Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4356 (Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1483 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:52 AM
Last Updated:10/24/05 11:46 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks absolutely fabulous and so much better than the pattern envelope.
10/24/05 11:52 AM
Diane E said...
Love this! Boy, Simplicity is really turning out some fun patterns these days and your jacket rocks!
10/24/05 12:04 PM
Ceri590 said...
Love the fabric and looks better than on the pattern envelope!
10/24/05 1:08 PM
Mbarkle said...
Lori, that looks awesome, I just love it. I've made a couple of these for my kids and they are much easier than they look, as long as your machine can stand the thickness.
10/24/05 1:18 PM
quiltsammon said...
Looks great!! I love that new shearling stuff!
10/24/05 1:51 PM
Lou. said...
How cool is your jacket? It screams me..I have to have it!
10/24/05 1:51 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So so cute! Tons better than the envelope shows. I PM'd you, Lori, but I'll post this here, too: For the CB seam, you could eliminate that showing seam allowance altogether by cutting off your seam allowances and using a flatlock or other kind of butted seam. It works really nicely with sherpa, shearling, and faux fur. You can brush the pile and the threads disappear. For two-sided fabric like yours, using two different colors of thread (one in the needle, the other in the bobbin) helps to hide the stitches, too. But on your fabulous fabric, a nice thick coordinating thread for the suede side would look dynamite, too!
10/24/05 2:40 PM
dbsewer said...
what a cute jacket. I bought a faux shearlling coat for my sister two years ago and someone stole it :-(. She's been missing it since so maybe this is one to help her smile again. :-). thanks for the review. Simplicity really is doing some great patterns.
10/24/05 3:18 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
MUCH cuter than the pattern envelope!! And I'm impressed you made something without making the materials "age", LOL! ;-)
10/24/05 6:59 PM
PhyllisC said...
Serendipity - the prefect pattern and fabric at just the right time to hit a trend! I really like it.
10/24/05 8:15 PM
Maychi said...
Beautiful fabric for a fabulous jacket.
10/25/05 1:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love your jacket! Looks like a great pattern. I need to go visit JoAnn's and see if they have similar fabric here. Can't recall seeing it, really like yours.
10/25/05 5:50 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Fabulous jacket! I love it!
10/25/05 5:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
I love your jacket! It looks so stylish, and I haven't seen anything that looks as nice in the stores. What a great job you did on it.
10/25/05 5:59 AM
Lori V said...
Thank you all for the nice compliments, I appreciate it. Leslie, thanks for the tip on the CB
10/25/05 6:07 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fabulous jacket: great job: super cool!!
10/25/05 9:57 AM
MaryBeth said...
Niiiiiice, I like yours better than the pix
10/25/05 12:09 PM
jlg said...
Great jacket. It makes me want to try that kind of fabric.
10/26/05 5:15 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Tres chic'
10/26/05 1:41 PM
AnneM said...
Cute jacket, and I agree that it looks nicer than the pattern picture version. What a great look. (And Leslie - thanks for the tip)
12/2/05 8:13 AM
KathleenS said...
Very nice!
4/8/06 5:32 AM
frame said...
This is a great jacket. You did a wonderful job.
5/19/07 1:55 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review. I am hunting for a pattern to make my daughter a faux shearling jacket and this one looks really nice.
9/10/07 1:14 AM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Thanks for the tip on the collar. I agree with you. I'll do mine the way you suggested.
12/3/09 1:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used No pattern number
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1801 Misses Dress
photo
Review by ThreadsofF... on 1/21/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us