SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> n/a (Seamless poncho pattern)

37 more reviews
Viewed 986 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/1/05 11:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful, just beautiful.
11/1/05 11:28 PM
CatherineN said...
This is very pretty, a gorgeous fabric falling in graceful folds. Good instructions to copy it.
11/1/05 11:29 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
That fabric is fabulous and this has a very upscale look.
11/1/05 11:39 PM
sew obsessed said...
Very nice. Great directions. Thanks for your review.
11/1/05 11:42 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow. Fabric is beautiful...your poncho is beautiful. Great idea of using the Teflon pressing sheet. Thanks for the instructions.
11/2/05 4:31 AM
Lori Sews said...
Debra, you always seem to produce beautiful garments. This poncho is gorgeous.
11/2/05 7:23 AM
Stacy Sews said...
I'm usually not much for ponchos, but I really like your version. Really pretty. Great instructions, thanks!
11/2/05 7:29 AM
CarrieA said...
Hi Debra, Great instructions for your beautiful poncho. When you say fusible hem tape, are you talking about a product like Steam-a-seam?
11/2/05 11:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great upscale poncho! Is this your own invention? Very nice indeed.
11/2/05 4:49 PM
Debra H said...
In response to Carrie's question, I am not talking about fusible web, I am talking about the colored iron-on hemming tape that is in the notions aisle with rick-rack, bias tape and lacey hem tape. Some of these are NOT fusible, so be sure you get a color that's listed as IRON-ON
11/2/05 7:59 PM
mClones said...
When I saw "poncho", I wasn't even going to read the review. BUT, wow! That is some poncho -- elegant, sophisticated. What a knockout. And thanks for the instructions too.
11/2/05 8:09 PM
luvzdogz said...
Looks like a million bucks! Just goes to show you that you can get lots of mileage ouf of a simple, basic pattern created out of an expensive fabric. Great job.
11/2/05 9:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely!
11/2/05 11:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Like Stacy I have not gotten too much into ponchos. However seeing yours opens my mind to potential other fabric choices similar to yours that would be great. Also I was not aware of fusible or iron on hem tapes that is great. Perhaps I need to spend more time in notions and other areas of fabric stores besides the pattern and fabric section. Very helpful review.
11/3/05 4:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

HotPatterns 1121

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
McCall's 6599

photo
by: ElizabethK

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now