SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3360 (Misses Tops)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2123 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/05 9:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cambric Tea said...
Deepika sews! Yeay! Thank you so much for the review, it is very helpful. Too bad Kwik Sew didn't give us a picture of View B. It's great to have a review of you, but I'm peeved at Kwik-Sew for letting you down.
9/6/05 9:48 PM
MaryBeth said...
{sigh} At least you perservered and finished it.
9/6/05 10:04 PM
drsue said...
That's too bad. It seems wearable from the pic but the Jalie is so much prettier on you.
9/6/05 10:44 PM
jemgirlca said...
When I saw the picture, I didn't think it looked too bad, just too big. But after seeing your Jalie one for comparison, that one is way more flattering. Too bad. The colors of the KS one are really pretty on you, BTW.
9/6/05 11:27 PM
Kathy Russell said...
I always look forward to your reviews. Sorry to hear this one, so far, didn't turn out. Hope your view A does.
9/6/05 11:53 PM
Mel.J said...
This is very helpful - You're right, it looks too wide across the front, & is the armhole too big? The Jalie is much better. I hope View A works out, I like that twist detail.
9/7/05 0:41 AM
keelyb1 said...
Hmmm, I was thinking of buying this pattern. I might have to think again. Thanks for the review Deepika. I agree the colour looks great.
9/7/05 1:03 AM
Peggy L said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. You are right, the Jalie is much more flattering on you!!!
9/7/05 2:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Bummer....but your comments have saved me some time, money and disappointment. I think I'll stick with my original instinct and trace the neckline onto a pattern with a proven silhouette. Thanks, D.
9/7/05 5:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I was just considering this pattern last night. I don't always have great success with KS as others do. But I keep thinking the next one may work. I look forward to your review of View A.
9/7/05 5:40 AM
Jodi B. said...
Hi, Deepika. Sorry it didn't work out. Your Jalie one is definitely nicer. I hope view A works better.
9/7/05 7:18 AM
Lisette said...
Nice to see you in a review again. I'm sorry your top did not work out. Better luck with view A
9/7/05 7:25 AM
PhyllisC said...
Based on the illustration, I would have assumed the same thing you did - that the pattern is contoured through the body. A very strange anomalie for KS.
9/7/05 7:41 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I'm sorry you don't like the results. I agree the Jalie is more fitted but I don't think this KS looks bad on you. It's just a different look. Just consider this your muslin, and with the adjustments you're planning for the View A you already have cut, I bet the next one will be a winner
9/7/05 8:04 AM
ryan's mom said...
I really liked your top when I viewed the pic, but after seeing your Jalie top, I understand why you liked the Jalie better. The Jalie is very flattering on you, more so than the KS one. But even with that being said, the KS one does look nice on you as well. Thanks for the "heads up" on this pattern!
9/7/05 9:00 AM
Hilary said...
Sorry this didn't work for you, Deepika! I do like that fabric though-I have the same leopard print, I think-I made into a nursing shirt awhile back. Maybe you could tweak it to be more shapely, but, otoh, the Jalie looks great already! I have to admit, my first thought when I saw this pattern in the new line was it's got no shape! But I do like the twist!
9/7/05 9:01 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Great review. Thanks for the heads up. Have you looked at Stretch and Sew's French Trim top? It fits me right out of the envelope.
9/7/05 9:03 AM
Mrs. Trouble said...
Thanks for the review, Deepika. I was luke-warm about this pattern before, although I "considered" purchasing it. Now I will forget it, although I will reserve my final decision until your review of View A.
9/7/05 1:38 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Good on you for finishing it... *and* reviewing. My fingers are crossed the twist cardy works out. The concept is neat.
9/7/05 3:04 PM
Debra H said...
I am amazed at how few patterns for knits really work well. It's as if they did not try the pattern out on knits before releasing them. One of the consistent issues is not consistently defining whether something is fitted, semi-fitted, etc. in knit patterns. I have found Kwik Sew's generally tend to be less fitted, even if they say fitted, but the other pattern companies can err in both directions. Maybe there needs to be a standard set for the amount of ease provided to define this.
9/9/05 12:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6139

photo
by: CleaChang

Review
Butterick 5674

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now