SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> 120 (Placemat Purse)

Viewed 2559 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 359
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 259
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/05 9:48 PM
Last Updated:9/6/05 9:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks Deepika. I love how it turned out!
9/6/05 10:38 PM
drsue said...
Very nice. I've never bought placemats at Pier 1; I need to check them out.
9/6/05 10:47 PM
Peggy L said...
This is really cute! These would make great gifts. Never thought of looking at Pier 1 for placemats.
9/7/05 2:21 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Very cute!
9/7/05 4:24 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a cute bag! Who would have thought that it started life as a placemat?
9/7/05 5:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute bag.
9/7/05 5:42 AM
Meguiar said...
Beautiful bag - nice job!
9/7/05 6:06 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Deepika, that is just stunning! Right before this article came out I saw purses just like this in a boutique for $50! And yours looks so much better! -Ann
9/7/05 7:02 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love the beads Deepika - they totally pull the bag together!
9/7/05 7:34 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Love your bag and the combination of prints, tassel, and colors.
9/7/05 7:47 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, that is so pretty! Your cousin-in-law :o) will love it!
9/7/05 9:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Georgeous!
9/7/05 9:05 AM
shellbelle said...
I love the bag. What did you use for the strap? It looks perfect with it.
9/7/05 10:04 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone! Peggy, DrSue do check Pier 1, they have cool placemats! They had one in faux (I think) leather too whcih was on sale.

Ann $50!! that's ridiculous!

shellbelle I just used an inexpensive cording from Joanns. But they have lots of cool looking straps, some in leather too. As soon as I find some more placemats, I plan to make many more of these.
9/7/05 10:51 AM

Patti B said...
Running out the door to Pier 1 .... Great bag and a nice pick-me-up after your KS experience.
9/7/05 11:58 AM
elizat said...
Oh Deepika, that is so cute! Very dressy and really in style!
9/7/05 1:48 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
wow! What a stunner. Gotta make one! :)
9/8/05 2:35 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I've been looking for something easy to make DS's girlfriend and her Mom to bring them when he visits -- this is perfect!! Thanks for the review -- now to get my hands on a Threads.
9/14/05 2:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now