SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4356 (Jackets)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1485 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 351
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 350
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:52 AM
Last Updated:10/24/05 11:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks absolutely fabulous and so much better than the pattern envelope.
10/24/05 11:52 AM
Diane E said...
Love this! Boy, Simplicity is really turning out some fun patterns these days and your jacket rocks!
10/24/05 12:04 PM
Ceri590 said...
Love the fabric and looks better than on the pattern envelope!
10/24/05 1:08 PM
Mbarkle said...
Lori, that looks awesome, I just love it. I've made a couple of these for my kids and they are much easier than they look, as long as your machine can stand the thickness.
10/24/05 1:18 PM
quiltsammon said...
Looks great!! I love that new shearling stuff!
10/24/05 1:51 PM
Lou. said...
How cool is your jacket? It screams me..I have to have it!
10/24/05 1:51 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So so cute! Tons better than the envelope shows. I PM'd you, Lori, but I'll post this here, too: For the CB seam, you could eliminate that showing seam allowance altogether by cutting off your seam allowances and using a flatlock or other kind of butted seam. It works really nicely with sherpa, shearling, and faux fur. You can brush the pile and the threads disappear. For two-sided fabric like yours, using two different colors of thread (one in the needle, the other in the bobbin) helps to hide the stitches, too. But on your fabulous fabric, a nice thick coordinating thread for the suede side would look dynamite, too!
10/24/05 2:40 PM
dbsewer said...
what a cute jacket. I bought a faux shearlling coat for my sister two years ago and someone stole it :-(. She's been missing it since so maybe this is one to help her smile again. :-). thanks for the review. Simplicity really is doing some great patterns.
10/24/05 3:18 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
MUCH cuter than the pattern envelope!! And I'm impressed you made something without making the materials "age", LOL! ;-)
10/24/05 6:59 PM
PhyllisC said...
Serendipity - the prefect pattern and fabric at just the right time to hit a trend! I really like it.
10/24/05 8:15 PM
Maychi said...
Beautiful fabric for a fabulous jacket.
10/25/05 1:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love your jacket! Looks like a great pattern. I need to go visit JoAnn's and see if they have similar fabric here. Can't recall seeing it, really like yours.
10/25/05 5:50 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Fabulous jacket! I love it!
10/25/05 5:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
I love your jacket! It looks so stylish, and I haven't seen anything that looks as nice in the stores. What a great job you did on it.
10/25/05 5:59 AM
Lori V said...
Thank you all for the nice compliments, I appreciate it. Leslie, thanks for the tip on the CB
10/25/05 6:07 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fabulous jacket: great job: super cool!!
10/25/05 9:57 AM
MaryBeth said...
Niiiiiice, I like yours better than the pix
10/25/05 12:09 PM
jlg said...
Great jacket. It makes me want to try that kind of fabric.
10/26/05 5:15 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Tres chic'
10/26/05 1:41 PM
AnneM said...
Cute jacket, and I agree that it looks nicer than the pattern picture version. What a great look. (And Leslie - thanks for the tip)
12/2/05 8:13 AM
KathleenS said...
Very nice!
4/8/06 5:32 AM
frame said...
This is a great jacket. You did a wonderful job.
5/19/07 1:55 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review. I am hunting for a pattern to make my daughter a faux shearling jacket and this one looks really nice.
9/10/07 1:14 AM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Thanks for the tip on the collar. I agree with you. I'll do mine the way you suggested.
12/3/09 1:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-128

photo
by: valerie se...

Review