Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Master Pattern Book: Hip Handbags (Clutch Purse) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1464 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/05 11:35 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Another first accomplished! This site is so great for pushing us to try new things. Your wristlet looks great and what better way to make it a wristlet than by using a bracelet....ingenious.
9/7/05 11:45 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a cute bag, Deepika! Your reviews always inspire me to make bags, just wish I had more time :) I think a leather flower (maybe a darker red?) would look great (on the lower part of the bag when it's held), but personally I might remove the charms from the bracelet to "balance" the decorations in that case. Just a thought.
9/8/05 2:11 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Wow, what a gorgeous bag! I love the shade of red that it is. And the bracelet idea is novel and very cute. Good job!
9/8/05 2:29 AM
mamamaia said...
Love your handbag. I would go for the flower. Just cut out 2 flowers and a heart and sew only the middle. I hope this makes any sense. I hope to sew myself a handbag soon, but with all these great reviews, it's getting harder too choose a style :-)
9/8/05 2:33 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
You did it again! Too cool. Congrats on sewing w/leather & inserting a zipper. The lining and wristlet are very cute. I like the flower idea--it is a little plain. Try Mamamaia's option or a removable silk flower if you find one that's suitable.
9/8/05 4:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thank you for taking the plunge on sewing a bag in leather. I am inspired to try. I would suggest if you add a flower somehow make it detachable. I think the look you have now is great but adding a red flower will change the look thus having options would be great.
9/8/05 5:50 AM
Peggy L said...
Too cute! Great idea using the charm bracelet. We are going to have to dub you the "Handbag Queen" - to add to your list of titles around here.
9/8/05 7:03 AM
Meguiar said...
Cute bag - great use of that piece of read leather! I still haven't done anything with mine - but your review is inspiring me to get busy.
9/8/05 7:21 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love the chain - and you may want to stop into Toho Shoji at PR weekend this year - they stock tons of cool chains just like this in every size.
9/8/05 8:34 AM
Patti B said...
Sooooo cute! Great job, Deepika. Now I'll need to make one from the book too. Love the red leather.
9/8/05 8:39 AM
licarritc said...
I may have to actually sew my leather bag for PR weekend now, I'm so jealous of yours!!!
9/8/05 8:45 AM
Maychi said...
Very cute! I love it! Great job, Deepika!
9/8/05 1:51 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, this turned out great Deepika! Thank you for encouraging the big chicken in me. I wish I had more time to sew, with your great projects as inspiration. :)
9/8/05 7:25 PM
candyo said...
That is really cool! Thanks for the tips on sewing with leather, and for letting us know about this book! I'll have to see if my library has it. My cousin and I were just admiring those new chains at joann's last weekend!
9/8/05 8:57 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Deepika. I'm so glad you've been able to get in some sewing for yourself & reviewing for us! I love the bag & am tempted to try that. I have some DGDs who would love a version of yours with the charm bracelet.
9/8/05 11:41 PM
Deepika said...
Thank you all for such nice comments. This is the best thing about PR! I am hoping to get some more sewing this weekend too!
9/9/05 7:03 AM
FitttingTips said...
Deepika, cute bag. Adding flowers should be easy. You can do flat ones or shape them a bit by pinching the petals at the center. Look at the leather flowers on the Onion site...that should give you a starting point for your imagination. There is also an article in the latest issue of Threads showing how to shape ultrasuede flowers. It should work with a heavier leather too as long as it isn't really stiff and it sounds as though yours is not.
9/9/05 7:31 AM
frogs2 said...
Deepika, wonderful clutch! It looks very "Coach" style in red leather. Nice job!
9/9/05 10:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

New Look 6370
photo
Review by julesberry on 4/7/07
Read Review

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB042SW
photo
Review by diane s on 8/30/10
Read Review

Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6799 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6799 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us