SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2865 

7 more reviews
Viewed 1884 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 9:00 PM
Last Updated:9/25/05 1:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kim Winson said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for the thorough review!
9/19/05 9:07 PM
melgosews said...
Very nice jacket! I have this pattern and find your review quite helpful. Thanks!
9/19/05 9:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a gorgeous jacket. The color is great and the detailing is fantastic.
9/19/05 9:36 PM
Patti B said...
That IS fabulous fabric for your fabulous jacket. Beautiful job and excellent review.
9/19/05 9:52 PM
Cambric Tea said...
That was a very instructive review, Kay Y, thank you so much! I know that when the time comes for me to make a jacket I will remember your tip about the bias organza in the sleeves. Your jacket is wonderful!
9/19/05 10:20 PM
touran said...
Beautiful work and great review as always. What a lovely fabric for the style.
9/19/05 10:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your description of buying a pattern and realizing you liked the look in the catalogue but otherwise disappointed is rather true for a lot of patterns I buy. Your jacket is lovely and would display very well in a magazine. Excellent job, looks great.
9/20/05 4:13 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful jacket and very good review.
9/20/05 4:28 AM
CarolynKEll said...
Kay This is a stunningly gorgeous jacket, thanks so much for your detailed constrction techniques. I have added this one to my list.
9/20/05 4:53 AM
MarilynB said...
What a lovely jacket. I also bought this pattern when it first came out because I had a fabric in my stash which was similar to the one used on the envelope. Thanks for all the warnings on this pattern. Also, thanks for the reminder about the sleeve tip from Karmeng.
9/20/05 5:44 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely job, as always! -Ann
9/20/05 6:31 AM
MaryBeth said...
I bought this pattern right away also being drawn to the jacket and stopped short to find the right fabric as well. Thanks for your review and all the ins and outs of producing such a lovely jacket.
9/20/05 7:50 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great, thorough review with a beautiful jacket!
9/20/05 7:52 AM
cindyann said...
Just wonderful! Thank you for the great review too.
9/20/05 9:50 AM
SueV said...
very nice; I have this pattern and love the style; yours is beautiful, nicely constructed and great review.
9/20/05 10:50 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Lovely job, Kay. This review is very timely for me, as I just purchased this pattern yesterday. You're right, the fabric on the envelope is very appealing, but you've managed to do an excellent job with yours too!
9/20/05 6:34 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Lovely job, Kay. This pattern is very timely for me, as I just purchased this pattern yesterday. You're right, the fabric on the envelope is very appealing, but you've managed to do an excellent job with yours too!
9/20/05 7:25 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh good! I'm really happy to see a review of this pattern - it's on my wish list.
9/20/05 8:10 PM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thanks for the great review!
9/20/05 8:33 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review! I was wondering about the one piece sleeve when I looked at the pattern. Good idea to substitute.
9/21/05 0:43 AM
Georgene said...
The 747 lapels are rather extreme on this pattern. Your version turned out nice in spite of that. I'd love to see a photo you in the ensemble when its done.
9/21/05 8:56 AM
LBJ said...
the jacket and the top look so good together. I love the bias effect of the top. Very classy and very expensive looking!
9/25/05 5:16 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Fabulous jacket! I have to admit that every time I look at that envelope I think "Stepford Wives" and just can't appreciate the jacket on it...yours is much more appealing! :D
9/25/05 7:20 PM
lmg said...
Wow, wow, wow! This pattern grabbed my attention too. How was the fit? Thanks for the instructive review.
9/25/05 7:27 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful result! Thanks for the review -- I love the fabrics & the loop closure. It's all-over effect is *very* "High-End"!
9/25/05 10:59 PM
jlg said...
This is a fabulous jacket. You did a wonderful job.
9/26/05 5:23 AM
KarmenG said...
That is one gorgeous jacket. Beautiful job. You do such impressive work. I also bought the pattern and will refer to your review when it's time to begin it.
9/27/05 11:49 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely jacket. And what a great fabric you found.
9/28/05 3:42 PM
regine said...
What a magnificent jacket, material, workmanship, style. You obviously put in a great deal of effort and it shows.
4/30/06 1:00 PM
Nerys said...
I am worried about easing the sleeve into the armscye. There is over 3" of difference between them and that usually spells trouble. I was going to cut and slash some the ease out of the sleeve cap. I am now rethinking my plan based on your comment that the sleeves went in without a hitch. Gorgeous work, btw!
9/18/06 4:22 PM
ceejen said...
I have not made this pattern yet, but will keep in mind all the fitting problems you discussed.
8/26/07 9:11 PM
ceejen said...
I have not made this pattern yet, but will keep in mind all the fitting problems you discussed.
8/26/07 9:11 PM
ellen55 said...
It's gorgeous! I ran out and bought the same pattern and am till looking for the right fabric, but alas, I think I may be too busty for this style. Well nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? Thanks for the great tips.
9/20/07 11:34 PM
inkstain said...
Your taste is Grade A, and I love all your choices of fabric and cut. Nothing home-made about your wardrobe and this is another excellent item.
1/21/08 10:29 AM
firsthays said...
Nice! I'm getting this in the mail in two days, thought I'd see if I made good choice, thanks for the review!
8/8/08 11:35 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket. I'm thinking about ordering this OOP pattern from ebay, and your review is extremely helpful.
6/1/09 11:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate
6/1/09 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1000

photo
by: julliams

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
No Pattern Used no pattern used

photo
by: colormefun

Review