SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8530 (Dress and jacket)

Viewed 1740 times 
Reviewed by:Cathy Loves Fabric
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Cathy Loves Fabricstar
USA
Member since: 4/16/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/05 7:04 AM
Last Updated:1/15/06 10:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
thanks for the review - I have this pattern and have alread picked out the fabric for it - I'm just waiting until I've lost the 'prednisone weight' to make it up!
10/8/05 1:08 PM
Irene Q said...
Thanks for the sizing info - I've got this one, too. A lot of patterns run large for me in the shoulders, so maybe this one will be just right!
10/8/05 1:26 PM
MaryBeth said...
I got curious so I searched out the Vogue 7022 pattern (OOP)http://www.sandrabetzina.com/patterns.php I **wish** that "no photo available" wasn't true but thanks for reviewing this pattern anyway. I wonder how the dress would turn out... :)
10/9/05 6:05 AM
AnneM said...
Burda does tend to run smaller. Great design lines on this.
10/9/05 8:25 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Mary Beth, It is frustrating not to have a picture, but I figure a review is better than no review at all. A digital camera is not in the budget and all my attempts to get decent 35mm shots are so time consuming and expensive I gave up. Finally, I decided there are so few plus size reviews that a "no photo" might be better than nothing.
10/9/05 2:44 PM
Dmd4106 said...
A nice looking jacket. Thx for taking the time to add photo. It looks good on u. even w/ yr eyes closed :)
1/15/06 10:42 PM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty.
1/15/06 11:06 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Cathy, you nailed those alterations. This looks great on you. Congratulations!
1/15/06 11:11 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I love this! Olive greens are my favorite colors. And those shoes ... perfect!! Good, helpful review. :)
1/15/06 11:40 PM
CatherineN said...
This outfit looks good on you. The jacket is becoming and the fabric is nice.
1/15/06 11:42 PM
Georgene said...
What a great looking ensemble! I wish I get a closer view of your details. By the way, a notched shawl collar is an honorable alternative to a 'regular' notch. There are a lot of them out there in RTW recently. They can be tricky though, to get both sides to match.
1/16/06 0:22 AM
Lou05 said...
Cathy, You've done a beautiful job and this is an excellent outfit. You have a good eye for color and design and knowing what is flattering on you. Thanks for the great review, too.
1/16/06 1:01 AM
MaryBeth said...
I'm working on a notched shawl collar as we speak. I like it but what Georgene said. Yours looks wonderful and I truly appreciate all the effort you've made to supply pictures with your great review. Your work and ensemble is truly lovely.
1/16/06 1:58 AM
jlg said...
Another beautiful outfit.
1/16/06 5:05 AM
Nickle said...
Your jacket looks very nice on you.
1/16/06 6:19 AM
Peggy L said...
This looks beautiful on you. Nice outfit.
1/16/06 7:25 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty outfit, you have a great eye for color.
1/16/06 7:49 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very lovely outfit.
1/16/06 8:49 AM
MarilynB said...
Your jacket looks better than the pattern envelope. Great review.
1/16/06 9:27 AM
stitchwitch said...
The jacket looks great on you! As a curvy girl myself, its good to see how flattering this style looks in reality - thankyou.
1/16/06 10:11 AM
Esmerelda Twinpalms said...
Thank you for the photo. Great jacket, great pulled together look with your skirt and top. I'm so happy to see plus sized photos of great-looking women. Good job!
1/16/06 5:31 PM
Marlene J said...
Great jacket, and it looks so nice with the skirt and top. I haven't sewn anything in a long time....I hope I haven't forgotten how. You inspire me!
1/16/06 6:57 PM
Sewliz said...
Wow, that looks really good! The jacket is beautiful and goes so well with the rest of the lovely outfit!
1/17/06 7:47 AM
PKPudlin said...
Great review! Sorry to sound so 'out of it', but what is "FBA" and "FFRP"? Thanks so much!
1/19/06 6:20 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Hi PKpudlin, I couldn't find a pvt msg button for you. A FBA is a full bust adjustment which I do based on the book Fit For Real People. You can find information on the book in the book review section or on Amazon.com. And thanks.
1/20/06 4:36 AM
U. Chicago said...
What a brilliant idea about using those little 1/4" dots from office supply (they use them in libraries too) to mark pattern dots and notches! I may never need to make tailor's tacks again!
8/18/07 8:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 1181

photo
by: valkyrie01

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now