SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Master Pattern Book> Hip Handbags (Clutch Purse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1464 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 292 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/05 11:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Another first accomplished! This site is so great for pushing us to try new things. Your wristlet looks great and what better way to make it a wristlet than by using a bracelet....ingenious.
9/7/05 11:45 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a cute bag, Deepika! Your reviews always inspire me to make bags, just wish I had more time :) I think a leather flower (maybe a darker red?) would look great (on the lower part of the bag when it's held), but personally I might remove the charms from the bracelet to "balance" the decorations in that case. Just a thought.
9/8/05 2:11 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Wow, what a gorgeous bag! I love the shade of red that it is. And the bracelet idea is novel and very cute. Good job!
9/8/05 2:29 AM
mamamaia said...
Love your handbag. I would go for the flower. Just cut out 2 flowers and a heart and sew only the middle. I hope this makes any sense. I hope to sew myself a handbag soon, but with all these great reviews, it's getting harder too choose a style :-)
9/8/05 2:33 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
You did it again! Too cool. Congrats on sewing w/leather & inserting a zipper. The lining and wristlet are very cute. I like the flower idea--it is a little plain. Try Mamamaia's option or a removable silk flower if you find one that's suitable.
9/8/05 4:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thank you for taking the plunge on sewing a bag in leather. I am inspired to try. I would suggest if you add a flower somehow make it detachable. I think the look you have now is great but adding a red flower will change the look thus having options would be great.
9/8/05 5:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Too cute! Great idea using the charm bracelet. We are going to have to dub you the "Handbag Queen" - to add to your list of titles around here.
9/8/05 7:03 AM
Meguiar said...
Cute bag - great use of that piece of read leather! I still haven't done anything with mine - but your review is inspiring me to get busy.
9/8/05 7:21 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love the chain - and you may want to stop into Toho Shoji at PR weekend this year - they stock tons of cool chains just like this in every size.
9/8/05 8:34 AM
Patti B said...
Sooooo cute! Great job, Deepika. Now I'll need to make one from the book too. Love the red leather.
9/8/05 8:39 AM
licarritc said...
I may have to actually sew my leather bag for PR weekend now, I'm so jealous of yours!!!
9/8/05 8:45 AM
Maychi said...
Very cute! I love it! Great job, Deepika!
9/8/05 1:51 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, this turned out great Deepika! Thank you for encouraging the big chicken in me. I wish I had more time to sew, with your great projects as inspiration. :)
9/8/05 7:25 PM
candyo said...
That is really cool! Thanks for the tips on sewing with leather, and for letting us know about this book! I'll have to see if my library has it. My cousin and I were just admiring those new chains at joann's last weekend!
9/8/05 8:57 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Deepika. I'm so glad you've been able to get in some sewing for yourself & reviewing for us! I love the bag & am tempted to try that. I have some DGDs who would love a version of yours with the charm bracelet.
9/8/05 11:41 PM
Deepika said...
Thank you all for such nice comments. This is the best thing about PR! I am hoping to get some more sewing this weekend too!
9/9/05 7:03 AM
FitttingTips said...
Deepika, cute bag. Adding flowers should be easy. You can do flat ones or shape them a bit by pinching the petals at the center. Look at the leather flowers on the Onion site...that should give you a starting point for your imagination. There is also an article in the latest issue of Threads showing how to shape ultrasuede flowers. It should work with a heavier leather too as long as it isn't really stiff and it sounds as though yours is not.
9/9/05 7:31 AM
frogs2 said...
Deepika, wonderful clutch! It looks very "Coach" style in red leather. Nice job!
9/9/05 10:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Colette Patterns Truffle

photo
by: Cynbular

Review
Simplicity 7030

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now