. You're right, it is hard to tell from the Burda photos. I love the color fabric you chose, but I might steer clear of this one myself--my breasts are not pendulous, nor do I particularly want them to look that way. However, I can see that it suits Bertha to a T and would like to see it on you before I make up my mind...
8/9/05 7:14 PM
drsue said...
I agree with Phillis regarding pattern changes. I have the same issue with gathers starting too low down.
8/9/05 7:15 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your top is much more interesting than the Burda photos. This review is both witty (as usual) and informative. Maybe with some of the changes suggested, your thoughtful efforts will be better rewarded--But I must agree with others that the camera loves it on Bertha!
8/10/05 4:14 AM
MaryBeth said...
You've been sewing! I agree: raise the empire line to underbust for a better fit. To rid further droopy use fitted sleeves or none at all. Nice try so far.
8/10/05 6:23 AM
kmouse said...
Very nice top and great review. I have this pattern pegged as well so I appreciate your review as well as others comments.
8/10/05 7:29 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I think that it is really pretty on Bertha and it would look great on you.
8/10/05 3:49 PM
Judy Williment said...
Bertha sure is getting a fabulous wardrobe! Would it work to topstitch the pleats to just under the bust to flatten the fullness where you don't need it?
8/10/05 11:47 PM
Nancy K said...
I HAVE SOME STRETCH SILK CHARMEUSE THAT IS TO MATCH MY LINING FOR A SUIT THAT I AM PLANNING. DO YOU THINK THAT I COULD MAKE THIS TOP OR WOULD I HAVE TO ADD A SIDE ZIPPER?
8/12/05 8:33 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
You do such lovely work, such an eye for design. Bertha is the best dressed dressform! Thanks for the informative review, and the warning for us less endowed gals.
8/12/05 5:03 PM
lauraborealis said...
I'm not picturing your neckline gaposis solution very well, but I think it's something I need, considering a few recent wadders. Can you show a pic of your pattern?
10/20/05 1:51 PM
sewing for fun said...
I would also love to see a photo of the gap-osis fix curved dart technique. I think your top is very pretty, and such a fresh wonderful color! I have the opposite challenge in bust fitting, so I hope it might work for me
6/6/11 9:13 PM
sewing for fun said...
I would also love to see a photo of the gap-osis fix curved dart technique. I think your top is very pretty, and such a fresh wonderful color! I have the opposite challenge in bust fitting, so I hope it might work for me
6/6/11 9:13 PM
sewing for fun said...
I would also love to see a photo of the gap-osis fix curved dart technique. I think your top is very pretty, and such a fresh wonderful color! I have the opposite challenge in bust fitting, so I hope it might work for me
6/6/11 9:13 PM
ggf2005 said...
very pretty Leslie! Are you coming this way for Martha Pullen's market this month?
6/7/11 4:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us